skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
1868::10 in date [X]
27 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From Ludwig Büchner   9 October [1868 or later]


Thanks CD for letter of 3 Oct [missing] about LB’s publication.

Author:  Friedrich Karl Christian Ludwig (Ludwig) Büchner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct [1868 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 355
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13783

From E. A. Darwin   [before 11 October 1868]


C[harles?] P[arker?] says he has made a "fearful mistake", and the marriage cannot be; EAD hopes to come to CD next week.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 11 Oct 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5746

From B. D. Walsh   [before 31 October 1868]



Beginning of extract from William Dell Hartman’s "Journal of the doings of Cic[ada?] septemdecim" [unidentified] in Pennsylvania in 1851.

Author:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 31 Oct 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 81: 145
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5755

From E. A. Darwin   [11 October 1868]


J. J. Sylvester reports George’s fellowship "the most enviable position on earth".

Charles [Parker?] "appears to be ruined".

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [11 Oct 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B62–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6219

From Edward Blyth   1 October 1868


Gives CD a reference to one of his papers ["Remarks on the modes of variation of nearly affined species or races of birds", J. Asiat. Soc. Bengal 19 (1850): 221–9]

and discusses moulting in birds.

Quotes instance of an action by an elephant that apparently displays considerable intelligence.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6406

From George Robert Crotch   2 October [1868]



Bibliographical references on [stridulation in] Coleoptera. Finds no idea of sex has occurred to authors [i.e., they do not find the stridulating organs differing according to sex; cf. Descent 1: 378–85].

Author:  George Robert Crotch
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Oct [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 82: A98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6407

From A. R. Wallace   4 October 1868


Sexual differences in coloration. Sexual selection versus natural selection as explanations. ARW continues to argue against sexual selection, saying that natural selection, in keeping the female dull for protection, would account for differences in sexual colouring more effectively than inheritance and partial transmission of sexually selected male colours. Colours of female birds of paradise. Protective coloration. Disagrees with CD on coincidence of hidden nests and bright colours of females.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 106: B68–69
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6408

From Edward Blyth   4 October 1868



Replies to CD’s questions on sexual differences in birds.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 100–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6409

From J. D. Hooker   3 October 1868



Encloses copy of H. Barkly’s answer to JDH’s inquiry on the Seychelles Island crocodile.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 238–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6410

From Joseph Plimsoll   5 October 1868


A sermon.

Author:  Joseph Plimsoll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6411

From John Tyndall   9 October 1868


Gustavus Hinrichs is also a [not highly regarded] correspondent of JT’s; he will put GH’s papers on the table at Royal Institution to ease CD’s conscience.

Dined with the Asa Grays at Hooker’s. Told Mrs Gray that CD’s ill health was a benefit because it caused him to ponder a great deal.

Author:  John Tyndall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 106: C1–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6414

From Adam Sedgwick   11 October 1868


Congratulates CD on election of his son [George] as a Fellow of Trinity College.

Describes his ill health.

Invites CD to visit Cambridge.

[Letter dated November in error.]

Author:  Adam Sedgwick
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6416

From W. S. Dallas   12 October 1868


Will finish translation of Für Darwin in a week.

Asks CD to use his influence to get him appointed Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society [London].

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6417

From Edward Wilson   14 October 1868


Encloses further replies from Australia to CD’s queries on expression. Wilson’s letter to CD enclosed the letter from Smyth with its enclosures (see S6314).

Author:  Edward Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 125, DAR 186: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6419

From G. H. K. Thwaites   16 October 1868


On local black-boned fowls,

CD’s new book [Variation], and Pangenesis.

Author:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 178: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6420

From J. J. Weir   [before 17] October 1868


Both sexes of Crossoptilon auritum (eared pheasant) obtained the red cheeks the first year.

Coloration of the linnet.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 17] Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 86: A36, 53; DAR 84.1: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6421

From W. S. Dallas   19 October 1868


Thanks CD for his promise of support and his flattering opinion of his qualifications for the position of Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6423

From Karl von Scherzer   20 October 1868


Describes departure of expedition to China, Japan, and South America.

Copy of CD’s queries provided to expedition.

Invites CD to make suggestions for scientific work to be carried out.

Author:  Karl von Scherzer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6425

From J. P. M. Weale   23 October 1868



Describes Lappago aleina, a species of South African grass,

and reports his observations on locusts and their feeding habits.

Author:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 46.1: 93a–94a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6428

From T. H. Farrer   26 October 1868


Delighted with mechanisms of Salvia and Viola. How can anyone who compares structure of Viola cornuta and common violet still suppose them to be separate creations?

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 164: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6432
Document type
letter (27)
Darwin, C. R.[X]
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (2)
09 (2)
11 (4)
12 (1)
14 (1)
16 (2)
17 (1)
19 (1)
20 (1)
23 (1)
26 (1)
28 (1)
29 (1)
31 (2)
Page: 1 2  Next