skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1868::04 in date [X]
80 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

From ?   6 April 1868

Summary

Gives details of some points that occurred to him while reading Variation, including observations on horses, cattle, silkworms, and hereditary baldness and disease.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 159: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6097

From Fritz Müller   22 April 1868

thumbnail

Summary

His opinion of Pangenesis.

On relative proportion of sexes in marine animals [sthg missing!?] Crustacea.

Sexual differences.

Music of Cicadae.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 86: A85–6; Möller 1915–21, 2: 140; Darwin Library–CUL (tipped into CD’s copy of F. Müller 1864a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6140

To W. B. Tegetmeier   23 April [1868]

Summary

Likes WBT’s review [of Variation] in the Field [31 (1868): 309, 350].

Awaits remarks on coloured pigeons and proportion of sexes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  23 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6141

From Gerolamo Boccardo   23 April 1868

Summary

Thanks CD for gift of Variation.

GB sent copies of his Fisica del globo [1868] to Lyell and the presidents of British scientific societies but has received no acknowledgment; asks CD to check that they received the work. Could CD arrange for a notice of the book to appear in England?

Author:  Gerolamo Boccardo
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 233
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6142

From A. R. Wallace   28 April [1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Various topics related to sexual selection: sexual differences, sexual preferences, coloration.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 120–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6144

From J. J. Weir   28 April – 4 May 1868

Summary

Observations on root-climbers. Variegated and arborescent varieties of Hedera.

[CD’s notes are for his reply, 6165.]

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Apr – 4 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6145

To A. R. Wallace   30 April [1868]

Summary

More on CD’s objections to ARW’s views on protection and natural selection.

Sexual selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  30 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 136–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6146

From George Bentham   30 April 1868

Summary

Discusses Hildebrand

and criticises Delpino.

Asks to borrow C. K. Sprengel’s Entdeckte Geheimniss der Natur [1793].

Botanists have no explanation of the case of Viola odorata and other showy flowers being sterile while inconspicuous ones bear seed.

Author:  George Bentham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 161
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6147

From W. E. Darwin   [5 and 8? April 1868]

Summary

Langstaff has seen no trace of blushing on the body.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 and 8 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 81; Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 34)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6149

From J. J. Weir   [14 April 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Starlings find new mates readily. Nesting in threes common.

Recognition of song by birds.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 88–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6152

From Charles Langstaff   [after 22? April 1868]

Summary

Describes the appearance of the nose in crying.

Author:  Charles Langstaff
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 22? Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7413

From J. J. Weir   20 April 1868

Summary

Instinct in birds; nest-building.

Inheritance of acquired characters.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6130

From Henry Holland   20 April [1868]

Summary

Sends CD a copy of a book he has had printed mainly for the interest of his children and grandchildren [later published as Recollections of past life (1872)].

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 250
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6131

From H. W. Bates   20 April 1868

thumbnail

Summary

In addition to the drawing of a caterpillar which CD intends to use,

HWB sends information on differences of colour and pattern between the sexes of species of Papilio.

Argynnis diana and A. sagana have females that are brightly coloured, but these may be cases of protective mimicry.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 82: A42–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6132

From John Hellins   20 April 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Gives the evidence on which he relied for his view, which CD thinks is erroneous, of proportion of sexes in Lepidoptera.

Author:  John Hellins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 85: B71–75, B79–82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6133

From George Bentham   [before 22 April 1868]

Summary

Has studied Variation with interest.

Cannot quite follow CD on reversion and Pangenesis,

but is amazed at CD’s observations and method.

Comments on varieties of asses, kidney beans, and artichokes.

Author:  George Bentham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 22 Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6134

To H. W. Bates   22 April [1868]

Summary

Thanks HWB for answering questions.

The MS on Lepidoptera is almost finished and he is glad HWB will read it; he is fearful of mistakes, not being familiar with the subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  22 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6135

To Richard Kippist   22 April [1868]

Summary

"Please give Bearer Books for me.–"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Kippist
Date:  22 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection, Ms.84.2 (Box 3, Folder 36))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6136

From W. E. Darwin   [22? April 1868]

Summary

C. L. Langstaff on action of muscles in crying. He believes the primary object of the contraction of the orbicularis is to protect the eye from blood.

Blushing on the body.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [22? Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 83, 80, 80/1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6137

To George Bentham   22 April 1868

Summary

Is not surprised that GB cannot digest Pangenesis, but it has been an immense relief to CD in tying together large classes of facts.

Sends names of men writing on crossing of plants. Criticises some French observations. Praises Hildebrand and Federico Delpino.

Sends pamphlets.

CD is experimenting on a large scale on difference in plants raised from self-fertilised and crossed seeds.

F. Hildebrand has produced a graft-hybrid which seems to lend important support to Pangenesis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  22 Apr 1868
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: ff. 703–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6138
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1868
04
01 (4)
02 (4)
03 (7)
04 (3)
05 (3)
06 (4)
07 (5)
08 (6)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (1)
13 (6)
14 (5)
15 (4)
16 (2)
17 (2)
18 (2)
20 (4)
22 (8)
23 (2)
25 (1)
28 (3)
30 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter