skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1857::11 in date [X]
12 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. E. Darwin   [November 1857]


Is trying to find a tutor for WED.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [Nov 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2095

To John Lubbock   [22 November 1857]


Huxley and William Sharpey praise JL’s paper [? on Daphnia, Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. 147 (1857): 79–100] at Philosophical Club.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [22 Nov 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 22 (EH 88206471)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2149

To T. C. Eyton   2 November [1857]


Has TCE observed whether hybrids of Chinese and common forms [of geese] were wilder, or less tame, than both parents?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  2 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  Cadbury Research Library: Special Collections, University of Birmingham (EYT/1/42)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2164

To T. H. Huxley   [before 12 November 1857]


Glad THH has taken up aphid question versus Owen ["On the agamic reproduction and morphology of Aphis", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 22 (1858): 193–236].

Fertilisation and inheritance discussed. Speculates that fertilisation may be a mixture rather than a fusion. Can understand in no other way why crossed forms tend to go back to ancestral forms.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  [before 12 Nov 1857]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 58)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2166

To Robert Patterson   12 November [1857]


The [Irish] rabbits arrived safely. "They shall be skeletonized." CD now has rabbits from Shetland, Madeira and Ireland; hopes to receive one from Jamaica.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Patterson
Date:  12 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  W. E. Praeger 1935, p. 714
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2168

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   [before 12 November 1857]


Asks writer of an article on weeds why he supposes "there is too much reason to believe that foreign seed of an indigenous species is often more prolific than that grown at home?" The point is of interest to CD "in regard to the great battle of life which is perpetually going on all around us". Cites analogous observations by Asa Gray and J. D. Hooker. Does writer know "of any other analogous cases of a weed introduced from another land beating out … a weed previously common in any particular field or farm?"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  [before 12 Nov 1857]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, 14 November 1857, p. 779
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2169

To J. D. Hooker   14 [November 1857]



Rule that species vary most in larger genera seems universal.

Response to Gardeners’ Chronicle note on "Bees and kidney beans" [Collected papers 1: 275–7].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  14 [Nov 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 215
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2170

To W. B. Tegetmeier   21 November [1857]


When he has reviewed his work, he will give up pigeons and will probably give them away next summer. Wants a few Malay eggs in the spring.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  21 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2173

To J. D. Hooker   21 November [1857]



Mrs J. S. Henslow’s illness.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  21 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 213
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2174

To Hugh Falconer   23 November 1857


Can HF ask Col. E. Dickie [probably Col. Edward John Dickey] enclosed questions about Indian horses? [Questions relate to striped markings on the Kutch breed of horses.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  23 Nov 1857
Classmark:  DAR 144: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2175

To C. S. Bate   29 November [1857]


Asking for specific information about reproduction in barnacles.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Spence Bate
Date:  29 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) (22 October 2014)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2175F

To Asa Gray   29 November [1857]


Thanks AG for his criticisms of CD’s views; finds it difficult to avoid using the term "natural selection" as an agent.

Discusses crossing in Fumaria and barnacles.

Has received a naturally crossed kidney bean in which the seed-coat has been affected by the pollen of the fertilising plant.

Finds the rule of large genera having most varieties holds good and regards it as most important for his "principle of divergence".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  29 Nov [1857]
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium, Harvard University (18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2176
Document type
letter (12)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
01 (1)
02 (1)
12 (3)
14 (1)
21 (2)
22 (1)
23 (1)
29 (2)