skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::07 in date [X]
15 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To John Scott   1 July 1876


CD has read the two reports on culture of poppies with interest and has planted seeds.

Suggests an experiment for evidence on whether plants, thought merely varieties, are like species and fail to intercross, despite insect pollination.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  1 July 1876
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10555

From J. D. Hooker   4 July 1876



JDH hopes Thiselton-Dyer does not discourage Frank’s investigation of insectivorous plants.

Preparing new editions of botany text-books.

His marriage is set for August.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 104: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10556

From C. F. Martins   5 July 1876


Richard Gordon’s French translation of Climbing plants [1877] is half printed.

In Martins’ Introduction to [Éd. Barbier’s translation of] Insectivorous plants [1877] he wants to include a complete bibliography of CD’s works: their extent is not generally known in France.

Author:  Charles Frédéric Martins
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 171: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10557

From Andrew Clark   8 July 1876


Directions for diet and exercise, with psychological counsel.

Author:  Andrew Clark, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 210.9: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10558

To Edmund Gurney   8 July 1876


Read EG’s article ["Some disputed points in music", Fortn. Rev. n.s. 20 (1876): 106–30]. Diversity of musical taste in man indicates that it is acquired during individuals’ lives. The origin of the "sense of sublimity".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edmund Gurney
Date:  8 July 1876
Classmark:  LL 3: 186
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10559

To C. F. Claus   9 July 1876


Thanks for copy of Claus’s book, Untersuchungen zur Erforschung der genealogischen Grundlage des Crustaceen-Systems: ein Beitrag zur Descendenzlehre (Studies on the investigation of the genealogical foundation of the Crustacea: a contribution to the theory of descent; Claus 1876).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Friedrich Claus
Date:  9 July 1876
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (1 December 2016)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10559F

To G. H. Darwin   13 July [1876]


All rejoice that J. C. Adams thinks well of GHD’s work and will present his paper to the Royal Society.

Gives news of his other sons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  13 July [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10561

To J.-B. Liagre   18 July 1876


Acknowledges receipt of publications of the Académie royale de Belgique.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean-Baptiste Liagre
Date:  18 July 1876
Classmark:  Académie royale de Belgique (Bibliothèque et Archives)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10561F

To William Ogle   22 July [1876]


Would like to cite WO’s case of bees perforating white but not blue monkshood (Aconitum napellus) in his next book [Cross and self-fertilisation, pp. 427–8]. Believes it is probably sterile if insects are excluded.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  22 July [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 16 (EH 88205914)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10563

From A. R. Wallace   23 July 1876


Responds to CD’s comments and criticism of Geographical distribution.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 106: B126–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10564

From William Ogle   23 July 1876



Recounts his observations on the different ways bees perforate flowers of white and blue varieties of monkshood. [See Cross and self-fertilisation, p 428.]

Author:  William Ogle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 77: 164–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10565

From Wilhelm Breitenbach   26 July 1876


Observations on pollinia of Orchis maculata

and on Primula elatior. [On latter, see Forms of flowers, p. 34.]

Author:  Wilhelm Breitenbach
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 111: B50–4; DAR 160: 290
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10566

From Casimir de Candolle   30 July 1876


Experimenting on climbing plants.

Has no further information on Dionaea.

Author:  Anne Casimir Pyramus (Casimir) de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 July 1876
Classmark:  DAR 161: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10567

To August Müller Beeck   31 July [1876]


CD refuses to send AMB a copy of one of his works. "I did think your request unreasonable, as I have to give from 50 to 100 copies of all my books to those who aid me.––"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  August Müller Beeck
Date:  31 July [1876]
Classmark:  Maggs Brothers (dealers) (19 August 1991)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10567A

To Francis Darwin   [before 22 July 1876]


Asks FD to write on his behalf and say that he is unwilling to join a deputation [on vivisection] and that he believes in the need to protect physiology as well as lower animals.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [before 22 July 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10747
Document type
letter (15)
01 (1)
04 (1)
05 (1)
08 (2)
09 (1)
13 (1)
18 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (2)
26 (1)
30 (1)
31 (1)