skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::10 in date [X]
61 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   7 October 1877

Summary

Wants seed with large cotyledons to test for sensitivity and movement.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  7 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 101–2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11171

To Hjalmar Linnström   7 October 1877

Summary

Gives permission to translate Expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl Hjalmar (Hjalmar) Linnström
Date:  7 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Uppsala University Library: Manuscripts and Music (Waller Ms gb-00522)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11172

From Alphonse de Candolle   8 October 1877

Summary

Speculates that the function of "bloom" is to prevent evaporation.

Raised CD’s question about the geographical distribution of glaucous plants at recent botanical meeting.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11173

From J. D. Caton   8 October 1877

Summary

Thanks CD for acknowledging receipt of JDC’s book The antelope and deer of America [1877].

Castration suppresses deer antlers.

Author:  John Dean Caton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 126
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11174

From C. T. E. von Siebold   10 October 1877

Summary

Sends article and photograph of abnormally hairy family.

Mentions death of his student, Rudolf von Willemoes-Suhm.

Author:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11175

To Alphonse de Candolle   10 October 1877

Summary

AdeC’s two letters on bloom will be very useful; his remarks on evaporation and absorption seem very just. CD has made few experiments as yet. The investigation has been tedious and difficult.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11176

To [W. W. Bailey]   10 October 1877

Summary

Thanks for information, which will be useful if CD ever brings out a corrected edition of his book [Forms of flowers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whitman Bailey
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Steven Raab (dealer) (May 2017)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11176F

From L. A. Errera   10 October 1877

Summary

CD has made clear that in Cross and self-fertilisation he had not intended to suggest that autogamie (fertilisation of a flower by its own pollen) is superior to gitonogamie (fertilisation of a flower by one on the same plant).

Author:  Léo Abram Errera
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 163: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11177

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   11 October [1877]

Summary

Movements in cotyledons; outlines tracing technique. [A tracing of movements of red cabbage cotyledon enclosed.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  11 Oct [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 103–5) (Image reproduced with the kind permission of the Board of Trustees)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11178

To Gaston de Saporta   11 October 1877

Summary

Thanks GdeS for communicating his discovery. It is especially important at a time when several naturalists have declared that development occurs quite suddenly at intervals. Joseph Le Conte in N. America urges that even new families and orders are developed within an extremely short period.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Louis Charles Joseph Gaston (Gaston) de Saporta, comte de Saporta
Date:  11 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 147: 422
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11179

To T. M. Reade   12 October [1877]

Summary

CD is occupied with vegetable physiology.

Prefers to read MS when published.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Mellard Reade
Date:  12 Oct [1877]
Classmark:  University of Liverpool Library (TMR1.D.7.3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11180

From Robert Damon   12 October 1877

Summary

Asks whether CD considers it possible that a mollusc could poison anyone on contact, as RD has heard from missionaries about a certain South Sea variety.

Author:  Robert Damon
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 162: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11182

From C.-F. Reinwald   13 October 1877

Summary

Pleased CD is satisfied with translation of Cross and self-fertilisation.

Sends £20 royalties for Insectivorous plants (700 sold).

Author:  Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 176: 107
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11183

To C. T. E. von Siebold   15 October 1877

Summary

Thanks CTEvS for photographs of human abnormality;

regrets death of Rudolf von Willemoes-Suhm.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Date:  15 Oct 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.525)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11184

To Robert Damon   15 October 1877

Summary

Cannot give information requested. Seems incredible that mere contact should be poisonous.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Damon
Date:  15 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 212–213)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11185

From A. R. Smith   16 October 1877

Summary

Gives a possible explanation of exceptions to CD’s observation [Descent, ch. 7] that characters correlated with one sex tend to appear late in life.

Author:  Austin Rogers Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 182
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11186

From G. O. Wight   18 October 1877

Summary

Sends notes on expression [missing].

Author:  George Oswald Wight
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 181: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11188

To Raphael Meldola   19 October [1877]

Summary

Interesting article by Fritz Müller on sexual selection in butterflies, Kosmos [1 (1877): 388–95].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Raphael Meldola
Date:  19 Oct [1877]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11189

From J. D. Hooker   19 October 1877

thumbnail

Summary

JDH has just returned from U. S., where he worked on N. American geographical distribution with Asa Gray.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Oct 1877
Classmark:  DAR 104: 95–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11190

From Fritz Müller   19 October 1877

Summary

Doubts that glands of calyx of cleistogamic Malpighiaceae serve as protection.

Some species of Solanum bear long- and short-styled flowers on same plant.

Changing colours of some flowers may show insects the proper moment for fertilisation.

Doubts that the style of Pontederia cordata changes length.

Sexual difference in wings of some butterflies due to development in male of scales that emit odours to excite female.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 363–4; Nature, 29 November 1877, pp. 78–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11191
Document type
letter (61)
Date
1877
10
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (3)
07 (2)
08 (2)
10 (4)
11 (2)
12 (3)
13 (1)
15 (2)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (3)
20 (3)
21 (2)
22 (3)
23 (6)
24 (3)
25 (4)
26 (1)
27 (1)
28 (5)
31 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter