skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1877::11 in date [X]
21 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To Nature   21 November [1877]

Summary

Sends letter from Fritz Müller [11191] containing observations on plants and insects of South Brazil, with prefatory comments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  21 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  Nature, 29 November 1877, p. 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11245

To T. H. Huxley   19 November [1877]

Summary

Deeply grateful for THH’s tribute to him at conferring of LL.D. at Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  19 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 328)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11240

To Édouard Heckel   20 November 1877

Summary

Thinks EH’s translation of Cross and self-fertilisation [1877] is excellent.

Would like him to do Forms of flowers, but Reinwald is afraid to have it translated in the present political state of France.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Édouard Marie (Édouard) Heckel
Date:  20 Nov 1877
Classmark:  Heritage Auctions (dealers) (13 and 14 December 2011, lot 37038)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11242

To G. H. Darwin   21 November [1877]

Summary

Asks GHD to determine whether there are worm-castings in cloisters of [Neville?] Court.

Enjoyed his visit to Cambridge. Asks for newspaper account of the LL.D.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  21 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11246

To Gustave Dewalque   23 November 1877

Summary

Honoured to be elected an honorary member of the Société Géologique de Belgique.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gilles Joseph Gustave (Gustave) Dewalque
Date:  23 Nov 1877
Classmark:  Société Géologique de Belgique (autographe Darwin)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11249F

To G. H. Darwin   24 November [1877]

Summary

Thinks he had better not sign GHD’s paper [as a candidate for F.R.S.], since he obviously is no judge of the quality of his work.

Asks if Thomson did not overlook heat generated by the crushing and folding of strata during the refrigeration of the globe.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  24 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 65
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11251

To J. D. Hooker   25 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Neptunia seeds germinated by applying great heat. CD wants advice of Kew gardener, R. I. Lynch, on how to proceed.

Printed public oration for CD’s Cambridge doctorate enclosed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 463
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11253

To J. D. Hooker   28 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Suggests revisions in JDH’s 1877 Presidential Address to the Royal Society [Proc. R. Soc. Lond. (1877): 427–46].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  28 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 465
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11257

To John Murray   28 November 1877

Summary

On publishing details for various CD books.

Has no corrections for new issue of Descent [2d ed.].

Questions amount of cheque for profits.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  28 Nov 1877
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 293–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11258

To John Murray   30 November 1877

Summary

Thanks for accounts which make everything intelligible to him. Since he was glad to have Orchids published at one-half of profits for himself, he believes it would be very shabby to accept JM’s new offer of two-thirds profits. Thinks it would be fairer to both to change to JM’s usual practice with authors [i.e., annual statements of sales, payments based on them, and final accounting when all copies have been sold].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  30 Nov 1877
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 f. 299)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11262

To Williams & Norgate   1 November [1877–9?]

Summary

Asks to be sent Dr Frank’s Die Natur: wagerechte Richtung von Pflanzentheilen.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  1 Nov [1877-9]
Classmark:  Swann Auction Galleries (dealers) (November 2005)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10234F

To James Cartmell   [November 1877]

Summary

Regrets he cannot accept JC’s invitation to the [Master’s] Lodge [of Christ’s College] when he comes to Cambridge to accept his LL.D., as his health demands he stay quite by himself.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Cartmell
Date:  [Nov 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 26v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11218

To Horace Darwin   1 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Wants HD to observe earthworm activity at Roman antiquities of Chedworth and Cirencester.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Darwin
Date:  1 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11221

To ‘Bronsomerulay’ Frazier   [2 November 1877]

Summary

Although honoured by being asked, regrets the state of his health prevents his standing as a candidate for Lord Rector of Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  ‘Bronsomerulay’ Frazier
Date:  [2 Nov 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11225

To J. D. Hooker   6 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Requests seeds for study of movement in cotyledons. Would love to study Welwitschia cotyledons.

Son William is to be married 28 November.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 459–60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11226

To J. D. Hooker   8 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

CD and Frank working hard on cotyledonary movement.

CD suggests technique for growing Welwitschia.

Approves of J. D. Dana and of O. Heer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 461–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11229

To J. W. Clark   12 November 1877

Summary

Thanks his correspondent for his letter; hopes he will convey to the president how obliged he is for the invitation, which he cannot accept as it would tire him too much.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Willis Clark
Date:  12 Nov 1877
Classmark:  H. Bruce Rinker PhD (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11232F

To Fritz Müller   13 November 1877

Summary

Asks for Cassia seed for experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  13 Nov 1877
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11233

To Lawson Tait   13 November [1877]

Summary

CD declines to write for RLT’s new journal. He is not fitted for the work and dislikes it particularly. It costs loss of time as he "cannot change with ease from one job to another".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  13 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11235

To R. F. Cooke   24 November 1877

Summary

Asks exact number of copies of recent printing of Origin.

Approves stereotyping Orchids,

but fears he cannot approve of stereotyping Cross and self-fertilisation and Forms of flowers. It is too soon for the latter, and he is too busy to correct the former.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Date:  24 Nov 1877
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 300–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11252
Document type
letter (21)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1877
11
01 (3)
02 (1)
06 (1)
08 (1)
12 (1)
13 (2)
18 (1)
19 (1)
20 (1)
21 (2)
23 (1)
24 (2)
25 (1)
28 (2)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter