skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1874 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
306 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From ?   13 September 1874

Summary

An anonymous letter praising the Origin.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Sept 1874
Classmark:  DAR 159: 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9635

From E. T. S.   [23–30 April 1874]

Summary

Cancelled: third-party letter from ’ETS’.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23-30 Apr 1874]
Classmark:  Nature, 30 April 1874, p. 509
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9425J

From ?   [after 14 January 1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Extract from the Honolulu Gazette on the decreasing population of the Sandwich Islands.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 14 Jan 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 89: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8794

From J. D. Hooker   [26 December 1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Has gone over Huxley’s letter, thinks it a model. All must now await developments. If Mivart does not apologise, JDH will write to him.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26 Dec 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 241–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9780

From D. F. Nevill   26 [December 1874]

Summary

Would like to know the results of CD’s Utricularia experiments.

A Brazilian love-bird, escaped from captivity, has been found in a robin’s nest, apparently starved to death along with three young robins.

Author:  Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 [Dec 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 172: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9782

From John Tyndall   28 December 1874

Summary

JT had not known Lady Lubbock was ill. Will try to persuade her [to change physicians]. Agrees Andrew Clark is best.

Hooker has survived his crisis [death of his wife].

St G. J. Mivart’s act is a natural outflow of his character.

Author:  John Tyndall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Dec 1874
Classmark:  DAR 106: C17–18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9787

From J. D. Hooker   29 December 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Explains that his letter had to do with how he should act publicly to Mivart if he retracted. He would not forgive him. If he does not retract, it would no longer be possible to keep him Secretary of the Linnean Society.

Drosophyllum will be sent when weather permits.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Dec 1874
Classmark:  DAR 103: 243–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9788

From John Murray   12 August 1874

Summary

Acknowledges CD’s complaint against a paper [by St George Mivart] in the last Quarterly Review [see 9568]. Agrees to print George Darwin’s answer [see 9596].

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Aug 1874
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 41914 p. 203)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9599A

From D. T. Gardner   13 August 1874

Summary

The Club is proposing to celebrate Humboldt’s 105th birthday and would welcome a message from CD.

Author:  Daniel T. Gardner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Aug 1874
Classmark:  DAR 97: C75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9600

From J. D. Hooker   17 August 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Describes his work on Nepenthes.

Cephalotus is a beast.

His address is a history of Dionaea, Sarracenia, and Drosera.

Thiselton-Dyer has helped enormously except with the observations; but his health is so poor that JDH thinks he is "evidently cut out for a Literate not a working botanist".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 Aug 1874
Classmark:  DAR 103: 214–18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9602

From A. V. W. Bikkers   27 August 1874

Summary

Reports on a crossbreed between a duck and a fowl, having duck’s beak, partly webbed feet, and fowl’s feathers.

Author:  Alexander V. W Bikkers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Aug 1874
Classmark:  DAR 160: 184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9608

From J. A. Gammie   28 August 1874

Summary

Sends his observations on the method of fertilisation of Hedychium coronarium by Sphinx and other hawk-moths.

Author:  James Alexander Gammie
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Aug 1874
Classmark:  DAR 165: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9609

From J. D. Hooker   [29 August 1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Lady Dorothy Nevill is CD’s best chance for Dionaea.

Reports on Belfast meeting of BAAS. Lubbock’s lecture went off admirably. Huxley’s was the magnum opus.

Encloses letter from Mrs Barber on protective coloration of animals.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [29 Aug 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 219–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9610

From Henryk Stecki   29 August 1874

Summary

Reports observations on a chicken with a human face.

Author:  Henryk Stecki
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Aug 1874
Classmark:  DAR 177: 252
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9611

From W. C. Marshall   30 August [1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Sends CD a box of Pinguicula leaves.

Author:  William Cecil (Bill) Marshall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Aug [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 125–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9612

From J. D. Hooker   [after 4 September 1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Forwards a letter reporting on a blow-fly trapped by a leaf of Dionaea; decomposition of fly has also decomposed the leaf. JDH has written asking for a strong plant, and explaining the case [of surfeit].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 4 Sept 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 222–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9615

From Theodosia Marshall   [September 1874]

Summary

Sends count of remains on Pinguicula leaves.

Author:  Theodosia Louisa Marshall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Sept 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 124
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9616

From James Ross   September 1874

Summary

Sends his book [On protoplasm (1874)], which defends CD’s theory.

Suggests why the lips are closed and the teeth clenched in the expression of determination: it originated as a means of protecting jaw-bone and teeth against a strong blow.

Author:  James Ross
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Sept 1874
Classmark:  DAR 176: 217
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9617

From Charles Lyell   1 September 1874

Summary

Comments on Tyndall’s [Presidential] Address at Belfast meeting [of BAAS] and praise of CD’s work there. Mentions criticism of Belfast clergy.

CL saw some crustacean footprints while in Ireland.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept 1874
Classmark:  K. M. Lyell ed. 1881, 2: 445–6; Kinnordy MS (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9619

From D F. Nevill   2 September [1874]

Summary

Hooker has told her of CD’s work on insectivorous plants. Offers plants, but her Dionaea plants are too small now.

Author:  Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Sept [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 172: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9620
Document type
letter (306)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1874
01 (25)
02 (42)
03 (23)
04 (29)
05 (22)
06 (27)
07 (28)
08 (19)
09 (31)
10 (18)
11 (18)
12 (24)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter