skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1867::09 in date [X]
19 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From W. E. Darwin   9 September [1867]

Summary

Suggests investments for CD;

discusses the opening of the Blackmore Museum, Salisbury;

mentions Edward Lumb of Buenos Aires, with whom CD stayed in Argentina.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4609F

From John Brodie Innes   1 September [1867]

Summary

Recommends a tutor for CD’s son.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 167: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5205

To J. D. Hooker   2 September [1867]

Summary

Sends Fritz Müller’s address;

disagrees on Mary Barton.

Seeks name of the Mimulus on which he has experimented [see Variation 2: 128].

Requests flowers of yellow variety of Mirabilis jalapa.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  2 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 33–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5621

From Federico Delpino   5 September 1867

Summary

Support CD’s views on variability of species, but believes they must be interpreted "spiritualisticamente".

Cross-fertilisation in the Asclepiadaceae.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 142
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5622

From W. B. Dawkins   7 September 1867

Summary

Variation between individuals of a species.

Author:  William Boyd Dawkins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 162: 119
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5623

From Thomas Rivers   9 September 1867

Summary

Reports on a curious cross in peach varieties, in which the male made a firm large peach into a fruit more almond-like than itself.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 176: 171
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5624

From J. V. Carus   11 September 1867

Summary

JVC is having difficulty in translating the names of dogs [in Variation]. Also asks CD for help with names of pigeons.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5625

From J. D. Hooker   [14 September 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Is going to Norwich again on account of his mother’s health.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 178
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5627

To J. V. Carus   16 September 1867

Summary

Thanks JVC for his biography [of CD].

Has almost finished first proofs of Variation.

Has difficulty in answering JVC’s queries about dogs because of differences in German names and breeds. Refers him to A. E. Brehm’s Illustrirtes Thierleben [1868] and, on pigeons, to Gottlob Neumeister’s book [Das Ganze der Taubenzucht (1837)].

Hopes JVC is not discouraged by first volume. Thinks second will be more interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  16 Sept 1867
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 10–13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5628

From Andrew Murray   16 September 1867

Summary

AM discusses his new journal [J. Travel & Nat. Hist.] of which general opinion seems to be favourable. Has room for the occasional contributor, if CD knows of any.

Author:  Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 329
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5629

From John Murray   19 September [1867]

Summary

Sends CD cheque for £250, two-thirds of the profits on the sale of 700 copies of Origin, 4th ed.

Hopes he has found a suitable indexer for Variation.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 350, 524
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5630

From J. D. Hooker   [20 September 1867]

thumbnail

Summary

Would be delighted to see CD at Kew.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [20 Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 179
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5631

To John Murray   20 September 1867

Summary

Thanks for "pleasant remittance" of £250 for 4th edition of Origin.

Glad to see that Orchids sells a little.

Hopes Variation will be more successful.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  20 Sept 1867
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 173)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5632

From John Murray   23 September [1867]

Summary

Schweizerbart anxious to get Variation sheets for German translation. Hopes he has found a good indexer in W. S. Dallas.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 351
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5633

From John Scott   24 September 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Sends seeds of Viola roxburgiana which produces perfect flowers in the cold season and imperfect ones in the rains, all perfectly fertile.

Leersia has not produced a single perfect flower though it grows freely.

Discusses cockatoos eating various seeds. Finds it difficult to make exact and satisfactory observations.

Appends list of Vandellia species which have perfect flowers.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Sept 1867
Classmark:  DAR 157a: 106
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5633A

To John Murray   [24 September – 31 October 1867]

Summary

Instructions for the index to Variation

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  [24 Sept – 31 Oct 1867]
Classmark:  Heritage Auctions (dealers) 2006
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5633F

From John Lubbock   28 September [1867]

Summary

Returns R. G. Haliburton’s paper ["The unity of the human race proved by the universality of certain superstitions connected with sneezing", reprinted in New materials for the history of man (1863)] and sends one of his own partly in answer to it ["The early condition of man", Anthropol. Rev. 6 (1868): 1–14].

Capital BAAS meeting at Dundee.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5635

From Asa Gray   [after 17 September 1867]

Summary

AG has promised to review CD’s new book [Variation] for the Nation [forwards a letter from E. L. Godkin of the Nation to this effect] and wonders if he might have sheets a little in advance.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 17 Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 165: 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5636

To Alfred Wrigley   [September 1867]

Summary

CD wishes his son Leonard to try for University this winter and intends sending Horace to a private tutor.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Wrigley
Date:  [Sept 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5660
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1867
09
01 (2)
02 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
09 (2)
11 (1)
14 (1)
16 (2)
17 (1)
19 (1)
20 (2)
23 (1)
24 (2)
28 (1)
letter