skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
1862::06 in date [X]
28 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From Francis Walker   24 June [1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Identified two flies as species of Empis that suck flowers, but the females also feed on small Diptera.

Author:  Francis Walker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 70: 182
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10547

From G. C. Oxenden   [before 21 June 1862]

Summary

Sad that CD is quitting his studies of orchids.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 21 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173.2: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3584

From W. E. Darwin   June 1862

Summary

Found 27 flowers of Orchis latifolia and in 16 of them were dead flies of one particular kind.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 162.1: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3585

From Asa Gray   [2 June 1862]

Summary

Discusses heterostyly in Houstonia.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 110 (ser. 2): 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3588

From G. C. Oxenden   4 June [1862]

Summary

Sends orchids.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 173.2: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3589

From E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung   7 June 1862

Summary

Discusses publication of second German edition of Origin [1863] and German edition of Orchids [1862].

Author:  E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 177: 68
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3590

From J. D. Hooker   9 June 1862

thumbnail

Summary

Oliver has written able paper on dimorphism for Natural History Review [n.s. 2 (1862): 235–43].

CD’s account of Viola is novel and interesting.

Has finished Cameroon mountain plants.

Jury work at exhibition.

Domestic problems – wife is ill, no cook, etc.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 40–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3593

From Frederick Currey   12 June 1862

Summary

Offers rare Irish orchid (Spiranthes).

Author:  Frederick Currey
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 305
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3598

From George Howard Darwin   [12 June 1862]

Summary

Leonard Darwin has scarlet fever so GHD has said he should be sent home and has asked E. A. Williams to call at Down.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [12 June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 251
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3598F

From Alphonse de Candolle   13 June 1862

Summary

Has read the Origin several times. His position is like Asa Gray’s: he wishes to believe in descent, but proofs of natural selection are lacking.

Looks forward to CD’s promised large book.

Thanks for Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63]. Did CD sow the seeds of his crosses? One would like to know whether the two forms reappear at random.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.1: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3603

From John Higgins   13 June 1862

Summary

Sorry he did not meet CD in London.

Discusses investment in land as compared with railway shares.

Author:  John Higgins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1862
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/104)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3603F

From H. W. Bates   14 June 1862

Summary

Sends answer to Wedgwood’s query

and is sorry to hear CD is again unwell.

His book is progressing very slowly.

Asks that CD not make use of any of the facts about generative organs in beetles for he finds "such a chaos of statements" that facts are not to be depended upon.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3604

From W. E. Darwin   14 June [1862]

Summary

WED’s travel plans; an insect he has observed on Orchis maculata.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 June [1862]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3604F

From Charles Pritchard   17 June [1862]

Summary

Has broken up school a few days early to avoid danger. Hopes CD’s son is nearly recovered.

Author:  Charles Pritchard
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 174.2: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3607

From J. D. Hooker   19 [June 1862]

thumbnail

Summary

Household problems: wife’s health, visitors to Kew.

Will go to sale of J. C. Ross’s effects looking for glacial and Kerguelen Land works not at British Museum.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 [June 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 38–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3611

From E. A. Darwin   20 June [1862]

Summary

Asks CD to help Thomas Carlyle find and borrow a book.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 105 (ser. 2): 4–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3614

From W. B. Clarke   20 June 1862

Summary

Has received Australian government grant to collect and publish on fossils. Has collected thousands of fossils.

Author:  William Branwhite Clarke
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 161.2: 174
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3616

From G. C. Oxenden   21 June 1862

Summary

Yesterday found hundreds of [Ophrys] apifera and [Ophrys] arachnites in bloom in the same area. The two species grow in clumps and do not mix with each other.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 173.2: 54
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3618

From H. G. Bronn   21 June 1862

Summary

L. C. Treviranus inclined to translate Orchids, but "unfortunately" HGB has already done it. Book’s discussion of plant sexuality important for zoology as well as botany.

Origin is in press. Attaches a list of "quelques petites difficultées" encountered in his translation.

Author:  Heinrich Georg Bronn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 70: 2, DAR 160.3: 318
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3619

From C. V. Naudin   26 June 1862

Summary

Thanks for Orchids.

Plans to publish soon on hybrids.

Author:  Charles Victor Naudin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 June 1862
Classmark:  DAR 172.1: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3621
Document type
letter (28)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1862
06
01 (2)
02 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
09 (1)
12 (2)
13 (2)
14 (2)
17 (1)
19 (1)
20 (2)
21 (3)
24 (1)
26 (1)
27 (2)
28 (2)
29 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter