skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1877::01 in date [X]
76 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

From Sigmund Fuchs   [1877–8?]


Asks if CD agrees with Carl Claus’s Grundzüge der Zoologie [3d ed. (1876)], in separating tunicates from molluscs.

Author:  Sigmund Fuchs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877–8?]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 221
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10336

To Sigmund Fuchs   [1877–8?]


[Draft of letter for Francis Darwin to write to SF.] CD declines to express an opinion on SF’s query.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Sigmund Fuchs
Date:  [1877–8?]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 221v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10337

To Albert Günther   28 January [1877]


Has signed certificates.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  28 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF ZOO/200/11/113)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10372

From G. J. Romanes   [after 8 January 1877]


Returns E. Haeckel’s Perigenesis [der Plastidule (1876)]. EH’s "plastidules" do not differ from Spencer’s "physiological units". Does not see that biology gains anything from EH’s theory.

Author:  George John Romanes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 8 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  E. D. Romanes 1896, p. 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10554

From Adolphe de Stillfried   [1877?]


Writes of his admiration for CD and requests an autograph or photo.

Author:  Adolphe de Stillfried
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 257
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10744

From E. A. Darwin   17 [1877?]


Wants Francis [Rhodes] Darwin’s address; also asks if CD has heard "the great news".

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B94–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10754

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [before 17 January 1877]


Remarks on the difference between the sexes in Restionaceae and other subjects – occasioned by reading the introduction [to Forms of flowers].

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 17 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 111: B55–8r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10757

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [early 1877?]


Thanks WTT-D for his comments on and praise of his book [Forms of flowers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  [early 1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 111: B58v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10758

From Alphonse de Candolle   January 1877


Introduces his son Casimir, who is visiting England.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759

From Alpheus Hyatt   January 1877


Reports on his work. Relationships of shells found at Steinheim; attempts to elucidate the genesis of different forms.

Author:  Alpheus Hyatt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 357, 359
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10760

From Thomas Belt   [before 18] January 1877


TB is seeking a Government grant through the Royal Society so that he can give up his business and pursue his work on the glacial period; wants CD to support him with a note to Hooker.

Author:  Thomas Belt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 18] Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 202: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10761

From E. A. Darwin   [1 January 1877]


Would like Price’s address.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10763

From Arthur Mellersh   1 January 1877


Has "the missing link" been found in New Guinea, as he read in the newspaper?

Offers CD the nest of a foreign bird pressed on him by a neighbour.

Author:  Arthur Mellersh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764

To Octavian Blewitt   1 January 1877


A letter in support of [Ann Jane] Cupples’ request to the Royal Literary Fund for assistance. Her talent, industry, and need.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Octavian Blewitt
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan 96 RLF 1/2015/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764F

To Alfred Newton   2 January 1877


Thanks AN for telling him of the complex cross among wagtails. CD is surprised that so much close interbreeding does not check their propagation.

CD does not suppose he will ever have strength to work up his data on hybridism, so he will not write to Mr Monk.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 9839/1D/63)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10766

From T. A. B. Spratt   2 January 1877


TABS is pleased that CD found something of interest in his researches in Crete [Travels and researches in Crete (1869)].

Author:  Thomas Abel Brimage Spratt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10767

To Asa Gray   3 January 1877


Asks AG not to send his rare specimens [of Leucosmia].

Is glad of the notice about black pigs.

Has great faith in Jeffries Wyman;

thinks A. R. Wallace founds his speculation on a feeble basis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  3 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10768

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   3 January [1877]


Suggests that the scarcity of holly berries is owing to the scarcity of bees during the spring, rather than to frost. He does not know what caused the scarcity of bees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  3 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle, 6 January 1877, p. 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10769

To G. J. Romanes   4 January 1877


Discusses certificate proposing GJR as Fellow of Royal Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.504)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770

From Julius Sachs   6 January 1877


Sends photographs of himself.

Thanks CD for book [Cross and self-fertilisation]

and Francis Darwin for publications.

Author:  Julius Sachs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10772
Document type
letter (76)
01 (11)
02 (3)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (4)
12 (3)
13 (3)
14 (1)
15 (4)
16 (5)
17 (7)
18 (4)
19 (1)
20 (2)
22 (3)
23 (2)
25 (2)
26 (1)
27 (3)
28 (3)
30 (2)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next