skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1874::04 in date [X]
64 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To ?   12 April 1874


Thanks an unknown correspondent for the 4th edition of his 'remarkable work'.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  12 Apr 1874
Classmark:  Enns Entomology Museum, University of Missouri
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9405F

To Nature   18 April [1874]


CD has observed hundreds of primrose flowers cut off their stalks, and conjectures that this was done by birds to obtain the nectar. Asks readers of Nature in England and abroad whether primroses are subject to such destruction in their localities.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  18 Apr [1874]
Classmark:  Nature, 23 April 1874, p. 482
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9418

From E. T. S.   [23–30 April 1874]


Cancelled: third-party letter from ’ETS’.

Author:  Unidentified
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [23-30 Apr 1874]
Classmark:  Nature, 30 April 1874, p. 509
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9425J

To Nature   6 April [1874]


Comments on J. T. Moggridge’s article on the fertilisation of Fumaria capreolata [Nature 9 (1874): 423].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  6 Apr [1874]
Classmark:  Nature, 16 April 1874, p. 460
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9393

To A. C. H. Gordon   April 1874


Petition to protect gigantic tortoises on the Mascarene.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arthur Charles Hamilton Gordon, 1st Baron Stanmore
Date:  Apr 1874
Classmark:  Transactions of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences of Mauritius n.s. 8 (1875): 106–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9382F

From T. G. Appleton   2 April 1874


Sends old Japanese picture suggesting evolution, found by Charles Longfellow.

Is pleased to hear CD attended a séance [18 Jan 1874]; asks for his views about communication among spirits.

Author:  Thomas Gold Appleton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 159: 113
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9385

From John Lubbock    2 April 1874


Is willing to sell the land CD wants for £300.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 198: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9385F

To John Lubbock   3 April 1874


Thanks for JL’s willingness to sell land.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  3 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 261.7: 9 (EH 88205934)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9386

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   4 April 1874


Wants some plants for observation and for experimentation on their powers of movement.

Asks WTT-D to make observations on plants with sensitive stamens or pistil.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  4 Apr 1874
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 5–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9387

To John Murray   4 April 1874


Has finished corrections for 2d edition of Descent – "as hard work as I have ever had in my life". Estimates it is 40 pages longer than 1st edition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  4 Apr 1874
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 350–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9388

To W. B. Tegetmeier   [before 5 April 1874]


Subscribes to a reprint of Pieter Boddaert’s Table des planches enluminéez d’histoire naturelle [check ‘éez’!?] [1874].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  [before 5 Apr 1874]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.458)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9389

To W. B. Tegetmeier   5 April 1874


Many thanks for Boddaert [see 9389].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  5 Apr 1874
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9390

From J. V. Carus   5 April 1874


Hopes to visit CD during a stay in London.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 161: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9391

From W. W. Reade   6 April [1874]


Just back from Gold Coast.

Would like to become a member of the Royal Institution.

Author:  William Winwood Reade
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Apr [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 176: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9392

From Anton Dohrn   6 April 1874


His gratitude for CD’s gift. An account of his difficulties with the Zoological Station and his health.

F. M. Balfour has told him that CD would like to see the question of complemental males in cirripedes studied again. AD would like to enter the field and to study the whole morphological development of cirripedes.

Describes the interest in embryological work in Russia and Germany.

Author:  Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 162: 214
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9394

To J. D. Hooker   7 [April 1874]



C. V. Riley’s case of Pronuba moth and the fertilisation of Yucca, is the most wonderful case of fertilisation ever published [Am. Nat. 7 (1873): 619–23].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  7 [Apr 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 321
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9395

From Michael Foster   7 April [1874]


Is organising an appeal for the Naples Zoological Station.

Author:  Michael Foster
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Apr [1874]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 165
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9396

From Henry Cecil   9 April 1874


Has just read Journal of researches and has been charmed out of his anti-Darwinian prejudice.

Author:  Henry Cecil
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 161: 128
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9399

To T. H. Farrer   10 April 1874


Delighted to hear about Coronilla. Urges publication ["Fertilisation of papilionaceous flowers– Coronilla", Nature 10 (1874): 169–70].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Date:  10 Apr 1874
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9400

From Berry Benson   10 April 1874


Supplies evidence to the contrary of CD’s assertion in Expression that dogs do not eat carrion.

Offers to send mud-wasps.

Author:  Berry Benson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 160: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9401
Document type
letter (64)
01 (1)
02 (2)
03 (1)
04 (3)
05 (3)
06 (3)
07 (3)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (5)
12 (4)
13 (3)
14 (1)
15 (2)
16 (3)
17 (1)
18 (3)
19 (2)
20 (3)
21 (2)
22 (1)
23 (2)
24 (1)
25 (2)
26 (3)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (2)
30 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next