skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1876::05 in date [X]
44 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To Nature   6 May [1876]


Reports seeing flowers of wild cherry bitten off in same manner as primroses [see 9418 and 9444]. In this case it was done by a squirrel, though birds also bite the flowers of the cherry-tree.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  6 May [1876]
Classmark:  Nature, 11 May 1876, p. 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10498

To ?   19 May 1876


Sends his autograph.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  19 May 1876
Classmark:  International Autograph Auctions (dealers) (8 June 2013, lot 625)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10510F

To P. P. C. Hoek   [after May 1876]


Thanks for PPCH’s ["Entwicklungsgeschichte der Entomostraken, pt 1: Embryologie von Balanus", Niederl. Arch. Zool. 3 (1876–7): 47–82].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Paulus Peronius Cato Hoek
Date:  [after May 1876]
Classmark:  Artis Library (P.P.C. Hoek Archive: Darwin correspondence)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10334

From William Jackson   [24–8?] May [1876?]


CD’s servant submits estimate for work to be done on pantry.

Author:  William Jackson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [24–8?] May [1876?]
Classmark:  DAR 168: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10487

From Smith, Elder & Co.   1 May 1876


Informs CD which woodblocks of illustrations to the Geology of "Beagle" are in their possession and which are missing.

Author:  Smith, Elder & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1876
Classmark:  CD’s copy of Volcanic islands (CUL, CCA 24.14); tipped in at back
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10488

From Francis Darwin   [1 May 1876]


Good news about Frankland. Expecting burnt earth. Almost finished the Foodbodies Paper on Acacia. He and Amy are learning to use the new printing machine.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 May 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10488F

From G. H. Darwin   1 May 1876


Writes of his "geo-mathematical" work.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10489

To Francis Darwin   [1 May 1876]


Expresses his pride in FD, whose article ["On the structure of the snail’s heart", J. Anat. Physiol. 10 (1876): 506–10] was highly praised by G. H. Lewes.

Lewes has also been quoting FD’s letter in Nature [13 (1876): 384–5] on pycrotoxine in relation to the vivisection controversy.

Was introduced to James Sully, author of the article in Mind on Wilhelm Wundt ["Physiological psychology in Germany", 1 (1876): 20–43]

and Sensation and intuition (1874) [see 10320], by "Mrs Lewes" (George Eliot).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [1 May 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 271.4: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10489A

From Hubert Airy   2 May 1876


On his new paper for Royal Society on a point of leaf arrangement. Asks CD to communicate it and "gives some details of its contents", e.g., recorded observations of changing leaf-order on individual specimens.

Comments on a paper by George Henslow ["Helianthus tuberosus", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 26 (1876): 647].

Author:  Hubert Airy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 159: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10490

From Thomas Laxton   2 May 1876



Responds to CD’s query as to the duration of crossed varieties of peas. [See Cross and self-fertilisation, p. 305.]

Author:  Thomas Laxton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 77: 159–63
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10491

To C. F. Claus   2 May 1876


Thanks CC for dedication [of his Grundlage des Crustaceen-Systems (1876)]. Congratulates CC on completion of work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Friedrich Claus
Date:  2 May 1876
Classmark:  Wiener Neue Freie Presse, 22 April 1882. p. 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10492

From Francis Darwin   2 May 1876


Has read letter from Jemmy. Amy has been practicing on the printing machine. Fritz has come back from the Vicar of Orpington.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10492F

To G. H. Darwin   2 May [1876]


Comments on the reaction of geologists to GHD’s work on elevation of continents.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  2 May [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10493

To A. W. von Hofmann   3 May 1876


Thanks AWvH for his work on Justus Liebig [The life-work of Liebig (1876)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  August Wilhelm von Hofmann
Date:  3 May 1876
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.491)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10494

To Edward Frankland   3 May 1876


His samples of earth have been sent for analysis. EF has saved CD and his son from wasted experimenting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  3 May 1876
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10495A

From Hermann Brehmer   4 May 1876


Encloses article on local immunity to tuberculosis. Has he interpreted CD’s views correctly? Believes the immunity notable in areas like Iceland or mountain areas is due to local conditions, not natural selection. Describes his sanatorium in mountains of Silesia and medical criticism of his work.

Author:  Hermann Brehmer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 160: 287–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10496

To the Geological Society of London   5 May 1876


Asking to borrow three wood blocks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  5 May 1876
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/19/188)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10496F

To Lawson Tait   5 May 1876


CD sends the gist of an extremely negative report from the [Royal Society’s] physiological referee on the value of RLT’s modifications of Brücke’s process for isolating pepsin [see 10470].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  5 May 1876
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10497

From Giovanni Canestrini   6 May 1876


Two parts of the second edition of the Italian translation of Variation are already out.

Expression will soon follow [published in 1878].

The publisher [Unione] asks CD to give him the right of Italian translations of his works.

Author:  Giovanni Canestrini
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 161: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10499

From Moritz Schiff   8 May 1876



Has repeated his observations and experiments used in Insectivorous plants; finds them sound.

Revises his reference to production of pepsin.

Author:  Moritz Schiff
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 86: B8–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10500
Document type
letter (44)
01 (4)
02 (5)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (2)
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (3)
13 (1)
14 (1)
15 (2)
18 (1)
19 (2)
20 (1)
23 (1)
24 (1)
25 (1)
26 (2)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (2)
30 (2)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next