skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877 in date [X]
598 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Albert Gaudry   28 December 1877

Summary

Thanks AG for his kindness in sending his valuable work [Les enchaînements du monde animal vol. 1 (1878)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albert-Jean (Albert) Gaudry
Date:  28 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Museo Civico di Storia Naturale, Milan (Library: Fondo Gaudry b. 7, fasc. 28, doc. 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11293

To M. T. Masters   [6–12 December 1877]

Summary

Reports on the flowering and growth of a branch of Echeveria stolonifera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  [6–12 Dec 1877]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle, 29 December 1877, p. 805
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11294

To Hyde Clarke   [29 December 1877]

Summary

"If you finally succeed in proving that all languages have been developed from a common root, you will indeed have effected a most valuable piece of work."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Hyde (Hyde) Clarke
Date:  29 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (23–4 February 1959)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11295

From Lawson Tait   31 December [1877]

Summary

Speculation on the process by which tails have been lost; believes he has evidence from man that it is related to spina bifida.

Author:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Dec [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11297

From F. J. Cohn   31 December 1877

Summary

Sends details of H. H. R. Koch’s work on bacteria, including first photographs.

J. S. Burdon Sanderson’s and Koch’s collaboration on systemic fever.

Thinks movement of Francis Darwin’s Dipsacus filaments is an artifact.

Author:  Ferdinand Julius Cohn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Dec 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 205
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11298

To the Down Friendly Society   31 December [1877?]

Summary

Reports, as treasurer, on the financial position of the Club.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Down Friendly Society
Date:  31 Dec [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11300

From Francis Darwin   [28 October 1877?]

Summary

FD has sent proofs; nutating of Ricinus; Horace Darwin and the wormograph.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Oct 1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 45
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11302F

From W. D. Fox   29 November [1877]

Summary

Congratulates W. E. Darwin, who is about to be married,

and CD for the LL.D. conferred upon him by Cambridge.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11261

To John Murray   30 November 1877

Summary

Thanks for accounts which make everything intelligible to him. Since he was glad to have Orchids published at one-half of profits for himself, he believes it would be very shabby to accept JM’s new offer of two-thirds profits. Thinks it would be fairer to both to change to JM’s usual practice with authors [i.e., annual statements of sales, payments based on them, and final accounting when all copies have been sold].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  30 Nov 1877
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 f. 299)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11262

From R. W. Griffiths   December 1877

Summary

A sheep-breeder friend has found that he can produce twins and triplets in his flock by "a sudden supply of improved feeding stuff" at time of conception. This would appear to remove the objection CD refers to in Descent that animals supplied with an excess of food become sterile.

Author:  Richard William Griffiths
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Dec 1877
Classmark:  DAR 165: 227
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11263

To G. J. Romanes   [1 and 2 December 1877]

Summary

Comments on GJR’s lecture on evolution.

Regrets failure of graft experiments.

Hopes GJR will not give up on Pangenesis. Mentions article by Gustav Jäger on Pangenesis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  1 and 2 Dec 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.526)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11265

To W. D. Fox   2 December 1877

Summary

Working hard on physiology of plants.

His son George sees no reason to change his view on marriage of cousins.

George’s astronomical work is too deep for CD.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  2 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 155)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11266

To Jacob Moleschott   [2 December 1877]

Summary

Is obliged to JAWM for the honour done in sending CD his Der Kreislauf des Lebens (1877).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jacobus Albertus Willebrordus (Jacob) Moleschott
Date:  [2 Dec 1877]
Classmark:  Laage 1980, p. 106
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11267A

To R. A. Vance   4 December 1877

Summary

Thanks RAV for valuable letter [11232]. CD too ignorant of anatomy to form a decided opinion, but is inclined to attribute spiral folds to reversion and the valves to partial abortion of the fold. Asks RAV to verify by examining lower intestine of an opossum for the structure. If missing he would hesitate to allude to reversion. If RAV can prove the nature of these remnants it would be a conclusion of much interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Reuben Aleshire Vance
Date:  4 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11269

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   7 October 1877

Summary

Wants seed with large cotyledons to test for sensitivity and movement.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  7 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 101–2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11171

To Hjalmar Linnström   7 October 1877

Summary

Gives permission to translate Expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl Hjalmar (Hjalmar) Linnström
Date:  7 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Uppsala University Library: Manuscripts and Music (Waller Ms gb-00522)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11172

From Alphonse de Candolle   8 October 1877

Summary

Speculates that the function of "bloom" is to prevent evaporation.

Raised CD’s question about the geographical distribution of glaucous plants at recent botanical meeting.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11173

From J. D. Caton   8 October 1877

Summary

Thanks CD for acknowledging receipt of JDC’s book The antelope and deer of America [1877].

Castration suppresses deer antlers.

Author:  John Dean Caton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 126
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11174

From C. T. E. von Siebold   10 October 1877

Summary

Sends article and photograph of abnormally hairy family.

Mentions death of his student, Rudolf von Willemoes-Suhm.

Author:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11175

To Alphonse de Candolle   10 October 1877

Summary

AdeC’s two letters on bloom will be very useful; his remarks on evaporation and absorption seem very just. CD has made few experiments as yet. The investigation has been tedious and difficult.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11176
Document type
letter (598)
Date
1877
01 (76)
02 (53)
03 (52)
04 (31)
05 (37)
06 (54)
07 (66)
08 (42)
09 (41)
10 (61)
11 (47)
12 (38)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter