skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1863::02 in date [X]
73 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To George Henry Turnbull   [16? February 1863]


Thanks for letting Horwood superintend erection of hothouse.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Turnbull
Date:  [16? Feb 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 5 (EH 88206057)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3893

To T. H. Huxley   [before 25 February 1863]


Two criticisms (one by Henrietta Darwin) of THH’s Lectures [to working men].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  [before 25 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 181)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3896

To [Williams and Norgate]   [before 13 February? 1863]


Wishes to order Botanische Zeitung for 2 and 9 January 1863.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  [before 13 Feb 1863?]
Classmark:  Washington State University Libraries, Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections (Paul Philemon Kies Autograph Collection, 1533–1970: 1 Autograph letters, 1533–1970 box 1, folder 55)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3897F

To John Lubbock   23 [February 1863]


CD’s comments on JL’s paper [first part of "On the development of Chloëon dimidiatum", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 24 (1863): 61–78].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  23 [Feb 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3939

From Henry Holland   [10 February 1863]


Cites [C. F.?] Burdach as the source of a note on atavism in alternate generations.

Wants to talk to CD about inheritance.

Author:  Henry Holland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [10 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 243
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3959

From F. T. Buckland   [before 1 February 1863]


Invites CD to visit offices of the Field; editor wishes CD to place natural history inquiries there.

Author:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 1 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 356
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3960

To F. T. Buckland   1 February [1863]


CD sends thanks for information; will write about the fins.

His health is weak and he is "almost smothered" with facts and inquiries, so is trying to restrict the scope of his present work, on variation under domestication.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Date:  1 Feb [1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3961

To Thomas Rivers   1 February [1863]


Answers TR’s query about stomata.

CD will use "weeping trees" as an example of how inexplicable the laws of inheritance are, and asks for facts on character of seedlings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  1 Feb [1863]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (23–4 July 1987)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3962

To John Joseph Briggs   2 February [1863]


Asks JJB for date of his article in the Field dealing with the regeneration of fishes’ fins; additional questions about the fish.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Joseph Briggs
Date:  2 Feb [1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.286)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3963

From Thomas Rivers   [3 February 1863]



His observations of "selection" in growth of seedling trees.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 46.1: 95
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3965

To Journal of Horticulture and Cottage Gardener   [before 3 February 1863]


Answers D. Beaton’s criticism of Gärtner’s work, defending his results in crossing experiments and vindicating the memory of "one of the most laborious lovers of truth who ever lived".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Journal of Horticulture
Date:  [before 3 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  Journal of Horticulture and Cottage Gardener n.s. 4 (1863): 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3966

From William Henry Harvey   3 February 1863


Is pleased that CD has [Roland] Trimen to collect specimens of Cape orchids. Suggests directions for securing dry specimens of what he draws.

Identifies Disa barbata and D. Cornuta of the Ophridiae.

Author:  William Henry Harvey
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb 1863
Classmark:  Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 78)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3966F

To Charles Lyell   4 [February 1863]


Thanks CL for "the great book" [Antiquity of man (1863)].

Richard Owen "ought to be ostracised by every Naturalist in England".

CL’s book will "give the whole subject of change of species an enormous advance".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  4 [Feb 1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.287)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3967

From Bartholomew James Sulivan   4 February [1863]


Thinks he may be appointed Commodore commanding the Squadron on the west coast of S. America. Wishes to leave England for his health’s sake.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 280
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3968

From J. D. Dana   5 February 1863


Hopes CD has received a copy of his [Manual of] Geology [1862]; justifies his assertion that geology provides no evidence to support the view that life has evolved through a method of development from species to species.

Author:  James Dwight Dana
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Feb 1863
Classmark:  Yale University Library: Manuscripts and Archives (Dana Family Papers (MS 164) Series 1, Box 2, folder 44)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3969

From William Darwin Fox   6 February [1863]


Hopes they might meet as WDF has to come to town.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 176
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3970

From James Paget   7 February 1863


Forwards a book [Horace Dobell, Lectures on the germs and vestiges of disease (1861)] and a genealogical table at the author’s request.

Author:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1863
Classmark:  DAR 174: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3971

To Charles Victor Naudin   7 February 1863


Thanks for informative letter of 2 February. CD is glad to have CVN’s opinion on the crossing of varieties of melons,

has made use of his memoir on the Cucurbitaceae ["Cucurbitacées cultivées au Muséum d’Histoire Naturelle en 1862", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 18 (1863): 159–208]

and anticipates with great interest his work on hybridisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Victor Naudin
Date:  7 Feb 1863
Classmark:  Progressus rei botanicæ 4 (1913): 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3972

To T. H. Huxley   [8 February 1863]


On six-fingered men: suspects increase confined to metacarpals and digits. Has asked James Paget to look it up.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  [8 Feb 1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 19)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3973

From Camille Dareste   8 February 1863


Has read Origin with satisfaction. He had long ago come to consider the fixity of species as contrary to the facts, but could see no suitable alternative. The Origin has brought the light to guide him.

Sends CD a copy of his latest work ["Mémoire sur la production artificielle des monstruosités", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Zool.) 4th ser. 18 (1862): 243–76]. Hopes to explain a great number of anomalies by his experimental work on artificially produced monstrosities.

Author:  Gabriel-Madeleine-Camille (Camille) Dareste
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Feb 1863
Classmark:  DAR 162: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3974
Document type
01 (3)
02 (2)
03 (3)
04 (2)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (2)
08 (2)
10 (3)
11 (3)
12 (2)
13 (1)
14 (5)
15 (1)
16 (9)
17 (4)
18 (3)
19 (2)
20 (5)
21 (2)
22 (1)
23 (4)
24 (1)
25 (3)
26 (4)
27 (2)
28 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next