skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::09 in date [X]
41 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

From [W. T. Thiselton-Dyer]   [after 22 September 1877]


Lists of Acacia and Eucalyptus species.

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 22 Sept 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 209.12: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10750

From Roland Trimen   2 September 1877


Thanks for Forms of flowers.

Author:  Roland Trimen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 178: 192
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11124

From A. R. Wallace   3 September 1877


Sexual selection, he thinks, must be left to others to settle. "Conscious" will be substituted for "voluntary" selection. Sound- and scent-producing organs attributed to "natural", not "conscious", selection.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 106: B136–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11125

From Thomas Churton   3 September 1877


Report of child with tail and man with four nipples.

Author:  Thomas Churton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11126

To A. R. Wallace   5 September [1877]


Further discussion of evidence for sexual selection. Prefers "conscious" to "voluntary" action. Distinguishes features that serve as charms and those that serve as challenges.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  5 Sept [1877]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11127

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   5 September [1877]


Has made out some of the functions of "bloom", which he outlines.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  5 Sept [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 93–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11128

From T. H. Farrer   5 September 1877


Sends two papers on Roman ruins at Cirencester, which he asks CD to return.

Worm observations.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 164: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11129

To R. D. Fitzgerald   6 September 1877


Thanks for another part of Australian orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert David Fitzgerald
Date:  6 Sept 1877
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (A 2546)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11130

From J. W. Clark   8 September 1877


An example of inheritance confined to one sex.

Author:  Joseph Warner Clark
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 156
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11131

From W. M. Moorsom   10 September 1877


In Descent [1: 12] CD discusses intoxication among animals. South African elephants reportedly eat a plant that makes them wild.

Author:  Warren Maude Moorsom
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 234
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11132

From F. E. Nipher   10 September 1877


Cites another example of inheritance of maternal impressions.

Author:  Francis Eugene Nipher
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 172: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11133

To W. M. Moorsom   11 September [1877]


Thinks most monkeys would become habituated to alcohol if they could get it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Warren Maude Moorsom
Date:  11 Sept [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 385
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11134

From Raphael Meldola   13 September 1877


Has reread copy of Fritz Müller’s letter that CD sent some time ago and would like to publish the entomological observations in it.

Author:  Raphael Meldola
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 122
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11135

From J. V. Carus   13 September 1877


Sends a list of errata in Forms of flowers.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 110
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11136

From W. M. Moorsom   13 September [1877]


Pleased with CD’s interest in temperance. Can he quote CD? Sorry the elephant story is a myth. It fits his argument for temperance: a passion for alcohol is natural [primitive]. Only the morally developed can resist. Moral development will take a long time. Thus education cannot cure alcoholism now. Thus public sale of alcohol must be outlawed. Although he is a follower of J. S. Mill and Herbert Spencer he has been forced to this conclusion.

Author:  Warren Maude Moorsom
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 235
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11137

From Horatio Piggot   13 September 1877


Criticises passages of Insectivorous plants. Suggests plants be weighed before and after feeding to prove they have gained nourishment.

Author:  Horatio Piggot
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 174: 44
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11138

To R. I. Lynch   14 September 1877


Thanks RIL for notes.

Asks about movement of Euphorbia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Irwin Lynch
Date:  14 Sept 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11139

To Raphael Meldola   14 September 1877


Is doubtful about the publication of Fritz Müller’s letter after so long an interval.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Raphael Meldola
Date:  14 Sept 1877
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11140

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   15 September [1877]


Wants a Euphorbia to test for leaf movements.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  15 Sept [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., 1873–81: ff. 95–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11141

From L. A. Errera   15 September 1877


Young Belgian students [L. A. Errera and Gustave Gevaert] ask CD to read their paper, which summarises Cross and self-fertilisation. They criticise CD’s views on the comparative effects of crossing flowers on the same stem and fertilisation of a flower by its own pollen ["Sur la structure et les modes de fécondation des fleurs", Bull. Soc. Bot. Belg. 17 (1878): 38–181, 182–248].

Author:  Léo Abram Errera
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 163: 26
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11142
Document type
letter (41)
02 (1)
03 (2)
05 (3)
06 (1)
08 (2)
10 (2)
11 (1)
13 (4)
14 (3)
15 (2)
16 (1)
18 (1)
19 (2)
20 (1)
21 (1)
22 (3)
23 (1)
24 (1)
27 (4)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next