skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
1868::02 in date [X]
79 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

From Asa Gray   [25 February 1868 or later]

Summary

Discusses arrangements for American edition of Variation.

Observations on apparently inherited instinct in a dog.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [25 Feb 1868 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 165: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2563

From William Blenkiron Jr   [c. February 1868?]

thumbnail

Summary

Answers for father, who is ill, on difference between manes of stallions and mares.

Author:  William Blenkiron, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. Feb 1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 83: 184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5340

From Edward Blyth   [after 3 February 1868]

Summary

Recommends J. Scott’s paper on crossing varieties of Verbascum.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 3 Feb 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 210
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5750

From Daniel Oliver   [before February 1868]

Summary

Notes on the taxonomy of Primula.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before Feb 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 108: 81
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5824F

From C. S. Bate   [17 February 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

On the proportion of sexes in crabs; coloration and structural differences.

Author:  Charles Spence Bate
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 Feb 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 82: A61–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5826

From J. Daly   [before 9 February 1868]

Summary

Corrections [incorporated in 2d issue of Variation].

Author:  J Daly
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 9 Feb 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 195.1: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5827

From J. D. Hooker   1 February 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Amazed that Hugo von Mohl and E. M. Fries are not foreign members of Royal Society; Thomson going over the whole matter.

Candolle’s contribution to botany.

Lubbock shocked about Wollaston.

CD’s answer to Greg was capital.

Comments on Variation.

Charles Murchison’s work on Falconer’s Memoirs [Palaeontological memoirs and notes of the late Hugh Falconer (1868)] and JDH on Falconer.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 191–4; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Directors’ Correspondence 19, f. 200)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5831

From William Bowman   1 February 1868

Summary

Thanks CD for the gift of his new work [Variation].

Author:  William Bowman, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1868
Classmark:  Sir John Paget Bowman (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5832

From Albrecht Graf von Bernstorff   3 February 1868

Summary

His Majesty the King of Prussia has conferred upon CD the Order, Pour le Mérite, for Sciences and Arts.

Author:  Albrecht Bernstorff, Graf von Bernstorff
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 177
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5836

From William Darwin Fox   3 February [1868]

Summary

Congratulates [G. H. Darwin] on being Second Wrangler.

Thanks CD for Variation.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 186
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5837

From Edward Wilson   4 February 1868

Summary

Sends some Australian boiled beef for CD to sample.

Congratulations on George Darwin’s success at Cambridge.

Author:  Edward Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 122
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5838

From John Edward Gray   4 February 1868

Summary

Discussion of the pig in light of CD’s Variation.

Work of Hermann von Nathusius [Die Racen des Schweines (1860)].

Author:  John Edward Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 165: 213
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5839

From Ernst Haeckel   [before 6 February 1868]

Summary

Describes his lectures on CD’s theory.

Thanks CD for copy of Variation. Comments on book.

Describes work of two protégés in Jena: Nicolas von Miklucho[-Maclay] and Anton Dohrn.

His cousin, Wilhelm Bleek, is sending an article about the origin of language.

Asks to keep book a few months longer but will return it if CD needs it [Webb and Berthelot, Histoire naturelle des Îles Canaries, vol. 3, pt 1: Géographie botanique (1840)].

Describes research on Siphonophora.

Describes life in Jena. Mentions alpine accident during wedding trip.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 6 Feb 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 46
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5840

From John Murray   6 February [1868]

Summary

Advance sale of Variation has exhausted the 1500 copies printed. Murray sends note for £300 author’s payment. Wants to print 1250 more immediately.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 354
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5844

From Edward Blyth   6 February 1868

Summary

Discusses the origin and characters of sheep breeds, particularly the merino.

Reports observations on reversion to wild type in canary mules

and lists some animals that show a unique development restricted to one side of their bodies.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 212
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5845

From J. E. Gray   6 February 1868

Summary

Would like a look at Nathusius.

Edward Blyth’s inability to recognise cats’ skulls.

Author:  John Edward Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 165: 214
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5846

From W. S. Dallas   6 February 1868

Summary

Forwards a letter from Secretary of Yorkshire Philosophical Society. Hopes CD will honour them by accepting.

Has heard nothing of Variation.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5847

From Alfred Russel Wallace   7 February 1868

Summary

Thanks for Variation.

Reports work on his travel book [The Malay Archipelago (1869)].

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 106: B48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5848

From William Baird   7 February 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Colour differences in annelids and entozoa.

Author:  William Baird
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 82: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5849

From Edward Cresy   7 February 1868

Summary

Thanks for loan of Variation. "The Saturday Sadducees" do not believe there are a hundred people who understand the argument. EC fancies he does.

Author:  Edward Cresy, Jr
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 251
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5850
Document type
letter (79)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1868
02
01 (4)
03 (3)
04 (2)
06 (5)
07 (3)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (4)
12 (4)
13 (3)
14 (1)
15 (2)
16 (1)
17 (5)
18 (3)
19 (3)
20 (5)
21 (2)
22 (2)
23 (1)
24 (5)
25 (3)
26 (4)
27 (6)
28 (2)
29 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter