skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
1847::02 in date [X]
8 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Francisco Javier Muñiz   26 February 1847


If FJM wishes to sell the fossils he has discovered, CD suggests he appoint some agent to dispose of them.

Is surprised at the account of the earthquake in the pampas.

Offers to send his South America.

Greatly admires FJM’s zeal

and would welcome any information on the domestic animals of La Plata.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francisco Javier Muñiz
Date:  26 Feb 1847
Classmark:  Nature 99 (1917): 305–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1063

To J. D. Hooker   [28 February 1847]



Can JDH come to 7 Park St. on Wednesday?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [28 Feb 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1064

To Robert Chambers   [28 February 1847]


Asks to call on RC.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Chambers
Date:  [28 Feb 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 265
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1065

To J. D. Hooker   [17 February 1847]



Asks JDH not to think of looking at his species sketch until he has leisure.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [17 Feb 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1057

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   8 [February 1847]



Cirripede observations.

Would like to hear what JDH has to say about his species sketch.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 [Feb 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 79
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1058

To Ernst Dieffenbach   9 February [1847]


On the results of Robert Bunsen’s journey to Iceland, which he compares in detail with his own research.

"I have for the present given up Geology, & am hard at work at pure Zoology & am dissecting various genera of cirripedes, & am extremely interested in the subject." "I always, however, keep on reading & observing on my favourite work on Variation or on Species, & shall in a year’s time or so, commence & get my notes in order."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Dieffenbach
Date:  9 Feb [1847]
Classmark:  J. A. Stargardt (dealer) (catalogue 574 11–13 November 1965)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1059

To Charles Nichols, Geological Society   10 February [1847]


Encloses 12s for the year.

Anxious for February number of the Journal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Nichols
Date:  10 Feb [1847]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/10/36)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1060

To Richard Owen   12 February [1847]


F. J. Muñiz has offered fossil bones collected around Buenos Aires to the Royal College of Surgeons. He believes he can complete their Megatherium skeleton and provide other specimens. CD feels he should be encouraged in his work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  12 Feb [1847]
Classmark:  The Royal College of Surgeons of England (RCS-MUS/3/3/9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1061
Document type
letter (8)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (1)
12 (1)
17 (1)
26 (1)
28 (2)