skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1851::05 in date [X]
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. S. Dismorr   6 May [1851]

Summary

Congratulates JD on discovery of fossil footsteps near Port Philip, Australia. Richard Owen would be glad to examine them. J. B. Jukes most likely to know geology of Port Philip.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  6 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 385
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1427

To J. S. Dismorr   15 May [1851]

Summary

Comments on concretionary bodies found by JD. Encourages him to continue geological study.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Stewart Dismorr
Date:  15 May [1851]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 386
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428

To A. S. Horner   25 May [1851]

Summary

Thanks for her sympathy on the death of Annie Darwin, and sends news of Emma Darwin and the baby Horace.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anne Susanna Horner
Date:  25 May [1851]
Classmark:  Cheffins (dealers) (10 January 2019, lot 209)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1428F

To Robert Ball   26 May [1851]

Summary

Obliged for letter about cirripedes attached to turtles’ backs. Genus is Chelonobia, Leach. Cirripedes do not penetrate skin, but surrounding tissue grows up around them.

Asks RB to send S. American Balanus. Already has specimens from Irish coast.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Ball
Date:  26 May [1851]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (Fellows’ Papers 54.ii)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1429

To Edward Forbes   [1 May – 5 June 1851]

Summary

Comments on MS by C. S. Bate. Bate not aware of other work on Cirripedia; cites Bate’s errors. Would Bate allow CD to use his drawings in Living Cirripedia? [See Living Cirripedia 1: 9–16.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Forbes
Date:  [1 May – 5 June 1851]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 131
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1214

To Edward Adolphus Seymour Seymour   May 1851

Summary

Testimonial on behalf of J. D. Hooker, addressed to Lord Seymour as Chief Commissioner of Her Majesty’s Woods and Forests, signed by CD and many other scientists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Adolphus Seymour Seymour, 12th duke of Somerset
Date:  May 1851
Classmark:  Julian Browning (Catalogue 10, ‘Historical Manuscripts and Documents’)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1425F

To Hensleigh and Fanny Mackintosh Wedgwood   1 May [1851]

Summary

Thanks HW for the trouble he has taken; sends a cheque [to cover expenses of Anne’s funeral?]. Emma Darwin adds a note to FMW.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hensleigh Wedgwood; Frances Emma Elizabeth (Fanny) Wedgwood
Date:  1 May [1851]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 310)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1426
Document type
letter (7)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1851
05
01 (3)
06 (1)
15 (1)
25 (1)
26 (1)
letter