skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::12 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in author [X]
21 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   21 December 1876

Summary

Sends his signature

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10728F

To J. V. Carus   20 December 1876

Summary

Sends an omitted reference to an article by Dr Ascherson [Bot. Ztg. (1871): 444 et seq.] for Cross and self-fertilisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  20 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 154–155)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10730

To Karl von Scherzer   24 December 1876

Summary

Thanks for volume on craniology

and for suggestion to Austrian Government that CD receive volumes on Novara voyage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl von Scherzer
Date:  24 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10733

To Ernst Haeckel   31 December 1876

Summary

Thanks for EH’s Anthropogenie, 3d ed.

Sends Cross and self-fertilisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  31 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1:1-52/ 42 [9895])
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10739

To Édouard Heckel   31 December 1876

Summary

Would be honoured to have Cross and self fertilisation translated into French by EH; he has written to his French publisher, Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald.

EH’s notes will add interest and he would like to read them.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Édouard Marie (Édouard) Heckel
Date:  31 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Aguttes (dealers) An Aristophil sale (17 November 2019, lot 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10739F

To Francis Darwin   [c. December 1876]

Summary

Asks for details of dimorphism in Sethia from Thwaites, Enumeratio plantarum Zeylaniae [1864]. [See Forms of flowers, p. 122.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [c. Dec 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 153: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10762

To Eduard Strasburger   9 December [1876]

Summary

Thanks for a copy of the second edition of Strasburger’s Über Zellbildung und Zelltheilung (On cell formation and cell division; Strasburger 1876b).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eduard Adolf (Eduard) Strasburger
Date:  9 Dec [1876]
Classmark:  Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Bonn, Handschriftenabteilung (NL Strasburger I)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10291F

To Thomas Brittain   1 December 1876

Summary

Thanks TB for calling his attention to the case of the Apocynum; is unable to understand the trap-like arrangement [of the flowers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Brittain
Date:  1 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Manchester City News, 24 June 1882
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10695

To Asa Gray   4 December 1876

Summary

Plans to republish his paper on dimorphism with additions [Forms of flowers]. Is convinced it is necessary to compare pollen-grains and the state of the stigma to recognise dimorphic plants. Requests specific plants to test for dimorphism and would welcome examples from any family in which he has not encountered dimorphic species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  4 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Archives of the Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (115)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10697

To Gerard Krefft   6 December 1876

Summary

Sorry to hear of JLGK’s troubles. Cannot organise a subscription but sends £5.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Date:  6 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Mitchell Library, Sydney (MLMSS 5828)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10700

To George Bentham   8 December 1876

Summary

Asks GB to send him flowers of the two forms of Boronia pinnata, as he is republishing his papers on dimorphic plants [Forms of flowers].

Sends copy of Cross and self-fertilisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  8 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (GEB/1/3: Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, (1830–1884) 717)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10706

To G. S. Ffinden   9 December 1876

Summary

Sends £9 for Down Coal and Clothing Club, consisting of £5 for self, £1 for his son George, and £3 for his son Francis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Sketchley Ffinden
Date:  9 Dec 1876
Classmark:  The 19th Century Shop (dealers) (May 1990)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10706A

To Fritz Müller   11 December 1876

Summary

FM’s new position in Rio.

CD interested in nature of surface deposits at Rio.

Sends a copy of Cross and self-fertilisation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  11 Dec 1876
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 40) (EH 88205870)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10709

To J. D. Hooker   11 December 1876

thumbnail

Summary

Plants received from JDH.

Requests he verify an identification by Fritz Müller.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  11 Dec 1876
Classmark:  DAR 95: 427–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10710

To George Bentham   12 December 1876

Summary

Has examined the specimens of Boronia pinnata. No evidence of two distinct bodies of individuals.

Asks whether extra-American species of Aegiphila are heterostyled.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  12 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (GEB/1/3: Correspondence, Vol 3, Daintree–Dyer, (1830–1884) 720)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10714

To F. M. Balfour   13 December 1876

Summary

CD is glad to propose FMB for Royal Society. Explains information and certificates needed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Maitland Balfour
Date:  13 Dec 1876
Classmark:  National Records of Scotland (GD433/2/103C/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10716

To Samuel Smiles   15 December 1876

Summary

Thanks SS for present of Life of a Scotch naturalist [1876]. Has read every one of his biographies with "extreme pleasure".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Smiles
Date:  15 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum (MS 97–1947)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10720

To Samuel Smiles    16 December 1876

Summary

Has written via John Murray to thank for SS’s biography of Thomas Edward (Smiles 1876).

Is happy to sign a memorial concerning a Civil List pension for Thomas Edward.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel Smiles
Date:  16 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Kenneth W. Rendell (dealer) (no date)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10720F

To J. D. Hooker   15 December 1876

thumbnail

Summary

JDH has sent a short-styled Forsythia from Kew. CD surmises that all Forsythia at Kew may be short-styled, hence he is curious to know whether they set seed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 Dec 1876
Classmark:  DAR 95: 429
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10721

To John Scott   15 December 1876

Summary

CD is eager for further information about Lagerstroemia, which is sterile with its own pollen. Does the collection of dried plants reveal more than one form? Plans to republish papers on dimorphism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  15 Dec 1876
Classmark:  Transactions of the Hawick Archæological Society (1908): 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10721F
Document type
letter (21)
Author
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1876
12
01 (2)
04 (1)
06 (1)
08 (1)
09 (2)
11 (2)
12 (1)
13 (1)
15 (3)
16 (1)
20 (2)
21 (1)
24 (1)
31 (2)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter