skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::06 in date [X]
54 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   7 June 1877

Summary

Thanks correspondent for his essay and kind allusions [to Cross and self-fertilisation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  7 June 1877
Classmark:  The Morgan Library and Museum, New York (MA 9975)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10989

From ?   13 June 1877

thumbnail

Summary

Objects to the passage about the Irish quoted by CD in Descent [1: 174].

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 69: A12–13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10998

To ?   24 June [1877]

Summary

Advises correspondent on adopting a career; "each person shd. follow his natural bent & improve his special abilities".

Strongly recommends study of J. S. Mill’s Logic.

His own zeal for science was most stimulated by Herschel’s Introduction to the study of natural philosophy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  24 June [1877]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (25 July 1972); Kobunso (dealer) (1974)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11014

To ?   26 June [1877]

Summary

Asks for a copy [of an unknown item] to be sent to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  26 June [1877]
Classmark:  John Wilson (dealer) (5 May 2008)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11016F

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [June 1877 or later]

thumbnail

Summary

Notes and extracts relating to "bloom".

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [June 1877 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 68: 32–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10751

From Francis Darwin   [14 June? 1877]

Summary

Forwards letters.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 June? 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10762F

To G. H. Darwin   [3 June 1877]

Summary

Has not yet heard from Cambridge. Thinks perhaps they do not intend to give him the degree.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [3 June 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10946

From G.J. Romanes   [June 1877]

Summary

Notes on variation and selection; discussion of how selection could act to the advantage of a group but not to that of an individual within the group.

Author:  George John Romanes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [June 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 47: 143–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10979

From J. M. Rodwell   1 June 1877

Summary

Sends extract abusing CD, from a sermon by a Greek priest.

Author:  John Medows Rodwell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 176: 190
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10980

From P. L. Sclater   2 June 1877

Summary

Encloses a memorandum [missing] drawn up by W. H. Flower, Huxley, and himself, defending Charles Wyville Thomson against an attack made upon him.

Author:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10981

To J. M. Rodwell   3 June 1877

Summary

Thanks for an extract from a sermon, in which CD is abused by an archimandrite: he considers it a great honour.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Medows Rodwell
Date:  3 June 1877
Classmark:  Phillips (dealers) (June 1995)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10981F

To Asa Gray   4 June [1877]

Summary

C. E. Bessey’s case [see 10969] came too late, as the sheets had been printed, but CD thinks it should be carefully investigated as a possible case of incipient heterostyly.

Is trying to make out the function of "bloom", the waxy secretion on leaves and fruits.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  4 June [1877]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (119)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10982

To G. J. Romanes   5 June 1877

Summary

Sends quotation from Lamarck’s Philosophie zoologique [(1809), 2: 318] on effects of habit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  5 June 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.515)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10983

From Charles Bradlaugh   5 June 1877

Summary

Wants to subpoena CD in a case pending against himself and Annie Besant, to be tried 18 June. [Bradlaugh and Besant were indicted for issuing an "obscene libel".]

Author:  Charles Bradlaugh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 160: 275
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10984

To [Henry Huntsman?]   5 June [1877]

Summary

Urgently requests a pair of braces. "Please remember that I am 6. ft high & require rather long bracers."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Huntsman
Date:  5 June [1877]
Classmark:  Barton L. Smith (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10984A

To [Charles Roberts?]   6 June 1877

Summary

Sends six photographs of himself as a contribution to correspondent’s charity.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Roberts
Date:  6 June 1877
Classmark:  Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections (Charles Roberts Autograph Letter collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10985

From G. J. Romanes   6 June 1877

Summary

Sends MS notes on intercrossing.

Describes different reactions of rabbits and guinea-pigs to stinging nettles.

Has made a number of grafts at Kew.

Encloses notes on natural selection; discussion of factors mitigating the swamping influence of intercrossing on incipient variations.

Author:  George John Romanes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 June 1877
Classmark:  E. D. Romanes 1896, p. 53; DAR 47: 139–42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10986

From D. T. Fish   6 June 1877

Summary

Sends holly specimens.

Author:  David Taylor Fish
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 164: 122
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10987

To Charles Bradlaugh   6 June 1877

Summary

CD would prefer not to be a witness in court. In any case CD’s opinion is strongly opposed to that of CB and Annie Besant. Has read only notices of their book [Charles Knowlton, Fruits of philosophy, with preface by the publishers A. Besant and C. Bradlaugh (1877)] but believes artificial checks to the natural rate of human increase are very undesirable and that the use of artificial means to prevent conception would soon destroy chastity and, ultimately, the family.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Bradlaugh
Date:  6 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10988

From C. F. Martins   7 June 1877

Summary

All young intelligent French naturalists support CD. But the professors are afraid of being called materialists, atheists, or communists.

A paper of his ["Sur l’origine paléontologique", C. R. Hebd. Acad. Sci. 84 (1877): 534–7] met with silence, except from Bureau. If only France had become Protestant!

Author:  Charles Frédéric Martins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 June 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 63
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10990
Document type
letter (54)
Date
1877
06
01 (3)
02 (1)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (3)
06 (5)
07 (2)
08 (1)
09 (2)
10 (2)
11 (2)
13 (3)
14 (2)
15 (1)
16 (3)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (1)
21 (1)
22 (2)
24 (2)
25 (1)
26 (5)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (4)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter