skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::01 in date [X]
76 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next

To R. B. Sharpe?   16 January 1877

Summary

Has received from the region of the River Uruguay in S. America "a wonderful nest" of a bird called "El boyero", said to perch on the back of cattle and horses.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Bowdler Sharpe
Date:  16 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Edmund S. Muskie Archives and Special Collections Library, Bates College
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10793

From E. A. Darwin   16 January [1877]

Summary

[Samuel] Laurence, having painted the Prince of Wales, now wants to paint another great man; will use a photograph but would like a ten minute interview with CD to mix his tints.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B97–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10794

From W. E. Darwin   [15 January 1877]

Summary

Thanks for the copy of Orchids.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [15 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 66)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10794F

From Lawson Tait   16 January 1877

Summary

Is writing Diseases of women [1877]; sends some proof-sheets for criticism.

Author:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 178: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10795

To Wilhelm Rimpau   16 January 1877

Summary

Thanks for essays ["Das Aufschiessen der Runkelrüben", Landwirtsch. Jahrb. Berlin 5 (1876): 31–45; "Die Züchtung neuer Getreide Varietäten", ibid 6 (1877): 193–233]. Surprised about Beta vulgaris.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arnold Dietrich Wilhelm (Wilhelm) Rimpau
Date:  16 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 147: 304
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10796

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   17 January [1877]

Summary

CD confesses his error with respect to the cause of the scarcity of holly berries. It appears that several causes in combination have led to it. CD still believes rarity of bees played a part, though a subordinate one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  17 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle, 20 January 1877, p. 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10797

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   17 January 1877

Summary

Thanks WTT-D for praise of Cross and self-fertilisation

and for information about Mussaenda.

Has some algae from Queensland if WTT-D is interested.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  17 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 58–9)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10798

To J. V. Carus   17 January 1877

Summary

JVC’s publisher [Schweizerbart] must decide soon how many copies of two maps in Volcanic islands and South America are needed.

Has sent new edition of Orchids – greatly altered, but he hopes improved.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  17 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 156–157)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10799

To Lawson Tait   17 January [1877]

Summary

CD has only a trifling point to make in criticism [of RLT’s excerpt from Diseases of women]: he believes "the high value of well-bred males is due to their transmitting their good qualities to a far greater number of offspring than can the female".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  17 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10800

From A. R. Wallace   17 January 1877

Summary

Thanks for new edition of Orchids.

The remarkable papers of Mott on Ernst Haeckel ["On Haeckel’s history of creation", Proc. Lit. & Philos. Soc. Liverpool 31 (1876–7): 41–89].

The part played by carbon in geological changes.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 106: B132–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10801

From J. D. Hooker   18 January 1877

thumbnail

Summary

JDH discusses his and others’ experiments on survival of seeds. Impressed with resistance of some seeds and rapid decomposition of others. He wonders about "vitality" in the abstract.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 104: 74–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10802

From Friedrich Hildebrand   18 January 1877

Summary

Praise for Cross and self-fertilisation: most important point proved is benefit of crossing between related individuals grown under different conditions. This explains adaptive value of dispersal mechanisms.

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 215
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10803

To Thomas Belt   18 January 1877

Summary

Thinks it would be a serious mistake for TB to give up his profession. How the Royal Society will distribute funds is as yet very uncertain, and CD feels that TB may well receive no support as his proposal is too theoretical.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Belt
Date:  18 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 143: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10804

From Arthur Rawson   19 January 1877

Summary

Has observed the scarcity of humble-bees and subsequently of holly berries this year. But does not think humble-bees ever visit holly flowers, however plentiful they may be.

Author:  Arthur Rawson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 176: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10805

From Thomas Belt   20 January 1877

Summary

Thanks for CD’s frank criticism of his views.

Hooker advises him to apply for aid to work out glaciation between Pyrenees and Alps.

Author:  Thomas Belt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 160: 131
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10806

From J. V. Carus   20 January 1877

Summary

Lists misprints in Cross and self-fertilisation.

Sends observations and references relevant to a new edition of Expression.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 106
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10807

To W. H. Leggett   22 January 1877

Summary

Comments on WHL’s paper ["Pontederia cordata", Bull. Torrey Bot. Club 6 (1875–9): 62–3]. Cites Fritz Müller’s conclusion that plant is trimorphic. Has WHL made further observations?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Henry Leggett
Date:  22 Jan 1877
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10808

To J. V. Carus   22 January 1877

Summary

Thanks JVC for errata [in Cross and self-fertilisation]

and especially for interesting and amusing notes on expression. Will use them if a new edition [of Expression] is needed, but Murray has printed too many copies of first edition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  22 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 158–159)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10809

From George Paul   22 January 1877

Summary

Suggests CD write to Mr Fisher, a nurseryman, on his experiments with crossing varieties of holly.

Author:  George Paul
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 174: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10810

To Asa Gray   23 January 1877

Summary

Thanks AG for card about Pontederia.

Asks for specimens of Phlox subulata and Gilia aggregata to check for dimorphism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  23 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (120)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10811
Document type
letter (76)
Date
1877
01
01 (11)
02 (3)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (4)
12 (3)
13 (3)
14 (1)
15 (4)
16 (5)
17 (7)
18 (4)
19 (1)
20 (2)
22 (3)
23 (2)
25 (2)
26 (1)
27 (3)
28 (3)
30 (2)
31 (1)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4  Next
letter