skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1874 in date [X]
633 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  ...  6 7 8 9 10   ...  Next

To T. L. Brunton   30 October 1874

Summary

Discusses expression on two halves of the face. Mentions photograph [of picture by Rubens].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Lauder Brunton, 1st baronet
Date:  30 Oct 1874
Classmark:  DAR 143: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9703

From Auguste Forel   31 October 1874

Summary

Thanks for CD’s favourable opinion of his book [Les fourmis de la Suisse (1874)]. Habits of ants; observations on their carrying empty eggs.

Author:  Auguste-Henri (Auguste) Forel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Oct 1874
Classmark:  DAR 164: 154
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9704

From T. L. Brunton   2 November [1874]

Summary

CD may keep the photograph of "the holy Mary of Egypt". TLB may have been led away by his imagination in thinking that one side of the face expressed repentance and the other devout joy.

Comments on David Ferrier’s observations on electrical stimulation of the brain. Extent of response relates to intensity of stimulus.

Crichton-Browne’s observations on the asymmetry of convolutions on the two sides of the brains of maniacs.

Author:  Thomas Lauder Brunton, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 342
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9705

To John Fiske   3 November [1874]

Summary

Thanks JF for copy of Cosmic philosophy [1874].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Fiske
Date:  3 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (FK 1110-1112)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9706

From John Murray   3 November 1874

Summary

Statement of stock on hand of CD’s works.

Expression, curiously, at a dead stand-still.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Nov 1874
Classmark:  DAR 171: 441
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9707

From G. H. Darwin   [4 November 1874]

Summary

GHD has been using E. Norman [CD’s copyist], and he apologises if this has caused delays to CD’s work.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4 Nov 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 44
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9708

From D. Appleton & Co   [c. 19] November 1874

Summary

Accepts CD’s suggestion of new edition of Descent, and asks that Murray supply the stereotype plates and woodcuts for $50 [dollars or pounds!?], as soon as possible; supply of copies of Descent is exhausted.

Will publish CD’s proposed book [Insectivorous plants (1875)] on same terms as other works.

Author:  D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 19] Nov 1874
Classmark:  DAR 159: 93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9709

To John Murray   5 November [1874]

Summary

Thanks JM for granting his request. Will write to D. Appleton.

CD is sorry about heavy loss from Expression; still thinks the book will sell in the course of years.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  5 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 f. 344)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9710

To G. H. Darwin   [20? August 1874]

Summary

Likes GHD’s article ["Professor Whitney on the origin of language", Contemp. Rev. (1874): 894]. "You have defended me nobly."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [20? Aug 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9711

To G. H. Darwin   5 November [1874]

Summary

Mainly family news.

Eager to read GHD’s political economy MS "though Heaven knows whether I shall understand it".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  5 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9712

To D. Appleton & Co.   5 November 1874

Summary

Has just had printed a new edition of Descent [1874] and is anxious that this improved version be circulated in America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  D. Appleton & Co
Date:  5 Nov 1874
Classmark:  DAR 97: C63–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9713

To W. J. Beal   9 November 1874

Summary

Thanks WJB for his reference [see 9691]. Is curious fact that the humble bees did not use the pollen, but the hive bees did.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William James Beal
Date:  9 Nov 1874
Classmark:  Sarah Baker Topper (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9713F

From F. E. Nipher   10 November 1874

Summary

Cites examples of the inheritance of maternal impressions.

Author:  Francis Eugene Nipher
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Nov 1874
Classmark:  DAR 172: 69
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9714

To J. F. McLennan   10 November [1874]

Summary

Will send Alexis Giraud-Teulon’s book [Origines de la famille (1874)], which he has received but not read, if JFM cares to read it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Ferguson McLennan
Date:  10 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  R. F. Batchelder (dealer), Catalogue 44 (n.d.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9715

From Herbert Spencer   11 November 1874

Summary

Wishes to know where, in his works, CD refers to some particular behaviour in dogs.

Mentions the sensitivity of cirripedes to passing shadows.

Author:  Herbert Spencer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Nov 1874
Classmark:  DAR 177: 233
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9716

To W. G. Kemp   11 November [1874]

Summary

Responds to the correspondent's comments on natural selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Walter Gustav Kemp
Date:  11 Nov [1874]
Classmark:  West Berkshire Museum, Newbury (1986_63_1_1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9716F

From F. C. Donders   12 July 1874

thumbnail

Summary

On hearing of CD’s work with Drosera, tells of his experiment showing extreme sensitivity of the iris of a dog’s eye to atropine. [See Insectivorous plants, p. 173.]

Author:  Frans Cornelis (Franciscus Cornelius) Donders
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 July 1874
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 79–80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9545

To John Ralfs   13 July [1874]

Summary

Discusses specimens of Utricularia.

Mentions JR’s work on desmids [The British Desmidieae [Desmidiae!?] (1848)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Ralfs
Date:  13 July [1874]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.443)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9546

To F. C. Donders   15 July 1874

Summary

Discusses effect of atropine solution on eye,

and effect of phosphate of ammonia solution on gland of Drosera.

Would like to see work by T. W. Engelmann and possibly one by Dr De Ruyter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frans Cornelis (Franciscus Cornelius) Donders
Date:  15 July 1874
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9547

From J. D. Hooker   15 July 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Asks what can be the meaning of appendages to tips of leaflets of enclosed Acacia or Mimosa.

Is at fibrin today.

Michael Foster suggests coagulation of protoplasm may be diseased, not digestive, symptom.

F. M. Balfour is at Kew today.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July 1874
Classmark:  DAR 103: 206–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9548
Document type
letter (633)
Date
1874
01 (49)
02 (64)
03 (60)
04 (64)
05 (48)
06 (54)
07 (59)
08 (37)
09 (56)
10 (39)
11 (41)
12 (62)
Page: Prev  ...  6 7 8 9 10   ...  Next
letter