skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1874::02 in date [X]
64 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

To Nature   11 February [1874]

Summary

Prefaces Fritz Müller’s observations on termites and stingless bees [see 9281].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  11 Feb [1874]
Classmark:  Nature, 19 February 1874, pp. 308–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9283

To Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen   18 February 1874

Summary

Thanks for HHHvZ’s translation of Expression. CD will have HHHvZ’s notes translated by one of his sons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen
Date:  18 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 249: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9321

From T. L. Brunton   28 February 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Reports negative results of his experiments on digestion of chlorophyll by Drosera and by animals. [See Insectivorous plants, p. 126.]

Sends references for chondrin.

Author:  Thomas Lauder Brunton, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 47–8, DAR 160: 340
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9322

From Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen   28 February 1874

Summary

CD’s son is considering translating into English HHHvZ’s notes in Dutch edition of Expression; HHHvZ feels his notes to Descent would be of more interest.

Author:  Hermanus Hartogh Heijs van Zouteveen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 184: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9323

From P. F. Perfil’eva   22 February 1874

Summary

Asks for CD’s photograph.

Author:  Perfil’eva, P. F.
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 174: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9337

To C. S. Tomes   16 February [1874]

Summary

Thanks for facts on inheritance

Thinks CST’s paper (C. S. Tomes 1874) about the enamel on the teeth of the armadillo is most remarkable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Sissmore Tomes
Date:  16 Feb [1874]
Classmark:  Andrusier Autographs (dealer) (Spring 2013)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8216F

From Leonard Darwin   [after 14 February 1874]

thumbnail

Summary

Statistics showing rate of decline of population in Sandwich Islands, 1832–72.

Author:  Leonard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 14 Feb 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 90: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8709

From C. S. Tomes   [before 16 February 1874]

Summary

Inherited dental abnormalities in man. [Enclosed are proofs of pp. 113–16 from J. Tomes, A system of dental surgery, 2d ed. (1873).]

Author:  Charles Sissmore Tomes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 16 Feb 1874]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9195

From D. Appleton & Co.   1 February 1874

Summary

Statement of U. S. sales of Origin, Expression, and Descent.

Author:  D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 159: A92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9261

From K. S. Sievert   1 February 1874

Summary

Thanks CD for copy of Examiner.

Fear of communism is making CD’s theory popular among possessing classes.

Describes reception of Lyell’s Antiquity of man among German country people.

Author:  Karl Siegwart Sievert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 177: 161
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9262

From George Cupples   3 February 1874

thumbnail

Summary

Responds to CD’s queries about breeders’ practices in destroying and saving males or females in litters of deerhounds.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 90: 85–90
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9263

From J. F. McLennan   3 February 1874

Summary

Discusses the evolution of marriage systems; considers the scheme of development CD proposes: 1. Polygyny and monogamy; 2. Polyandry; 3. Promiscuity; 4. Polygyny and monogamy in recurrence. Explains what he understands by promiscuity. JFM believes that polygyny, monogamy, and polyandry must have occurred in "every district from the first, and grown up together into systems sanctioned by usage first and then law". Considers polygyny necessarily the privilege of the few and, as a system, believes it had less to do than any other with the history of marriage. He sees polyandry as an advance from promiscuity and the stage at which contractual obligations between men and their wives begin.

Author:  John Ferguson McLennan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Feb 1874
Classmark:  McLennan 1896, pp. 50–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9264

From C.-F. Reinwald   4 February 1874

Summary

Sends £40 for copyright to Édmond Barbier’s revision of Moulinié’s Descent translation.

Journal of researches translation is in press.

Author:  Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 176: 102
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9265

To W. B. Tegetmeier   5 February 1874

Summary

Do breeders rear more male than female greyhound puppies?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  5 Feb 1874
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9266

To H. W. Bates   6 February 1874

Summary

Orders five works on the Sandwich Islands from the Royal Geographical Society Library for his investigation of infanticide and population trends there.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  6 Feb 1874
Classmark:  Royal Geographical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9267

From G. H. Darwin   6 February 1874

Summary

Finds statistical evidence that cousin marriages are at least three times as frequent in "our rank" as in the lower.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9268

From J. C. Symmes   6 February 1874

Summary

Believes that he has an important physical theory: all atoms revolve.

Author:  John Cleves Symmes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 177: 339
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9269

From E. A. Darwin   7 February [1874?]

Summary

George brought a plant from Cambridge, which he is keeping for CD.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb [1874?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B93
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9270

From O. G. Rejlander   7 February 1874

Summary

Thanks CD for £10 to help with his law case.

Author:  Oscar Gustaf Rejlander
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 176: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9272

From B. J. Sulivan   7 February 1874

Summary

The Bishop of Falkland [Waite Hockin Stirling] is coming to visit BJS, who will question him for CD.

Discusses politics; regrets they have been badly beaten by the Tory candidate.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1874
Classmark:  DAR 177: 300
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9273
Document type
letter (64)
Date
1874
02
01 (2)
03 (2)
04 (1)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (6)
08 (1)
09 (1)
10 (1)
11 (2)
12 (4)
13 (2)
14 (3)
15 (1)
16 (7)
17 (3)
18 (3)
19 (1)
20 (4)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (4)
25 (2)
26 (3)
27 (3)
28 (2)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next
letter