skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1873::08 in date [X]
49 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To C. J. Plumptre   19 August [1873?]


Agrees François Delsarte’s view [that the eyes do not show emotion, only indicate the object of it], is probably wrong.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles John Plumptre
Date:  19 Aug [1873?]
Classmark:  Plumptre 1876, pp. 224–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10581F

From C. L. Brace   [August? 1873]


Reports that the ability to move ears is common among the Sioux.

Author:  Charles Loring Brace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Aug? 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 273 (fragile letters)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8717

From F. J. Wedgwood   [August–September? 1873]



Notes criticising Max Müller’s views on language and Darwinism.

Author:  Frances Julia (Snow) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Aug–Sept? 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 87: 87–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8994

From Thomas Belt   2 August 1873


Sends extracts, from his forthcoming book [The naturalist in Nicaragua (1874)], about the secretion by plants of honey to attract the protection of ants. Invites CD’s comments.

Author:  Thomas Belt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 128
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8995

To J. V. Carus   2 August [1873]


Regrets he cannot receive JVC at Down on Monday as he would then be too unwell to travel on Tuesday, when he must leave for a visit [to Abinger Hall, according to the Journal].

Has been working hard on Drosera and Dionaea. His next book will be on these plants and not, as he had intended, "On evil effects of Inter breeding".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  2 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin–Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859 Charles, Darwin, Bl. 106–107)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8996

To G. H. Darwin   2 August [1873]


Thinks highly of GHD’s article [probably "On beneficial restrictions to liberty of marriage", Contemp. Rev. 22 (1873): 412–26]. A good omen for the future.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  2 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8997

To Thomas Belt   [7 August 1873]


Discusses utility of plant secretions to ants.

Will read TB’s book when published [The naturalist in Nicaragua (1874)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Belt
Date:  [7 Aug 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8998

From J. D. Hooker   3 August 1873



Returned last night. Huxley, left at Baden Baden, remarkably well.

Would like to come to Down with Strachey.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 103: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8999

To J. D. Hooker   4 August [1873]


Starts tomorrow for visit to Farrer and Effie [Euphemia Farrer, daughter of Hensleigh Wedgwood]. Has not done such a feat [i.e., staying as a guest of someone outside the immediate family?] for 25 years.

Has been half killing himself with Drosera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  4 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 268–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9000

From J. O. W. Haweis   8 August [1873]


On inheritance of gesture.

Author:  John Oliver Willyams Haweis
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9001

From Gerard Krefft   8 August 1873


Sends paper to be published in Sydney Mail on primitive man.

Sends lists of earth [castings] made by worms [see Earthworms, p. 127],

and a catalogue of Australian Lepidoptera.

Author:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 169: 119
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9002

To T. H. Farrer   10 August [1873]


Asks THF to examine old flowers of Coronilla for holes bored by bees.

Is investigating whether drops of water injure leaves.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Date:  10 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/20)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9003

To Frank Chance   10 August [1873]



Thanks [FC] for his letter concerning a pony changing colour during the winter,

and remarks on the erection of human body hair, goose-skin, and the influence of colour and temperature on skin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frank Chance
Date:  10 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9003F

From Raphael Meldola   11 August 1873


Encloses a copy of his paper on mimicry [Proc. Zool. Soc. Lond. (1873): 153–61].

Asks whether large variations are more often limited to one sex than slight ones.

Author:  Raphael Meldola
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9004

From T. H. Farrer   12 August 1873


Observations on effect of water on leaves.


Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 164: 75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9005

From T. H. Farrer   12 August [1873]


Further observations concerning the fertilisation of Coronilla by bees.

Reflections concerning the influence of cultivation (i.e., ploughing) upon variation.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 76a–76b
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9005A

To Mary Treat   12 August 1873


Thanks MT for information on Drosera filiformis [see 8989].

Warns her against publishing statement about Drosera bending towards flies or meat that they have not touched.

Will send his book [Insectivorous plants] when published.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Lua Adelia (Mary) Treat
Date:  12 Aug 1873
Classmark:  Vineland Historical and Antiquarian Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9005B

To Raphael Meldola   13 August [1873]


Thanks RM for his paper on mimicry.

Cannot answer RM’s query because he believes it impossible to define large variations.

Believes monstrosities are generally injurious and are not often, if ever, taken advantage of in nature.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Raphael Meldola
Date:  13 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum of Natural History (Hope Entomological Collections 1350: Hope/Westwood Archive, Darwin folder)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9006

To J. D. Hooker   13 August 1873


Asks JDH why so many plants are protected by a thin layer of waxy matter or with fine hairs.

Wrote to John Smith for a plant of Oxalis sensitiva, but it has not acted well.

Rejoices over Ayrton’s retirement. Hopes W. P. Adam, his successor, is a good sort of man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  13 Aug 1873
Classmark:  DAR 94: 270–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9007

From J. S. Burdon Sanderson   13 August [1873]



Answers CD’s questions of 25 July [8987] about temperatures at which cold-blooded animals are killed.

Doubts heat rigor was induced in Drosera. Gives his view of the relation of excitability to increase in temperature.

Suggests experiment to show that electrical changes in plant are the same as in animal muscle and nerve [see Insectivorous plants, p. 318].

Author:  John Scott Burdon Sanderson, baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Aug [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 34–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9008
Document type
letter (49)
01 (2)
02 (3)
03 (1)
04 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
10 (2)
11 (1)
12 (3)
13 (4)
14 (3)
15 (2)
16 (1)
18 (1)
19 (2)
21 (3)
22 (4)
25 (5)
27 (2)
29 (2)
30 (3)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next