skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1867::12 in date [X]
45 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Hardwicke’s Science-Gossip   [before 1 December 1867]

Summary

Sends, as corroboration of earlier articles on hedgehogs carrying fruit on their spines, a passage from a letter from R. Swinhoe [5598] describing hedgehogs carrying strawberries to their holes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hardwicke’s Science-Gossip
Date:  [before 1 Dec 1867]
Classmark:  Hardwicke’s Science-Gossip 3 (1867): 280
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5702

From Daniel MacKintosh   1 December 1867

Summary

Seeks CD’s opinion and references on the causes of terraces in the south of England. He supports sea action as cause, either by currents or on coasts, and has been engaged in a controversy in the Geological Magazine [4 (1867): 571–5] with the subaerial school. Poulett Scrope thinks they are agricultural.

Author:  Daniel Mackintosh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5703

To H. J. Slack   2 December [1867]

Summary

Explains that he has made it a rule not to write for periodicals, however eminent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry James Slack
Date:  2 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Bruun Rasmussen (dealers) (March 2016)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5703F

From Joseph Plimsoll   3 December 1867

Summary

A sermon.

Author:  Joseph Plimsoll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 174: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5704

From Julius von Haast   4 December 1867

Summary

JvH forwards J. Stack’s replies to CD’s queries about expression [see Expression, p. 20].

Sends photos of skeletons of six species of Dinornis he is assembling for the Museum.

Author:  John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 166: 12; DAR 177: 243
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5705

From I. E. Aylmer   5 December 1867

Summary

Thanks CD for showing him proofs [of Variation] relating to cattle at Chillingham Park [see Variation 1: 81, 83–4]; has made abstracts of them for his own article.

Author:  Isabella Elinor Aylmer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 159: 136
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5706

From Thomas Woolner   6 December 1867

Summary

Will have to delay starting on the bust of CD.

Author:  Thomas Woolner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5707

To Charles Lyell   7 December [1867]

Summary

Discusses transport of frog spawn and young molluscs by birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  7 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.337)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5708

From Edward Wilson   7 December 1867

Summary

Wants to catch some queen bees to ship to Australia; wonders whether CD’s sons can help.

Author:  Edward Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5709

To Albert Charles Lewis Gotthilf Günther   7 December [1867]

Summary

Sends his photograph.

Asks for any information of well-marked sexual differences in snakes, batrachians, or lizards. The rattlesnakes at the Zoological Garden differ considerably in colour.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  7 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5710

From Daniel MacKintosh   8 December [1867]

Summary

Thanks CD for information on inclined terraces in S. America, which DM thinks applies to the chalk downs of S. England. CD’s definition that the sea widens and fresh water deepens is key to the subject.

Author:  Daniel Mackintosh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5711

From W. S. Dallas   8 December 1867

Summary

Some corrections and queries about Variation text. Is pushing hard to finish, but CD is right that the names in the notes make the work interminable. Fears he is causing delay in publication. Is astonished at "the wonderful array of facts brought together and at the manner in which you bring them to bear".

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5712

To Philip Lutley Sclater   9 December [1867]

Summary

Asks for index to Zoological Society’s Proceedings.

Mentions article on "Barbets" by PLS in Intellectual Observer [12 (1867–8): 241–6].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.338)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5713

To J. P. M. Weale   9 December [1867]

Summary

Has had no less than seven grasses germinate from locust dung sent by JPMW.

JPMW’s paper on Bonatea is being printed by Linnean Society. [See J. P. M. Weale, "Structure and fertilisation of the genus Bonatea", J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 470–6.]

Refers to Lyell’s new edition of Principles [10th ed., 2 vols. (1867–8)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  University of Virginia Library, Special Collections (3314 1: 81)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5714

To the Linnean Society   9 December [1867]

Summary

Gives his comments on the merits of a paper on South African botany [by J. P. M. Weale, "Notes on Bonatea", J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 470–6].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Linnean Society
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London, SP1249, 1253
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5715

From John Lubbock   9 December [1867]

Summary

Introduction of humble-bees into Australia.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5716

To Herbert Spencer   9 December [1867]

Summary

Thanks for copy of HS’s First principles [? 2d ed. (1867)].

Comments on HS’s Principles of biology [1864, 1867].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Herbert Spencer
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 485a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5717

From Francis Walker   9 December 1867

thumbnail

Summary

The horns and spines of homopterous insects do not vary between sexes. Sexual differences in Blattidae.

Author:  Francis Walker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 82: A48–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5718

To Abraham Dee Bartlett   9 December [1867]

Summary

Asks for name of the birds that have only once obtained summer plumage.

Wishes he could persuade ADB to experiment to see whether bower-birds prefer gay colours.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Abraham Dee Bartlett
Date:  9 Dec [1867]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5719

From A. D. Bartlett   9 December 1867

thumbnail

Summary

On the summer, or breeding, plumage of birds.

Author:  Abraham Dee Bartlett
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec 1867
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 38–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5720
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1867
12
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (3)
08 (2)
09 (9)
10 (3)
11 (3)
13 (3)
17 (2)
19 (1)
21 (3)
23 (2)
24 (1)
26 (2)
29 (1)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter