skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1837 in date [X]
68 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To a member of Downing College, Cambridge   [19 January 1837]


Declines invitation to dine at Downing College because of influenza.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [19 Jan 1837]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 142v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-342

To W. D. Fox   [11 December 1837]


Writes following his visit to WDF.

Mentions fossils Fox has collected.

News of Albert Way.

Hensleigh Wedgwood has resigned his post because of scruples about taking oaths.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [11 Dec 1837]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 53)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-393

To Charles Lyell   [19 December 1837]


Responds to Lyell’s query [missing] about northern and southern limits of coral islands of the Pacific. Warns that coral islands are much more thinly distributed than people realise and cites examples. Comments on views of Matthew Flinders. Reading work of É[lie] de B[eaumont]. Notes difficulty of setting an east-west boundary to coral islands.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [19 Dec 1837]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-394

To Richard Owen   28 [December 1837]


Sends perfect revise of "Toxodon" [Fossil Mammalia] which he has read and marked.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  28 [Dec 1837]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections Owen correspondence 9/209)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-395

To Richard Owen   [28 December 1837]


CD sorry RO is not well and fears work on Macrauchenia may have contributed. Thinks new name very good. Other details concerning publication [of Zoology, pt 1, no. 1].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [28 Dec 1837]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-396

To Richard Owen   [15 December 1837 – 9 June 1838]



Sends RO a box of fossils from William Darwin Fox, from the Isle of Wight.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [15 Dec 1837 – 9 June 1838]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 115
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-418F

To William Shoberl   2 August [1837]


Asks WS to write to his friend to make his corrections [in CD’s MS of Journal of researches] in ink.

Capt. FitzRoy agrees with the propriety of beginning to print [CD’s volume separately] at once.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Shoberl
Date:  2 Aug [1837]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-369

To William Lonsdale   3 August [1837]


Asks to withdraw abstract of his paper on coral formations ["Elevation and subsidence in the Pacific" (1838), Collected papers 1: 46–9].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Lonsdale
Date:  3 Aug [1837]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/3/123)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-370

To the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Thomas Spring Rice   3 August 1837


With the encouragement of several scientific gentlemen and supported by the opinions of the Presidents of the three Learned Societies, CD ventures to request a grant of £1000 from Government to cover the cost of 150 engravings to illustrate results of his Beagle collections.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Spring Rice
Date:  3 Aug 1837
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-370A

To John Richardson   [11 August 1837]


Chancellor of the Exchequer has ordered £1000 for the publication of the Zoology. Would like to meet JR to ask his advice on one or two points.

Thanks for his long account of the climate of North America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Richardson
Date:  [11 Aug 1837]
Classmark:  Scott Polar Research Institute (MS 1503/16/2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-370F

From Richard Owen   [7 August 1837]


Dissected beak of Rhynchops shows no extensive innervation. But beak may nevertheless be a sensitive organ of touch as CD suggests.

Author:  Richard Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [7 Aug 1837]
Classmark:  Birds 144
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-371

To Anne Susan Horner   [9 August 1837]


Suggests coming to visit on Monday. Sends the Misses Horner a segment of wedding cake from Shrewsbury [marriage of Caroline Darwin to Josiah Wedgwood III].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anne Susanna Horner
Date:  [9 Aug 1837]
Classmark:  Library of Congress (Rare book and special collection division)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-372

To J. S. Henslow   16 August [1837]


Reports his successful interview with the Chancellor of the Exchequer [Thomas Spring Rice] about a grant for publishing [Zoology]. Thanks JSH for help with this; "you have been the making of me from the first".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  16 Aug [1837]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 39 DAR/1/1/39)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-373

Minutes of the Board of the Treasury   25 August 1837


The Chancellor of the Exchequer and their Lordships after receiving numerous representations in support of Mr Darwin’s proposal concur in the opinion that Public Funds in aid of the Expenses should be granted as soon as he is ready to proceed in conformity with the enumerated conditions.

Author:  Secretary of the Post Office
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Aug 1837
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-373A

To W. D. Fox   28 August [1837]


Proof-sheets [of Journal of researches] are tumbling in. Mentions future plans for Zoology and geological works. Has £1000 from Government for illustrations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  28 Aug [1837]
Classmark:  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections (Pearce/Darwin Fox collection RBSC-ARC-1721-1-76)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-374

To Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood   [28 August 1837]


Regrets he cannot come to music meeting in Birmingham because he is very busy with the proofs of his book [Journal of researches]. A waste of life to spend a summer in ugly Marlborough Street.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood
Date:  [28 Aug 1837]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 228)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-375

From Charles Lyell   29 August and 5 September 1837


Syenitic granite from Norway carried as far as Osnabruck.

Has met warm reception in Germany.

Leopold von Buch mistaken in believing that granite overlies transition rock in Norway. Granite sends veins into transition and gneiss.

Has been examining fossil shells of Crag with Heinrich Beck. Beck admits some shells are of species still living.

CL still believes Eocene, Miocene, and Pliocene are satisfactory divisions of Tertiary epoch.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Aug and 5 Sept 1837
Classmark:  K. M. Lyell, ed. (1881) 2: 20–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-376

From the Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty’s Treasury   31 August 1837


The Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty’s Treasury approve CD’s request for £1000 in aid of publication [of Zoology].

Author:  Secretary of the Post Office
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1837
Classmark:  Fossil Mammalia, pp. ii–iii
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-377

From Smith, Elder & Co.   12 September 1837


Suggestions are presented respecting CD’s proposed publication of his zoological work in accordance with the Government requirement.

Author:  Smith, Elder & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Sept 1837
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-377A

To J. S. Henslow   [20 September 1837]


Doctors have urged him to knock off all work and go to the country. Arranges proof-reading with JSH, while he is at Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [20 Sept 1837]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 40 DAR/1/1/40)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-378
Document type
letter (68)
01 (4)
02 (4)
03 (6)
04 (1)
05 (5)
06 (6)
07 (5)
08 (13)
09 (5)
10 (4)
11 (6)
12 (9)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next