skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1851::12 in date [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To John Stevens Henslow   11 December [1851]

Summary

Sends cirripede specimens for Ipswich Museum.

Asks how much a village fireworks display would cost.

Comments on the need in education for good habits of expression and accurate observation instead of making "wretched Latin verses".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  11 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 93: A85–A88
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1463

To Christian Ferdinand Friedrich von Krauss   21 December [1851]

Summary

Asks to borrow FK’s specimen of Conia rosea. Would like to know if FK collected it himself [in S. Africa] or was given it, because CD has a closely allied species from Australia, which surprises him. [See Living Cirripedia 2: 335.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Christian Ferdinand Friedrich von Krauss
Date:  21 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1465

To Thomas Salt   24 December 1851

Summary

Asking Thomas Salt to inform the Executors of Captain Muckleston that he wishes to foreclose the mortgage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  24 Dec 1851
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1465F

To Adam White   26 December 1851

Summary

Testimonial letter expressing CD’s high opinion of AW’s zoological attainments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adam White
Date:  26 Dec 1851
Classmark:  Testimonials of Adam White, F.L.S., Assistant in the Zoological Department, British Museum [1854], p. 15 (National Library of Scotland, 3.2043(6))
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466

To Thomas Salt   26 December [1851]

Summary

Asks Thomas Salt to accept the repayment of a mortgage from Captain Muckleston’s executors, if Josiah Wedgwood agrees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  26 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466G

To John Richardson   30 December [1851]

Summary

Will send JR’s box of cirripedes on Thursday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Richardson
Date:  30 Dec [1851]
Classmark:  Louisiana State University Libraries, Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections (James E. Murdoch Papers, Mss. 667)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1466H
Document type
letter (6)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1851
12
11 (1)
21 (1)
24 (1)
26 (2)
30 (1)
letter