skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1868 in date disabled_by_default
791 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From ?   6 April 1868


Gives details of some points that occurred to him while reading Variation, including observations on horses, cattle, silkworms, and hereditary baldness and disease.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 159: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6097

To ?   [before 1 July 1868]


Sends a copy of George Bentham’s Anniversary address to the Linnean Society of London (Bentham 1868).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [before 1 July 1868]
Classmark:  Deutsches Museum Archive, Munich (Pamphlet HS-Nr. 04130)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6262F

To ?   [after June 1868]


Testimonial for James Archer, who leaves CD’s service after six months.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [after June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 54
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5747

To Reviewer   [February–April 1868?]


Suggests, if further notice is to be taken of Variation, that the reviewer grapple with the subject of Pangenesis. Thanks him for his fair and friendly spirit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Reviewer
Date:  [Feb–Apr 1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5829

From Richard Bowdler Sharpe   5 August 1868



Is writing to Australia to answer CD’s questions about resemblance of tail-feathers of young and mature female kingfishers. [See Descent 2: 188.]

Author:  Richard Bowdler Sharpe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 98–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6306

From J. D. Hooker   6 August 1868



Coming on Saturday.

Baby and wife pretty well.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 224
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6307

To G. H. Lewes   7 August [1868]


Thinks GHL’s articles are quite excellent; hopes they will be republished.

Discusses adaptation. Doubts whether similar conditions without selection can produce similar organs independent of blood relationship: "resemblances due to descent and adaptation can commonly be distinguished".

Discusses luminous insects, electrical organs of fish, thorns and spines.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Lewes
Date:  7 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 42; Argyll Papers (NRAS 1209/985)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6308

From G. H. Lewes   8 August 1868


Gratified by CD’s approval of his articles, which the public has not much liked.

Clarifies the obscure sentence CD criticised – forms having a different genesis can be similar.

Calls CD’s attention to Kovalevsky’s memoir on Amphioxus [Mem. Acad. Imp. Sci. St.-Pétersbourg 7th ser. 11 (1868) no.4]. K’s views are all in favour of CD’s and against GHL’s.

Author:  George Henry Lewes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 99: 31–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6309

From George Cupples   10 August 1868


Thanks for photograph.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 286
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6310

From Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs   [before 13 August 1868]


Sends work proving all elements formed of one substance: "Pantogen". Feels affinity with CD. His work will cause as great a stir. Has already been preached against. Asks CD for a note as a token of his sympathy.

Author:  Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 13 Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 220
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6311

To Charles Alexander Johns   13 August [1868?]


CD not a good enough botanist to form a judgment of specimen. Does not understand whether CAJ supposes the variety to be a result of hybridism or of the present very hot summer, which CD cannot doubt will have an effect on some British plants in their struggle for life.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  C. A Johns
Date:  13 Aug [1868?]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (A27 p. 60)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6312

To G. D. Hinrichs   13 August 1868


Acknowledges GH’s letter and the lecture on "Faith and science".

Cannot form a judgment on his chemical theory, but if GH establishes his case it will be a magnificent discovery.

"Faith and science" contained many ideas new to CD. Hooker, too, has read it with interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs
Date:  13 Aug 1868
Classmark:  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois History and Lincoln Collections (Hinrichs Papers, IHLC MS 712, Box 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6313

From Robert Brough Smyth   13 August 1868


Relates some observations on expression among Australian aboriginals and encloses answers to CD’s queries from other observers. [These include letters and observations from: J. A. Hagenauer, 28 May 1868; Archibald Grahame Lang, 17 June 1868; H. B. Lane, 24 June 1868; Templeton Bunnett, 25 June 1868; J. Bulmer (1868). (See introduction to Expression.)]

Author:  Robert Brough Smyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 205–12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6314

From J. V. Carus   14 August 1868


Asks whether it would be convenient if he came to Down. JVC would be sorry to leave England without seeing and thanking CD.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 68
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6315

To Asa Gray   15 August [1868]


AG’s coming visit to England.

Hooker’s Presidency of BAAS.

A month at the Isle of Wight has done almost nothing for CD.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  15 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (98)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6316

To J. V. Carus   16 August [1868]


Regrets having missed JVC’s visit. CD’s health is poor. He hopes JVC will come to Down after BAAS meeting.

Has heard second part [of Variation] is out in German. Thanks JVC for his great care in making translation accurate.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  16 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 25–26)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6317

From A. R. Wallace   16 August [1868]


The problem of sterility, and its relation to natural selection.

George Bentham’s support of Darwinism.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B63–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6318

To Fritz Müller   17 August 1868


FM’s additions for English edition [1869] of Für Darwin.

Dimorphic plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  17 Aug 1868
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6320

To J. D. Hooker   17 [August 1868]


Enjoyed JDH’s visit.

Mrs Cameron’s photograph of JDH is grand.

Has heard J. V. Carus will be at Norwich. Suggests JDH mention that Origin was translated by two distinguished naturalists, H. G. Bronn and Carus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 [Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 83–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6321

To Ernesto Susanni   18 August [1868]


Hopes to find the article by Terenzio Mamiani della Rovere (Mamiani della Rovere 1868) on his return home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carlo Ernesto (Ernesto) Susanni
Date:  18 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Lionheart (dealer)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6321F
Document type
01 (68)
02 (139)
03 (120)
04 (80)
05 (74)
06 (47)
07 (38)
08 (42)
09 (65)
10 (41)
11 (43)
12 (34)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next