skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1873::07 in date [X]
17 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To ?   18 July [1873?]

Summary

Comments on ability of recipient to move his scalp.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  18 July [1873?]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.430)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8982

To Nature   [before 24 July 1873]

Summary

Sends a letter from J. D. Hague confirming his earlier observation [see 8788] of frightened behaviour of ants when they come upon dead ants. CD had asked for confirmation because J. T. Moggridge had suggested that the ants’ behaviour was alarm at the scent of the observer’s fingers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  [before 24 July 1873]
Classmark:  Nature, 24 July 1873, p. 244
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8985

To Edward Frankland   18 July [1873]

Summary

Agrees to delay sending the fluid [from the glands of Drosera] until early October. Will try suggestion about pepsin. [See 8981.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  18 July [1873]
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8982A

To Armand Sabatier   24 July 1873

Summary

Thanks for Études sur la coeur et la circulation centrale dans la série des vertébrés (Studies on the heart and the central circulation in the vertebrate series; Sabatier 1873).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Armand Sabatier
Date:  24 July 1873
Classmark:  Colby College Libraries
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8986F

To J. S. Burdon Sanderson   25 July 1873

Summary

Describes his recent work on Drosera digestion of organic materials, e.g., albumen and gelatin. Edward Frankland has given CD a rough test for pepsin. Some plant extracts cause as much inflection as meat. Has found some reversible inflection with heat and perhaps some heat rigor. Has measured the extreme sensitivity of Drosera with very dilute solution of ammonium phosphate.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott Burdon Sanderson, baronet
Date:  25 July 1873
Classmark:  University of British Columbia Library, Rare Books and Special Collections (Darwin - Burdon Sanderson letters RBSC-ARC-1731-1-11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8987

To J. D. Hooker   31 July [1873]

Summary

Has three common garden plants of which he needs to know correct names; will send specimens as soon as he hears JDH is back.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  31 July [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 267
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8991

To J. D. Hooker   1 July [1873]

Summary

Agrees with JDH on G. J. Allman’s work. Approves of JDH’s text proposing GJA for Royal Medal.

Will be proud to see General Richard Strachey at Down – a truly great man.

Specimens of Drosera are waiting to be examined.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 July [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 265–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8960

To Friedrich Max Müller   3 July 1873

Summary

Thanks FMM for his "Lectures [on Mr Darwin’s philosophy of language", Fraser’s Mag. n.s. 7 (1873): 525–41, 659–78].

CD is not worthy to be FMM’s adversary as he knows very little about language and, being fully convinced man is descended from some lower animal, he is forced to believe a priori that language has developed from inarticulate cries.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Max Müller
Date:  3 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 146: 425
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8962

To C. H. Blackley   5 July [1873]

Summary

Comments on CHB’s book [Experimental researches on catarrhus aestivus – hay-fever or hay-asthma (1873)].

Explains that some pollens are wind-blown while others depend on insects for dispersal. Effect of pollen on skin and mucous membrane astonishing. Sends a book [M. Wyman, Autumnal catarrh (1872)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Date:  5 July [1873]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection, Ms.84.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8965

To George King   6 July 1873

Summary

Thanks for specimens and information about worm-castings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George King
Date:  6 July 1873
Classmark:  DAR 146: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8966

To A. R. Wallace   9 July [1873]

Summary

Forwards photograph, sent by [J. L. G.] Krefft, of a chrysalis attached to its food-plant; the chrysalis has adjusted its colour remarkably.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  9 July [1873]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350 Box 1 Wallace MSS)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8970

To Armand de Quatrefages   9 July [1873]

Summary

Thanks correspondent for his kind and generous exertions [to get CD elected to French Academy?].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Louis Armand (Armand de Quatrefages) Quatrefages de Bréau
Date:  9 July [1873]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.409)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8972

To Gerard Krefft   12 July [1873]

Summary

Thanks JLGK for photos of natives of Queensland.

Asks if he can observe whether worms throw up castings in wet weather.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Date:  12 July [1873]
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (MLMSS 5828)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8975

To Edward Frankland   12 July 1873

Summary

Seeks the assistance of a professional chemist in securing a qualitative analysis of the fluid secreted by the glands of Drosera which have the power of dissolving animal matter out of the bodies of insects. [See 8979.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  12 July 1873
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8977A

To Henry Edwards   15 July [1873]

Summary

HE’s facts about the Mexican ant [Myrmecocystus mexicanus] are "most wonderful & interesting".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Edwards
Date:  15 July [1873]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR A6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8978

To the Royal Institution of Great Britain   15 July 1873

Summary

Thanks for the three essays: although they are beyond his scope, they seem to him very interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Royal Institution of Great Britain
Date:  15 July 1873
Classmark:  The Royal Institution of Great Britain (RI MS DIe/3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8979F

To Edward Frankland   16 July [1873]

Summary

Thanks EF for his offer of assistance. Could the viscid secretions [in glands of Drosera] contain pepsin? Will the sodium carbonate render the testing of organic matter difficult? [See 8979.] Will send the fluid in a fortnight.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  16 July [1873]
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8980A
Document type
letter (17)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1873
07
01 (1)
03 (1)
05 (1)
06 (1)
09 (2)
12 (2)
15 (2)
16 (1)
18 (2)
24 (2)
25 (1)
31 (1)
letter