skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent [X]
1860::11 in date [X]
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From J. D. Hooker   [26 November – 4 December 1860]



Encourages CD’s work in vegetable physiology.

Ascending the Lebanon JDH noted limits of plant distribution as CD requested: lower limits of a genus sharper than upper. Sharpness of boundaries related to a plant’s moisture requirement.

Impressed by "sporadic" distribution at the Jardin des Plantes in Paris.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26 Nov – 4 Dec 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 100: 158–60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3000

To John Lubbock   28 November [1860]


Praise for a paper on the Entomostraca by Lubbock (Lubbock 1862). Thanks for the compliment paid to the Origin and for his general comments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  28 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 40b (EH 88206449)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3001

From Charles Lyell   30 November 1860


Satisfied that CD finds his conjectured rate of elevation and long periods of stasis reasonable, even if these periods cannot be estimated. Explaining upheaval by subterranean lava flow makes these pauses plausible. Suspects that mountainous areas move more than lowland and coastal areas. General upheavals or subsidence in Europe in glacial period are unlikely. Believes with Jamieson that there was glacial action in Scotland before its submergence and that it was equally mountainous then. Subterranean upheaval visits different countries by turn. Horizontal Silurian strata must have been submerged and upheaved. Rest has always been the general surface character. Believes, however, that the quantity of late Tertiary movement is against CD’s belief in the constancy of continents and oceans: perhaps since the Miocene period, but not since the Cretaceous.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Nov 1860
Classmark:  Kinnordy MS, Charles Lyell’s journal VII, pp. 49–57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3001A

To John Murray   22 [November 1860]


Asks how soon he must send proofs [of Origin, 3d ed.] to printer. His corrections would not take more than three weeks. The longest job will be to glance over the endless reviews to guide him in his corrections.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  22 [Nov 1860]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 72–73)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3029

From E. A. Darwin   12 November [1860–8]


Sends the tithes.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov [1860-8]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4340

To Edward Cresy   [12 November 1860]


Thanks for information about the weight of water.

Describes experiments on Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  [12 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2620

From Charles Lyell   [before 20 November 1860]


Discusses the possibility of a land-bridge connecting Biscay with Ireland and the consequent occurrence in southern Ireland of Asturian plants which are absent from England.

Asks if Hooker or anyone has criticised Edward Forbes’ botanical migration of five floras in the British Isles ["On the connexion between the distribution of existing fauna and flora of the British Isles, and the geological changes which have affected their area", Mem. Geol. Surv. G. B. 1 (1846): 336–432].

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 20 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 170.2: 80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2902

To T. H. Huxley   1 November [1860]


THH’s term "Pithecoid Man" is a theory in itself.

CD is convinced that his doctrine of a mundane period of glaciation is correct.

Henrietta’s serious illness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  1 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 141)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2972

To Edward Cresy   2 November [1860]


Thanks for pamphlet by A. S. Taylor.

"… we have had a terrible week with my poor girl [Henrietta] on the point of death".

Discusses experiments involving placing solutions of ammonia and other substances on leaves of plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  2 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2973

To Edward Cresy   2 November [1860]


Discusses pamphlet by A. S. Taylor

and note by A. W. v. Hofmann concerning iodine solution.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Date:  2 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2974

To Daniel Oliver   3 November [1860]


DO’s candidacy for Professorship of Botany [at University College, London].

Henrietta’s health is better.

Paper in Botanische Zeitung [T. Nitschke, "Über die Reizbarkeit der Blätter von Drosera rotundifolia", 18: 229–34, 237–45, 245–50] missed leading point that plants close longer over animal substances. Carbonate of ammonia works on Lemna and Euphorbia roots.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  3 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 24 (EH 88206008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2975

To J. M. Rodwell   5 November [1860]


Comments on relationship between eye-colour and deafness in cats [discussed in Origin]. Asks for more information.

Mentions criticism of Origin.

Thanks for information about horses.

Hopes JMR writes his book on language. Mentions Hensleigh Wedgwood’s work [A dictionary of English etymology, 3 vols. (1859–65)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Medows Rodwell
Date:  5 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 328; Bradford Museums and Galleries: Cliffe Castle Museum, Keighley (NH.6.40 p. 641)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2976

To Daniel Oliver   7 November [1860]


Congratulations on Professorship.

Homologies between Drosera and Dionaea. Carbonate of ammonia on roots. Wants W. H. Fitch to make drawings of Dionaea. Will copy minute structure of hairs from Trécul [see 2965].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  7 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 25 (EH 88206009)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2977

To W. E. Darwin   [9 November 1860]


Discusses Henrietta’s illness and their plans to return to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [9 Nov 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2978

To T. H. Huxley   10 November [1860]


On the prospectus of Natural History Review. Suggests it might offer information on whether subjects that correspondents may wish to investigate have been done already.

Henrietta still very seriously ill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 143)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2979

From Edward Cresy   10 November 1860


Explains discrepancies in weights and measures caused by changes since 1836 in apothecaries’ measures.

EC has found that a discrepancy in A. W. von Hofmann’s experiments with iodine solutions resulted from an error in Hofmann’s use of decimals.

Reports S. P. Woodward’s opinion of the Origin: "a very sad book, it unsettles all one’s religious principles and the worst of it is so much of it is true".

Author:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Nov 1860
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 7, 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2980

To J. S. Henslow   10 November [1860]


The stone hatchets are a great muddle. Would like a copy of Jacques Boucher [de Crèvecoeur] de Perthes’s book [Antiquités Celtiques et antédiluviennes (1847–64)].

Is studying action of carbonate of ammonia on Drosera. Asks if this has been done.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  10 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A83–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2981

To G. V. Reed   12 November [1860]


The family was detained at Eastbourne by a setback in Henrietta’s health.

Will send Leonard for tutoring on Thursday morning. Frank is doing capitally at school.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Varenne Reed
Date:  12 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Buckinghamshire Record Office (D.22.39.5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2982

To John Phillips   14 November [1860]


Thanks JP for copy of his Life on the earth [1860].

Is sorry, but not surprised, to see that JP is "dead against" CD on the Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Phillips
Date:  14 Nov [1860]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History Archive Collections (John Phillips collection))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2983

From Trenham Reeks   15 November 1860



Sends weights of three objects (blotting paper, thread, and hair) to within 1/1000 of a grain.

Author:  Trenham Reeks
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Nov 1860
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 10–11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2984
Document type
letter (37)
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
09 (1)
10 (3)
12 (3)
14 (1)
15 (1)
16 (2)
18 (1)
19 (1)
20 (3)
21 (2)
22 (4)
23 (1)
24 (2)
25 (1)
26 (3)
28 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next