skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1857::09 in date [X]
11 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. E. Darwin   [before 11 September 1857]

Summary

Writes of the extension to Down House.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [before 11 Sept 1857]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1619

To Asa Gray   5 September [1857]

Summary

Encloses an abstract of his ideas on natural selection and the principle of divergence; the "means by which nature makes her species".

Discusses varieties and close species in large and small genera, finding some data from AG in conflict with his expectations.

Has been observing the action of bees in fertilising kidney beans and Lobelia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  5 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium, Harvard University (48)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2136

To J. D. Hooker   6 September [1857]

thumbnail

Summary

Some negative results in variety tabulation survey.

Galls on wild carrot.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 209
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2137

To Secretary, Academia Caesarea Leopoldino-Carolina Naturae Curiosorum   8 September [1857]

Summary

CD acknowledges honour of his election to the Academy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Academia Caesarea Leopoldino-Carolina Naturae Curiosorum
Date:  8 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 200–202 )
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2138

To J. D. Hooker   11 September [1857]

thumbnail

Summary

Representative species may complicate tabulation of varieties.

Questions for Mr Anderson about horse colouring in Norway.

Has been writing an "audacious little discussion" to show that "organic beings are not perfect, only perfect enough to struggle with their competitors".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  11 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 211; DAR 115: 73a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2140

To T. H. Huxley   15 September [1857]

Summary

Thanks for three last lectures and the account of cirripedes.

Difficulty of classifying the higher groups.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  15 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 137)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2141

To William Walmisley Baxter   23 September [1857–9?]

Summary

The returned gloves are similar to some he has already, and he would prefer a pair with stiffer bristles.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter
Date:  23 Sept [1857-9]
Classmark:  Lyon & Turnbull, Edinburgh, 4 February 2009
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2142F

To T. H. Huxley   26 September [1857]

Summary

Agassiz’s superficiality and wretched reasoning powers. But he stirred up Europe on glaciers. Lyell has been working on their effects – testing work of others.

CD believes "Natural Systems" ought to be simply genealogical. "Time will come when we shall have true genealogical trees of each great kingdom of nature."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  26 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 54)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2143

To W. B. Tegetmeier   29 September [1857]

Summary

Will collect no more pigeons. Is awaiting Burmese fowls’ skins coming via Berlin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  29 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2146

To J. D. Hooker   30 September [1857]

thumbnail

Summary

C. F. Ledebour [Flora rossica (1842–53)] particularly useful for variety tabulation. Results generally favourable.

Additions to Down House.

Last two chapters of MS took six months to write.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  30 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 210
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2148

To J. S. Henslow   25 September [1857]

Summary

Thanks JSH for his magnificent present. Hopes Hooker will bring the specimens.

Have water-fowl ever been seen at Ipswich on Mr Ransome’s great tank?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  25 Sept [1857]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A58–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2329
letter