skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::08 in date [X]
42 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Nature   15 August [1877]

Summary

CD forwards letter from F. J. Cohn [11093] that provides confirmation of observations by Francis Darwin on the contractile filaments protruded from the glands of Dipsacus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  15 Aug [1877]
Classmark:  Nature, 23 August 1877, p. 339
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11108

To Veitch & Sons   [before 11 August 1877]

Summary

Asks specific questions on looking after plants of Dionaea. [The correspondent’s replies to the questions are written beneath them.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Veitch & Sons
Date:  [before 11 Aug 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10749

From W. E. Darwin   [24 August 1877]

Summary

Action of heavy rain on the leaves of Robinia.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24 Aug 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 85
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10753

To W. E. Darwin   20 [August 1877]

Summary

Asks WED to make some observations on Acacia or Robinia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  20 [Aug 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10755

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [before 24 August 1877]

Summary

Would like specimen of Cassia mimosoides.

Offers books to R. I. Lynch in return for services rendered.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  [before 24 Aug 1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 83–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11085

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [20–4 August 1877]

Summary

Discusses plants sent for experiments and "bloom" on leaves of Trifolium.

Sends enclosure for R. I. Lynch.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  [20–4 Aug 1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 87–8) (Image reproduced with the kind permission of the Board of Trustees)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11086

To Friedrich Ludwig   1 August 1877

Summary

Much obliged for account of cleistogamic flowers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Ludwig
Date:  1 Aug 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11087

To W. D. Whitney   1 August [1877]

Summary

Sends thanks for a newspaper abstract; will be pleased to see the paper [probably "Economy as a phonetic force", Trans. Am. Philological Assoc.8 (1877): 123–34] when printed.

Sends his own ["Biographical sketch of an infant"], saying it is of little value, the observations having been made before recent advances in philology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Dwight Whitney
Date:  1 Aug [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11088

From D. Appleton & Co.   [1 August – 15 September 1877]

Summary

Statement of U. S. sales of CD’s works.

Author:  D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Aug–15 Sept 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 159: A100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11089

From A. H. Sayce   2 August 1877

Summary

Thanks CD for permission to quote his comments; mentions some of his conclusions with regard to the early speech of children.

Thanks for [newspaper] account of American Philological Association meeting.

Author:  Archibald Henry Sayce
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Aug 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11090

From Theodor von Heldreich   2 August 1877

Summary

Sends paper on Greek plants.

Author:  Theodor Heinrich Hermann (Theodor) von Heldreich
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Aug 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 135
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11091

To Alphonse de Candolle   3 August 1877

Summary

Will be interested in reading AdeC’s paper on Smilax. The transition from hermaphroditic to unisexual condition is a perplexing problem.

CD agrees that there is much justice in AdeC’s criticism of his use of the terms "object", "end", and "purpose" but thinks "those who believe that organs have been gradually modified by natural selection for a special purpose, may I think use the above terms correctly though no conscious being has intervened".

CD and Francis are hard at work on the function of "bloom" but CD doubts that the experiments will tell them much.

Does AdeC have a decided opinion on whether plants with glaucous leaves are more frequent in hot or dry than in cold or wet countries?

Francis has been getting "striking" results from feeding meat to Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  3 Aug 1877
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11092

From F. J. Cohn   5 August 1877

Summary

Praises unbroken series of CD’s and Francis [Darwin]’s botanical works.

Confirms FD’s Dipsacus observations. Problem of interpreting microscopic filaments as protoplasm or as inorganic and osmotic artifacts.

Author:  Ferdinand Julius Cohn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Aug 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 203
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11093

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   7 August 1877

Summary

Requests plants that show movement, and any with "bloom" living near the sea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  7 Aug 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 80–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11094

To F. J. Cohn   8 August 1877

Summary

Asks permission to publish comments by FJC regarding paper by Francis Darwin [see 11073].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand Julius Cohn
Date:  8 Aug 1877
Classmark:  Michael Silverman (dealer) (2003); DAR 143: 267
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11095

To Ludwig Noiré   8 August 1877

Summary

CD sends his thanks for LN’s book [Der Ursprung der Sprache] and for the obliging words on the title page.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ludwig Noiré
Date:  8 Aug 1877
Classmark:  Stadtbibliothek Mainz (4 MS 170)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11095F

To G. J. Romanes   9 August [1877]

Summary

Comments on GJR’s papers in Nature [see 11103].

Mentions manuscript by Miss Lawless on fertilisation in plants.

Discusses work of Francis Darwin on Dipsacus

and his own experiments on Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  9 Aug [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.518)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11096

To James Croll   9 August 1877

Summary

Comments on JC’s paper ["On the tidal retardation argument for the age of the earth", Rep. BAAS (1876): 88–9].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Croll
Date:  9 Aug 1877
Classmark:  DAR 143: 356
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11097

To Theodor von Heldreich   9 August 1877

Summary

Obliged for essay on plants of Greece.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Theodor Heinrich Hermann (Theodor) von Heldreich
Date:  9 Aug 1877
Classmark:  DAR 145: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11098

To G. J. Romanes   10 August [1877]

Summary

Comments on GJR’s paper in Nature.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  10 Aug [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.519)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11099
Document type
letter (42)
Date
1877
08
01 (3)
02 (2)
03 (1)
05 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
09 (3)
10 (3)
11 (3)
13 (2)
14 (1)
15 (2)
19 (1)
20 (2)
21 (1)
23 (1)
24 (2)
25 (1)
26 (2)
27 (2)
28 (2)
29 (1)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter