skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1878 in date disabled_by_default
560 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   13 August 1878

Summary

Cannot help with correspondent’s study. CD has a poor ear for music. Recommends Helmholtz’s work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  13 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11655

To ?   28 September 1878

Summary

Urges publication of an exposure of Williams the spiritualist medium.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  28 Sept 1878
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.549)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11711

To Nature   [21? May 1878]

Summary

CD’s letter on wide distribution of freshwater plants and animals introduces a letter to him from Arthur H. Gray [see 11497].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  [21? May 1878]
Classmark:  Nature, 30 May 1878, pp. 120–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11520

To ?   2 January 1878

Summary

Thanks correspondent for note and specimen; they will be of use in new edition of Forms of flowers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  2 Jan 1878
Classmark:  Rensselaer Libraries, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (Gerald and Sue Friedman manuscript collection MC 72 Box 1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11308A

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [before 3 February 1878]

Summary

The amphicarpic habit.

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 3 Feb 1878]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5825

To Thomas Woolner   6 August [1878]

Summary

TW’s account of the Ourang is very curious. CD hopes to see the primate whenever he goes to London, but he is leaving home for three weeks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Woolner
Date:  6 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Stephan Loewentheil and The 19th Century Shop, Baltimore, Maryland (dealer) (1990)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6307A

From H. S. Sanguinetti   July 1878

thumbnail

Summary

Change of address.

Author:  Herbert Samuel Sanguinetti
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  July 1878
Classmark:  DAR 209.13: 9r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7842

From Hermenegildo Giner de los Ríos   12 August 1878

Summary

The secretary of the Comision de Propaganda of the Institución Libre de Enseñanza, Madrid, asks CD to send list of his publications to the Society.

Author:  Hermenegildo Giner de los Ríos
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 271.2: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11653A

To Édouard Heckel   13 August 1878

Summary

CD grateful to EH for making his works known in France.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Édouard Marie (Édouard) Heckel
Date:  13 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Heritage Auctions (dealers) (13 and 14 December 2011, lot 37038)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11654

From J. F. Fisher   13 August 1878

Summary

Discourses on the rights of animals.

Author:  John Francis Fisher
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 164: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11656

From W. J. L. Wharton   14 August 1878

thumbnail

Summary

Gives results of recently completed survey of islands in the Seychelle group mentioned in Coral reefs, 2d ed., pp. 243–4.

Author:  William James Lloyd Wharton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 69: A76–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11657

To Francis Darwin   14 [August 1878]

Summary

Instructs FD to plant some Oxalis seeds.

Wishes to trace the movement of an old cotyledon. Asks him to examine and compare the pulvinus of a species which moves its cotyledon greatly with one of a species that moves it only moderately.

Are the tendrils ready for heliotropic experiment yet?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  14 [Aug 1878]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 43
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11658

To Asa Gray   15 August 1878

Summary

Climbing plants.

Requests seeds of Echinocystis lobata for Hugo de Vries.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  15 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium, Harvard University (124)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11659

To Alphonse de Candolle   15 August 1878

Summary

CD cannot say he cares greatly about his election to the Institut but he does care for the sympathy of his friends.

Will look to Smilax when he returns to Down.

Regrets the insecurity of the identification of fossil leaves.

He has heard that De Bary has cultivated Utricularia with and without aquatic animals and that the plants that have been fed flourished "in a stupendous manner".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  15 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11660

To Gaston de Saporta   15 August 1878

Summary

It would be false to pretend he cares very much about his election to the Institut.

Glad to hear GdeS plans to publish a work on the more ancient fossil plants. Hopes he will report also on the more recent Tertiary forms because the close gradation of such forms is "a fact of paramount importance for the principle of evolution".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Louis Charles Joseph Gaston (Gaston) de Saporta, comte de Saporta
Date:  15 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Archives Gaston de Saporta (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11661

To Hugo de Vries   [15] August [1878]

Summary

Enjoyed seeing HdeV yesterday.

Following the point mentioned by HdeV, CD has observed the difference in corrugation of primary roots in plants exposed to dry and damp soil.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugo de Vries
Date:  [15] Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Artis Library (De Vries 4b)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11662

To G. H. Darwin   17 [August 1878]

Summary

He and Emma rejoice that GHD’s mathematical troubles are at an end. It is miraculous that he unconsciously followed the right course – like composing a sonata by a fluke.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  17 [Aug 1878]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11663

From F. B. Goodacre   17 August 1878

Summary

Crossing experiments with common and Chinese geese. Offers CD geese if he wishes to repeat experiments.

Author:  Francis Burges Goodacre
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 165: 63–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11664

From Hugo de Vries   17 August 1878

Summary

Contraction of plant roots.

Author:  Hugo de Vries
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 180: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11665

To William Ogle   17 August 1878

Summary

Is glad WO is undertaking the editing of Anton Kerner’s book [Schutzmittel der Blüthen gegen unberufene Gäste (1876)], which appears to open out "highly original & curious fields of research". [Used as prefatory letter to Kerner, Flowers and their unbidden guests, The translation revised and edited by W. Ogle (1878).]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  17 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Ogle trans. 1878, pp. v–vi
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11666
Document type
letter (560)
Date
1878disabled_by_default
01 (44)
02 (53)
03 (72)
04 (32)
05 (50)
06 (39)
07 (64)
08 (56)
09 (33)
10 (23)
11 (44)
12 (50)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter