skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::01 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
44 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

From Sigmund Fuchs   [1877–8?]

Summary

Asks if CD agrees with Carl Claus’s Grundzüge der Zoologie [3d ed. (1876)], in separating tunicates from molluscs.

Author:  Sigmund Fuchs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877–8?]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 221
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10336

From G. J. Romanes   [after 8 January 1877]

Summary

Returns E. Haeckel’s Perigenesis [der Plastidule (1876)]. EH’s "plastidules" do not differ from Spencer’s "physiological units". Does not see that biology gains anything from EH’s theory.

Author:  George John Romanes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 8 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  E. D. Romanes 1896, p. 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10554

From Adolphe de Stillfried   [1877?]

Summary

Writes of his admiration for CD and requests an autograph or photo.

Author:  Adolphe de Stillfried
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 257
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10744

From E. A. Darwin   17 [1877?]

Summary

Wants Francis [Rhodes] Darwin’s address; also asks if CD has heard "the great news".

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B94–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10754

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [before 17 January 1877]

Summary

Remarks on the difference between the sexes in Restionaceae and other subjects – occasioned by reading the introduction [to Forms of flowers].

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 17 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 111: B55–8r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10757

From Alphonse de Candolle   January 1877

Summary

Introduces his son Casimir, who is visiting England.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759

From Alpheus Hyatt   January 1877

Summary

Reports on his work. Relationships of shells found at Steinheim; attempts to elucidate the genesis of different forms.

Author:  Alpheus Hyatt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 357, 359
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10760

From Thomas Belt   [before 18] January 1877

Summary

TB is seeking a Government grant through the Royal Society so that he can give up his business and pursue his work on the glacial period; wants CD to support him with a note to Hooker.

Author:  Thomas Belt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 18] Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10761

From E. A. Darwin   [1 January 1877]

Summary

Would like Price’s address.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10763

From Arthur Mellersh   1 January 1877

Summary

Has "the missing link" been found in New Guinea, as he read in the newspaper?

Offers CD the nest of a foreign bird pressed on him by a neighbour.

Author:  Arthur Mellersh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764

From T. A. B. Spratt   2 January 1877

Summary

TABS is pleased that CD found something of interest in his researches in Crete [Travels and researches in Crete (1869)].

Author:  Thomas Abel Brimage Spratt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10767

From Julius Sachs   6 January 1877

Summary

Sends photographs of himself.

Thanks CD for book [Cross and self-fertilisation]

and Francis Darwin for publications.

Author:  Julius Sachs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10772

From George Hodgskin   6 January 1877

Summary

Sends nest of a Uruguayan bird.

Author:  George Hodgskin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 225
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10773

From Otto Zacharias   7 January 1877

Summary

Discusses publication of CD’s essays in three German popular periodicals.

Haeckel is ill.

German translation of George Darwin, "Marriage between first cousins" [1875] has sold 250 copies.

Author:  Otto Zacharias
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 184: 4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10775

From Allen Stoneham   11 January 1877

Summary

Has read CD’s note on the scarcity of holly berries ["Holly berries" (1877), Collected papers 2: 189–90] resulting from the scarcity of bees. Believes the shortage of bees resulted from the wet year 1875, which led to a very poor honey harvest.

Author:  Allen Stoneham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 259
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10778

From G. M. Tracy   11 January 1877

Summary

Observations on and explanations of the scarcity of fruit and berries (especially holly berries) evident that year.

Author:  George Murton Tracy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 178: 174
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10779

From H. W. Bates   11 January 1877

Summary

Encloses extract [missing] on a caterpillar.

Mentions William Buckler’s magnificent drawings of caterpillars [The larvae of the British butterflies and moths, Ray Soc. (1886–91)], but doubts Buckler will lend them for any Darwinian purpose. John Hellins has a portion of drawings and is more liberal.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 160: 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10780

From T. M. Reade   12 January 1877

Summary

TMR’s address ["Geological time" (Presidential Address, 1876), Proc. Liverpool Geol. Soc. 3 (1878): 211–35] not yet published. Will send copy.

Author:  Thomas Mellard Reade
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Jan 1877
Classmark:  University of Liverpool Library (TMR2.D.1.1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10782

From Francis Galton   12 January 1877

Summary

Would like to see essay [on effects of conscription in France, see 10774]. Knows of Swiss memoir to the same effect. Author says Swiss yeomen apt to leave homestead to sickly son. Landed populations deteriorate.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Pearson 1914–30, 2: 192
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10783

From Emile Alglave   13 January 1877

Summary

Asks whether CD has any observations to make on J. R. L. Delboeuf’s article ["Les mathématiques et la transformisme"] in Revue Scientifique [2d ser. 29 (1877): 669–79]. He would be pleased to receive a letter or article for publication.

Author:  Émile Alglave
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10786
Document type
letter (44)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1877
01
01 (7)
02 (1)
05 (1)
06 (2)
07 (1)
08 (1)
11 (3)
12 (2)
13 (1)
14 (1)
15 (3)
16 (3)
17 (3)
18 (3)
19 (1)
20 (2)
22 (1)
23 (1)
25 (1)
26 (1)
27 (3)
30 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter