skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::10 in date [X]
41 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   24 October [1876]


Asks his correspondent to thank Prof. Reichenbach for his kindness. A plant was discovered in flower at Kew, and he was able to examine the doubtful point.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  24 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  RR Auction (dealers) (June 2006)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10221F

To J. V. Carus   [early October 1876]


Tells JVC that to the title on the first page [of Cross and self-fertilisation] is to be added "in the vegetable kingdom".

Guesses that Orchids [2d ed.] will be 20 or 30 pages longer than the old edition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  [early Oct 1876]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 66–67)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10627

From Otto Zacharias   2 October 1876


Can CD send sheets of Cross and self-fertilisation as previously promised? OZ writing article on subject ["Darwin über Kreuzung und Selbstbefruchtung im Pflanzenreiche", Das Ausland (1877)].

German Darwinists preparing a Darwin album with photographs of themselves as gift.

Author:  Otto Zacharias
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 184: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10628

To Francis Darwin   2 October [1876]


Thanks FD for corrections [to Orchids (1877)].

Thinks Johann von Fischer’s paper on monkeys’ rumps [Der Zoologische Garten 17 (1876): 116–27, 174–9] worth translating, and he intends to write a letter on it to Nature [Collected papers 2: 207–11].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  2 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10629

From Francis Darwin   [after 2 October 1876]


Sorry the corrections were so tedious, and offers to do revises.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 2 Oct 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10629F

From George Cross   4 October 1876


Drosera plants grown with insects excluded have developed normally.

Author:  George Cross
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 161: 268
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10630

From Hermann Müller   4 October 1876


He has never observed the straight line flight routes in male humble-bees that CD reports.

His last letter was in error: alpine Bombus terrestris does break into some flowers.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 171: 307
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10631

To Otto Zacharias   5 October [1876]


The sheets of Cross and self-fertilisation will be sent to OZ as they become ready.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Otto Zacharias
Date:  5 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  Swiss National Library, Helvetic Archives (SLA-Rhyn-06-d/03)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10632

To George Cross   6 October [1876]


CD is much interested in a change in Drosera reported by GC, but "rather doubts" exclusion of insects can have caused it; would like to see the plant and suggests sending it to Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Cross
Date:  6 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10633

To William Clowes & Sons   7 October [1876]


Approves the type for Orchids [2d ed.]. The printer should advise Murray that it will be 300 pages.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Clowes & Sons
Date:  7 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  University of California Santa Barbara, Davidson Library, Special Collections (Charles Darwin / Evolution Collection Mss 28 Correspondence Box 4: 12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10634

To Francis Darwin   8 October [1876]


Sends an article for FD.

Is glad he is able to work on his teasel paper [Proc. R. Soc. Lond. 26 (1878): 4–8]; suggests some observations FD could make.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  8 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10635

From Francis Darwin   [after 8 October 1876]


Thanks for papers and letter; has been working in the mornings on teasel.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 8 Oct 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10635F

From George Cross   9 October 1876


Sending specimens of Drosera grown without insects.

Author:  George Cross
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 161: 269
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10636

To M. T. Masters   10 October [1876]


Discusses views of [Alexander James] Maule on potatoes.

Discusses graft-hybrids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Date:  10 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 347
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10637

To Francis Darwin   [11 October 1876]


Asks for reference to an article on a mandrill.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [11 Oct 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10638

From Asa Gray   12 October 1876


Would like sheets of Cross and self-fertilisation if it is not already out.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 165: 190
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10639

From J. I. Rogers   12 October 1876


His brother, George, reports from Calcutta a case of a man whose hands are divided like a cow’s foot.

Author:  John Innes Rogers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 176: 195
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10640

To Francis Darwin   [12 October 1876]


Has seen notice on Empetrum but cannot understand how leaves in bud could act as fly-catchers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [12 Oct 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10641

From J. D. Hooker   13 October 1876



JDH back from his honeymoon.

Finds he has gout, as his father and grandfather had.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 104: 66–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10642

To Moritz Wagner   13 October 1876


Comments on essays by MW [Das Ausland, May 1875]. Criticises his theory of isolation as source of species change: "But my strongest objection to your theory is that it does not explain the manifold adaptations in structure in every organic being". Believes MW has misunderstood his views: "I believe that all the individuals of a species can be slowly modified within the same district … I do not believe that one species will give birth to two or more new species, as long as they are mingled together within the same district."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Moritz Friedrich (Moritz) Wagner
Date:  13 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 148: 198; LL 3: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10643
Document type
letter (41)
01 (1)
02 (3)
04 (2)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (1)
12 (4)
13 (3)
17 (1)
18 (1)
20 (1)
21 (1)
23 (5)
24 (2)
25 (2)
26 (1)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (1)
30 (1)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next