skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1867::04 in date [X]
41 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Stephen Paul Engleheart?   [April 1867?]

Summary

Asks for a note about sling for Leonard’s arm, as he is about to leave for school.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Stephen Paul Engleheart
Date:  [Apr 1867?]
Classmark:  Provenance unknown
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5385

To Asa Gray   15 April [1867]

Summary

Thanks AG for his trouble about expression queries; wishes he had thought earlier of having them printed.

Is "plodding on" correcting Variation

and getting "a little amusement" from plant experiments. Oxalis is trimorphic like Lythrum.

Is continuing his experiments on seedling vigour.

Has heard hybrid potatoes can be produced by joining halves of different tubers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  15 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (97)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5442

From V. O. Kovalevsky   2 April 1867

Summary

On whether to make woodcuts for Variation in Russia or use Murray’s stereotypes. He has similar advance publication agreements with Carl Vogt, E. A. Rossmässler and Theodor Billroth.

The Russian version of Origin is translated from Bronn’s German edition.

Author:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 169: 72
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5452

From Fritz Müller   1 April 1867

Summary

Cites cases of difference in coloration between the sexes of some species of Crustacea, annelids, and spiders.

Discusses dimorphic plants and self-sterility.

Outlines some experiments involving the crossing of different species of orchids.

Encloses extract from Carl Claus, Die freilebenden Copepoden [1863].

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 110: B111–12; DAR 81: 167
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5480

From Hermann Müller   1 April [1867]

Summary

Thanks for "Climbing plants" offprint and for references on fertilisation of flowers.

Considering the bounty of work already done, he is looking for something original to do.

Subularia does not grow in Westphalia.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 289
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5481

From John Murray   2 April [1867]

Summary

Asks if he should give the clichés of Variation to E. Schweizerbart.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42153 ff. 30–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5481G

From J. D. Hooker   3 April 1867

thumbnail

Summary

Begins to hope baby may survive; description of symptoms.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 157–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5483

To J. D. Hooker   4 April [1867]

Summary

Rejoices over baby’s improvement.

Horace Darwin has intermittent fever.

Thanks JDH for page of the Farmer, a great service.

R. Trail’s potato grafting case would be of extreme value for demonstrating Pangenesis. [See Variation 1: 395.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  4 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 19–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5485

To John Murray   4 April [1867]

Summary

Asks JM not to send stereotypes [of Variation] to Schweizerbart until he has heard that Carus will translate it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  4 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff. 32–33)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5486

To Thomas Blunt   5 April [1867]

Summary

Congratulates TB on his son’s success in scientific studies.

Susan Darwin’s death [Oct 1866] has severed last ties of family with Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Blunt
Date:  5 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Albert Stephens Borgman autograph collection MS Am 1631: 95)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5487

To J. D. Hooker   5 April [1867]

Summary

C. Nägeli’s long letter on his four years of work on Hieracium appears to be valuable. Nägeli wants a set of British forms in exchange for German ones.

Sends note on a new genus of Umbelliferae (Drusa) in Canaries; speculates on origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  5 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 14–16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5488

From J. V. Carus   5 April 1867

Summary

JVC is willing to translate [Variation], especially because of his conviction that progress of biology depends on proving CD’s theory.

Ernst Haeckel’s book [Generelle Morphologie (1866)] will do mischief because EH is so immoderate. Suggests CD tell EH that he has done him a bad service. CD is the only one to whom EH would listen.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5489

From Robert Trail   5 April 1867

Summary

Reports on an experiment in crossing potato varieties.

Author:  Robert Trail
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 178: 175
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5490

From Frances Harriet Hooker   [6 April 1867]

Summary

JDH has left for Paris with Thomas Thomson.

Baby is better.

Author:  Frances Harriet Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [6 Apr 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 159–60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5492

From Daniel Oliver   8 April 1867

Summary

Arrangements for obtaining Carl Nägeli a set of British Hieracium specimens.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 173: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5494

From Carl Vogt   8 April 1867

Summary

Asks whether he may have right to translate Variation into German.

Author:  Carl Vogt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Apr 1867
Classmark:  DAR 180: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5495

To Carl Wilhelm von Nägeli   [after 8 April 1867]

Summary

Thanks for his long letter on morphological laws.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Wilhelm von Nägeli
Date:  [after 8 Apr 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 33v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5496

To John Murray   10 April [1867]

Summary

CD writes about stereotypes for German and Russian editions of Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  10 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42153 ff. 34–35)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5497

To J. V. Carus   11 April [1867]

Summary

CD is delighted that JVC will undertake translation of Variation.

Agrees with JVC’s opinion of Haeckel’s book [Generelle Morphologie (1866)]. CD believes it is bad policy for Haeckel to speak so positively about a disputed theory [i.e., CD’s] and particularly regrets the severity of EH’s criticisms of other authors.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  11 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 8–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5498

To Carl Vogt   12 April [1867]

Summary

Would be great honour to have CV translate Variation, but Schweizerbart has arranged for J. V. Carus to do it.

Has read CV’s Lectures on man [1864] with extreme interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Vogt
Date:  12 Apr [1867]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms fr. 2188, ff. 300–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5499
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1867
04
01 (3)
02 (2)
03 (2)
04 (2)
05 (4)
06 (1)
08 (3)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (2)
13 (1)
15 (3)
17 (2)
18 (1)
20 (1)
22 (3)
23 (1)
24 (1)
25 (1)
26 (2)
29 (2)
30 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter