skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
289 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Horace Darwin   1 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Wants HD to observe earthworm activity at Roman antiquities of Chedworth and Cirencester.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Darwin
Date:  1 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11221

To ‘Bronsomerulay’ Frazier   [2 November 1877]

Summary

Although honoured by being asked, regrets the state of his health prevents his standing as a candidate for Lord Rector of Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  ‘Bronsomerulay’ Frazier
Date:  [2 Nov 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11225

To J. D. Hooker   6 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Requests seeds for study of movement in cotyledons. Would love to study Welwitschia cotyledons.

Son William is to be married 28 November.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 459–60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11226

To J. D. Hooker   8 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

CD and Frank working hard on cotyledonary movement.

CD suggests technique for growing Welwitschia.

Approves of J. D. Dana and of O. Heer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 461–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11229

To J. W. Clark   12 November 1877

Summary

Thanks his correspondent for his letter; hopes he will convey to the president how obliged he is for the invitation, which he cannot accept as it would tire him too much.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Willis Clark
Date:  12 Nov 1877
Classmark:  H. Bruce Rinker PhD (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11232F

To Fritz Müller   13 November 1877

Summary

Asks for Cassia seed for experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  13 Nov 1877
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11233

To Lawson Tait   13 November [1877]

Summary

CD declines to write for RLT’s new journal. He is not fitted for the work and dislikes it particularly. It costs loss of time as he "cannot change with ease from one job to another".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  13 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11235

To T. H. Huxley   19 November [1877]

Summary

Deeply grateful for THH’s tribute to him at conferring of LL.D. at Cambridge.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  19 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 328)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11240

To Édouard Heckel   20 November 1877

Summary

Thinks EH’s translation of Cross and self-fertilisation [1877] is excellent.

Would like him to do Forms of flowers, but Reinwald is afraid to have it translated in the present political state of France.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Édouard Marie (Édouard) Heckel
Date:  20 Nov 1877
Classmark:  Heritage Auctions (dealers) (13 and 14 December 2011, lot 37038)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11242

To G. H. Darwin   21 November [1877]

Summary

Asks GHD to determine whether there are worm-castings in cloisters of [Neville?] Court.

Enjoyed his visit to Cambridge. Asks for newspaper account of the LL.D.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  21 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11246

To Gustave Dewalque   23 November 1877

Summary

Honoured to be elected an honorary member of the Société Géologique de Belgique.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gilles Joseph Gustave (Gustave) Dewalque
Date:  23 Nov 1877
Classmark:  Société Géologique de Belgique (autographe Darwin)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11249F

To Alfred Espinas   [before 1 July 1877]

Summary

As AE hardly admits evolution, they view all subjects differently.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Victor (Alfred) Espinas
Date:  [before 1 July 1877]
Classmark:  Darwin Library–CUL: tipped into Espinas 1877
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11027

To Williams and Norgate   [November 1874 – May 1880]

Summary

Orders a copy of Dassen 1837, Onderzoek aangaande de bladbewegingen (research on leaf movements), published in Tijdschrift voor Natuurlijke Geschiedenis en Physiologie IV p. 106.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  [1 July 1877–28 May 1880]
Classmark:  Ms Caroline Waid (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11028F

To Thomas Meehan   5 July [1877]

Summary

Thanks for review. Fears "we must agree to differ".

Health weak. Not worth TM’s time to visit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Meehan
Date:  5 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 355
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11036

To Constantin James   5 July 1877

Summary

Thanks him for his book [Du Darwinisme ou l’homme singe (1877)] and letter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Constantin James
Date:  5 July 1877
Classmark:  James 1892, p. [V]
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11036F

To Arnold Dodel-Port   6 July 1877

Summary

Thanks AD-P for plates [from Arnold and Carolina Dodel-Port, Atlas der Botanik (1878–83)]. Will be useful to all who teach botany.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arnold Dodel-Port
Date:  6 July 1877
Classmark:  Zentralbibliothek, Zürich (Ms Z VIII 417.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11039

To William Preyer   8 July 1877

Summary

Discusses inheritance.

Has WP heard of Douglas Spalding’s experiments of blindfolding chickens ["Instinct – with original observations on young animals", Rep. BAAS 42 (1872): 141–3]?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Thierry (William) Preyer
Date:  8 July 1877
Classmark:  DAR 147: 268–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11042

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   9 July [1877]

Summary

Asks for advice on how to care for previously sent species.

Occurrence of "bloom".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  9 July [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 67–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11043

To L. H. Morgan   9 July [1877]

Summary

CD admires Herbert Spencer’s genius but not his "deductive style" of expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Lewis Henry Morgan
Date:  9 July [1877]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Libraries, Department of Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11044

To Ernst Krause   11 July [1877]

Summary

EK may publish a translation [of "Sketch of an infant"] if he wishes, but CD hardly thinks it deserves the honour.

Glad to hear that Kosmos succeeds fairly well; has found several articles interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  11 July [1877]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36174)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11047
Document type
letter (289)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Darwin, Francis (2)
Date
1877
01 (32)
02 (28)
03 (30)
04 (14)
05 (21)
06 (23)
07 (31)
08 (22)
09 (17)
10 (31)
11 (21)
12 (19)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter