skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::07 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From J. D. Hooker   4 July 1876

thumbnail

Summary

JDH hopes Thiselton-Dyer does not discourage Frank’s investigation of insectivorous plants.

Preparing new editions of botany text-books.

His marriage is set for August.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 104: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10556

From C. F. Martins   5 July 1876

Summary

Richard Gordon’s French translation of Climbing plants [1877] is half printed.

In Martins’ Introduction to [Éd. Barbier’s translation of] Insectivorous plants [1877] he wants to include a complete bibliography of CD’s works: their extent is not generally known in France.

Author:  Charles Frédéric Martins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 171: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10557

From Andrew Clark   8 July 1876

Summary

Directions for diet and exercise, with psychological counsel.

Author:  Andrew Clark, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 210.9: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10558

From A. R. Wallace   23 July 1876

Summary

Responds to CD’s comments and criticism of Geographical distribution.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 106: B126–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10564

From William Ogle   23 July 1876

thumbnail

Summary

Recounts his observations on the different ways bees perforate flowers of white and blue varieties of monkshood. [See Cross and self-fertilisation, p 428.]

Author:  William Ogle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 77: 164–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10565

From Wilhelm Breitenbach   26 July 1876

Summary

Observations on pollinia of Orchis maculata

and on Primula elatior. [On latter, see Forms of flowers, p. 34.]

Author:  Wilhelm Breitenbach
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 111: B50–4; DAR 160: 290
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10566

From Casimir de Candolle   30 July 1876

Summary

Experimenting on climbing plants.

Has no further information on Dionaea.

Author:  Anne Casimir Pyramus (Casimir) de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 161: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10567
Document type
letter (7)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1876
07
04 (1)
05 (1)
08 (1)
23 (2)
26 (1)
30 (1)
letter