skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::02 in date [X]
53 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   26 February 1877

Summary

Acknowledges receipt of a publication from a German author. Hopes that the German will not be too difficult to understand in an "important & abstruse" subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  26 Feb 1877
Classmark:  eBay (September 2001)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10871A

To Nature   24 February [1877]

Summary

Darwin consents to his correspondence with Pieter Harting being published in Nature.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  24 Feb [1877]
Classmark:  The 19th Century Shop (dealers) (July 2004)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9872F

From D. T. Fish   7 February 1877

Summary

Sends holly specimens. Differences in flowering times of various hollies.

Author:  David Taylor Fish
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 164: 123
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10834

To H. N. Moseley   7 February 1877

Summary

Would like to see the photographs.

Was glad to read HNM’s paper on the New Zealand Peripatus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Nottidge Moseley
Date:  7 Feb 1877
Classmark:  Christie’s, London (dealers) (online 31 October – 8 November 2018, lot 9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10834F

From Ernst Haeckel   9 February 1877

Summary

Sends birthday wishes. Album of photographs from German admirers has been sent.

Plans trip to Mediterranean.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10835

To T. M. Reade   9 February 1877

Summary

Comments on TMR’s essay ["Geological time"].

It is monstrous that P. G. Tait should say that earth is less than ten million years old.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Mellard Reade
Date:  9 Feb 1877
Classmark:  University of Liverpool Library (TMR1.D.7.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10836

From Asa Gray   10 February 1877

Summary

Sends specimens of two forms of Rhamnus lanceolata.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 109: A84
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10837

From Hugo Schneider   10 February 1877

Summary

Sends birthday greetings. Asks for autographed photograph.

Author:  Hugo Schneider
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10838

To Francis Galton   11 February [1877]

Summary

Sends enclosure regarding inherited handwriting from Life, letters, and journals of George Ticknor [ed. G. S. Hillard (1876)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  11 Feb [1877]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/24)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10839

To A. A. van Bemmelen   12 February 1877

Summary

Expresses his gratitude for the gift [a birthday album from a number of Dutch scientists]; he cannot imagine a more honourable testimonial.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adriaan Anthoni van Bemmelen
Date:  12 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10841

From Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte   12 February 1877

Summary

CD made a corresponding member of the Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte.

Author:  Berliner Gesellschaft für Anthropologie, Ethnologie und Urgeschichte
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 230: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10841A

To Alpheus Hyatt   13 February 1877

Summary

Regrets that F. Hilgendorf proved so greatly in error ["Planorbis Multiformis", Monatsber. K. Akad. Wiss. Berlin (1866): 474–504; "Noch einmal Planorbis Multiformis", Z. Dtsch. Geol. Ges. 29 (1877): 50–62].

Discusses polymorphic species.

Surprised that shell form developed from various different progenitors.

Reminds CD of C. Nägeli’s conclusions on Hieracium.

But still retains belief expressed in first edition of Origin that variation in protean species is neither advantageous nor disadvantageous.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alpheus Hyatt
Date:  13 Feb 1877
Classmark:  Maryland Historical Society (Alpheus Hyatt Papers MS 1007)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10842

To Karl von Scherzer   13 February 1877

Summary

Has read a large part of the Novara voyage [Narrative of the circumnavigation of the globe by the Austrian frigate "Novara" (1861–3)] with pleasure. CD was particularly interested in the scandalous French behaviour at Tahiti.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl von Scherzer
Date:  13 Feb 1877
Classmark:  University of Chicago Library, Special Collections Research Center (Joseph Halle Schaffner collection, box 1, folder 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10843

From Lawson Tait   14 February 1877

Summary

Sends another extract [from Diseases of women (1877)].

Has reviewed Cross and self-fertilisation in the Spectator.

Author:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 178: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10844

To Ferdinand von Hochstetter   14 February 1877

Summary

Sends thanks to Anthropological Society for sending birthday greetings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand von Hochstetter
Date:  14 Feb 1877
Classmark:  RR Auction (dealers) (April 2006)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10844A

From C.-F. Reinwald   15 February 1877

Summary

Reports on French translations of Cross and self-fertilisation, Climbing plants, and Insectivorous plants.

Author:  Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 176: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10846

To Ernst Haeckel   16 February 1877

Summary

Thanks EH for album of photographs of German scientists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  16 Feb 1877
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 1–52/43 [9896])
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10847

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   16 February 1877

Summary

Pleased and honoured by WTT-D’s review ["Darwin on fertilisation", Nature 15 (1876–77): 329–32]. Comments on review.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  16 Feb 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 60–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10848

To Emil Rade   16 February 1877

Summary

Thanks for the honour conferred upon him [see 10826]; it is quite beyond his deserts.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emil Rade
Date:  16 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10849

To August Weismann   17 February 1877

Summary

Negotiations for loan of drawings [of Lepidoptera] have failed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leopold Friedrich August (August) Weismann
Date:  17 Feb 1877
Classmark:  DAR 148: 349
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10850
Document type
letter (53)
Date
1877
02
01 (2)
06 (3)
07 (2)
09 (2)
10 (2)
11 (2)
12 (3)
13 (2)
14 (2)
15 (2)
16 (4)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (4)
20 (3)
21 (1)
22 (2)
23 (2)
24 (3)
25 (5)
26 (3)
27 (1)
28 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter