skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::09 in date [X]
47 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Francis Darwin   16 September [1876]

Summary

Forwards chapter [of Orchids (1877)] for correction.

Sadness at the death of Amy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  16 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10604

From J. D. Hooker   [24 September 1876]

thumbnail

Summary

JDH again expresses his condolences.

The Glasgow BAAS meeting was good, except for Tait’s shameful attack on Tyndall.

Immensely impressed on Scottish geological and glacial features. Is CD aware that the earth beneath Glen Roy roads was found to contain freshwater diatoms?

Recounts the itinerary of his honeymoon in Scotland.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24 Sept 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 104: 62–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10605

To J. D. Hooker   17 September [1876]

thumbnail

Summary

CD thanks JDH for his condolences. Amy’s baby will live with the Darwins.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 419–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10606

From Thomas Seare   18 September 1876

Summary

Describes example of instinctive behaviour in new-born leveret.

Cites experiment in which rabbit breathed vapour of nitrite of amyl.

Suggests that change in terrestrial atmosphere is responsible for evolution from scales to fur or feathers.

Author:  Thomas Seare
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Sept 1876
Classmark:  DAR 177: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10607

To P. M. Duncan   19 September 1876

Summary

Encloses coral specimen and manuscript account of it by William Lonsdale.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Peter Martin Duncan
Date:  19 Sept 1876
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.498)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10608

To W. C. Marshall   19 September 1876

Summary

Asks WCM to design additional rooms for Down House.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Cecil (Bill) Marshall
Date:  19 Sept 1876
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.499)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10609

To P. A. Hanaford   19 September 1876

Summary

Pleased to hear of Peter Henderson’s intended experiment [on Drosera, see 10588]. Asks that she tell Mr Henderson that he believes good derived from animal diet will be shown only by production of larger number of seeds and more luxuriant growth in the ensuing year. Wishes to hear the results.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Phebe Ann Coffin Hanaford
Date:  19 Sept 1876
Classmark:  Nantucket Historical Association Research Library (MS 38, Phebe Ann Hanaford Papers, 1848–1949, Folder 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10610A

To George King   19 September 1876

thumbnail

Summary

Would like to see the pigeons, though he is not likely to work on the subject again. When he hears from Dr Scully, he will present them to the British Museum.

Has not had time to use the information about earthworms yet, but hopes to use it in about a year’s time.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George King
Date:  19 Sept 1876
Classmark:  DAR 185: 112
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10610F

To Francis Darwin   20 September [1876]

Summary

Suggests German works worth translating.

Is glad FD is keeping busy; he has worked excellently on proof-sheets [of Orchids (1877)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  20 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10611

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   22 September [1876]

Summary

Would like Catasetum and Acropera plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  22 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W.T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 49)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10612

To Karl von Scherzer   22 September 1876

Summary

Thanks for sending Moritz Wagner’s letter and his essays [on "Der Naturprocess der Artbildung" in Das Ausland (1875)]. Will read them and write to Wagner when his health is better.

Declines to receive Scherzer at Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Karl von Scherzer
Date:  22 Sept 1876
Classmark:  Smithsonian Libraries (Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology MSS 405 A. Gift of the Burndy Library)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10613

To W. H. Flower   24 September [1876]

Summary

Sends photographs received from Mr Van der Weyde who is working with associates in Montevideo collecting fossil bones. Asks WHF’s opinion of a specimen about which they are curious.

CD intends urging them to search the Tertiary bed beneath the Pampean formation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Henry Flower
Date:  24 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) 15 July 2004
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10615

To Rudolf Schmid   25 September 1876

Summary

Thanks for RS’s work [Die Darwin’schen Theorien und ihre Stellung zur Philosophie, Religion und Moral (1876)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Rudolf Schmid
Date:  25 Sept 1876
Classmark:  DAR 147: 427
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10616

To Francis Darwin   25 September [1876]

Summary

FD’s corrections for Orchids [1877] are all very good and useful.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  25 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10617

To F. J. Cohn   26 September [1876]

Summary

Invites him to visit Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ferdinand Julius Cohn
Date:  26 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 265
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10618

To J. V. Carus   27 September 1876

Summary

Sends first sheets of Cross and self fertilisation. The book is a very dull record of experiments, but nevertheless CD believes it is valuable for its remarkable and well-established results.

Orchids [2d ed.] will soon go to the printer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  27 Sept 1876
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 147–148)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10619

From W. H. Flower   27 September 1876

Summary

Identifies South American fossils in photographs sent by John Van der Weyde.

Author:  William Henry Flower
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Sept 1876
Classmark:  DAR 164: 141
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10620

To Francis Darwin   27 [September 1876]

Summary

Sends last chapter of Orchids [1877] for revision.

Has some articles that might interest FD.

Has invited Ferdinand Cohn and his wife to Down but hopes they will not come.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  27 [Sept 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10621

From M. L. Baxter   28 September 1876

Summary

Sends J. H. Baxter, Statistics, medical and anthropological [2 vols. (1875)]; asks CD’s opinion on correlation of stature with certain types of diseases.

Author:  Myron Leslie Baxter
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Sept 1876
Classmark:  DAR 160: 97
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10622

From W. E. Darwin   28 September [1876]

Summary

Recommends that CD buy a plot of land.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Sept [1876]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 60)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10622F
Document type
letter (47)
Date
1876
09
01 (2)
02 (1)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (1)
10 (1)
11 (6)
13 (1)
15 (3)
16 (4)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (5)
20 (1)
22 (2)
23 (1)
24 (2)
25 (2)
26 (1)
27 (3)
28 (3)
29 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter