skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::03 in date [X]
52 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   30 March 1877

Summary

Sends autograph as requested.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  30 Mar 1877
Classmark:  L’Autographe (dealers) (1997?)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10918F

From Daniel Oliver   12 March 1877

Summary

Discusses the cleistogamous flowers of Oxalis. Thinks they may not be truly cleistogamous but merely arrested or imperfectly developed normal flowers.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 173: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10890

To John Andrews   [before 12 March 1877]

Summary

Asks when his waggonette will be finished.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Andrews
Date:  [before 12 Mar 1877]
Classmark:  Haslemere Educational Museum (HAEEM.LD.5.729)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10890A

To Daniel Oliver   13 March 1877

Summary

Discusses possible cleistogamic flowers in Oxalis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  13 Mar 1877
Classmark:  Newcastle University Special Collections (Spence Watson/Weiss Archive GB186 SW/6/7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10891F

From Karl von Estorff   15 March 1877

Summary

Sends belated birthday greetings

and an archaeological pamphlet.

Asks for CD’s autograph.

Author:  Georg Otto Karl (Karl) von Estorff
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 163: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10892

From R. D. Fitzgerald   15 March 1877

Summary

Fertilisation of orchids. Believes some plants so constituted as to dispense with cross-fertilisation.

Author:  Robert David Fitzgerald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 164: 131
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10893

From C. C. Babington   16 March 1877

Summary

Thinks flowers of Hottonia project from the stem nearly horizontally, perhaps slightly upwards.

Sorry that he cannot help with Pulmonaria angustifolia.

Author:  Charles Cardale Babington
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 111: B49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10894

To C. E. Norton   16 March 1877

Summary

Thanks for Chauncey Wright’s work [Philosophical discussions (1877)].

Gladstone visited recently, and they discussed the future role of the United States as a world power.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Eliot Norton
Date:  16 Mar 1877
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Charles Eliot Norton Papers, MS Am 1088.14: 1596)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10895

From J. D. Hooker   19 March 1877

thumbnail

Summary

Oliver cannot, as CD has requested, hunt for trimorphic flowers in the Herbarium’s collection of Oxalis specimens. He would help Frank if he comes.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 104: 80–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10898

To Pieter Harting   19 March 1877

Summary

Thanks for account of his work. Cannot read Dutch, but son has translated it.

Thanks for album sent by PH’s countrymen.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Pieter Harting
Date:  19 Mar 1877
Classmark:  Leiden University Libraries (BPL 1938)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10899

From Friedrich Hildebrand   19 March 1877

Summary

Regrets he cannot help on Oxalis question. He did not note the names of species with cleistogamic flowers as he thought they were sufficiently known.

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 111: A84
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10900

To Asa Gray   19 March [1877]

Summary

Sends an informal title-page [for Orchids, 2d ed.].

Appreciates the condolences for Frank [on death of his wife, Amy].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  19 Mar [1877]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (tipped into Orchids 2d ed., EC85 D2593 862oba)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10901

From G. J. Wilson   19 March 1877

Summary

Pangenesis supports the existence of gemmules; does not accept Galton’s experiments as disproving their existence or importance.

Author:  George John Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 181: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10904

From J. C. Morton   19 March 1877

Summary

The editor of the Agricultural Gazette asks CD to settle a point being debated in his journal. Can a desirable breed of cattle, which is so inbred as to have scrofula, be maintained by crossing with a breed of healthy constitution?

Author:  John Chalmers Morton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 248
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10905

To J. D. Hooker   20 March [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

CD apologises for his burdensome request of Oliver.

Criticises JDH’s notice on Forsythia, which JDH said was dioecious. Forsythia sent to CD from Kew was heterostylous.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  20 Mar [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 437–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10906

To Enrique Godínez   21 March 1877

Summary

Has received the sheets of EG’s Spanish translation of Origin. Regrets that he cannot undertake to read them because of his health, over-work, and having forgotten much of the language. What he has read seems clearly expressed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Enrique Godínez y Esteban (Enrique Godínez)
Date:  21 Mar 1877
Classmark:  Godínez trans. 1877, p. [VIII]
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10908

From J. V. Carus   22 March 1877

Summary

A curious error – too late to change: in Cross and self-fertilisation CD has "cleistogenous" for "cleistogamous" flowers throughout.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 108
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10909

To Agricultural Gazette   22 March 1877

Summary

Evidence for inheritance of constitutional diseases like scrofula so good that it seems rash to breed tainted animal.

Experiments given in Cross and self-fertilisation show that evil of inbreeding follows from near relations possessing closely similar constitution.

Size and vigour increased by breeding plants and animals from ancestors that lived some generations under different conditions of life.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Agricultural Gazette
Date:  22 Mar 1877
Classmark:  Agricultural Gazette, 2 April 1877, pp. 324–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10910

From Fritz Müller   25 March 1877

Summary

Thanks CD for new [2d] edition of Orchids.

Mentions some observations on dimorphic plants.

Reports on a third species of Pontederia [see Forms of flowers, p. 185].

Describes some unusual grasses.

Reports rumours from southern Brazil concerning the existence of a gigantic subterranean animal.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Mar 1877
Classmark:  DAR 111: A89–90
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10911

To Ernst Krause   25 March 1877

Summary

Thanks for EK’s book [Werden und Vergehen (1876)].

Regrets he cannot write for EK’s journal, but his son, Francis, may do so.

Suggests EK as editor urge on readers [of Kosmos] the investigation of the causes of variability; why, for instance, do wild Pampas cattle change colour when domesticated? Thinks experiments and observations on recently domesticated animals and cultivated plants would throw light on the subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  25 Mar 1877
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36172)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10912
Document type
letter (52)
Date
1877
03
02 (2)
03 (3)
04 (2)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (3)
10 (2)
11 (1)
12 (3)
13 (2)
15 (2)
16 (3)
19 (8)
20 (3)
21 (1)
22 (2)
25 (3)
26 (3)
27 (1)
28 (1)
30 (2)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter