skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1873::05 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
27 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From George Hookham   6 May [1873]

Summary

A fact on expression: sheep do use hoofs in fighting.

Author:  George Hookham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May [1873]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 266
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7742

From William Ogle   [after 5 May 1873]

Summary

Thanks for reference to Hermann Müller’s book on fertilisation [Befruchtung der Blumen (1873)].

Author:  William Ogle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [5–11 May 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 173: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8705

From Francis Galton   [before 28 May 1873]

Summary

Collecting information about antecedents of eminent men of science. Sends questionnaire.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 28 May 1873]
Classmark:  Pearson 1914–30, 2: 177–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8889

From J. V. Carus   [before 8 May 1873]

Summary

Publisher [Schweizerbart] has seen CD’s new book advertised [Cross and self-fertilisation] and wishes to publish a German translation of it.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 8 May 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8890

From George Cupples   1 May 1873

Summary

Missed hostile review of Expression in Edinburgh Review. Agrees it might be by J. H. Stirling [see 8935], who has written in a deplorably polemical style on Huxley and Sir William Hamilton.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 161: 298
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8891

From Gerard Krefft   3 May 1873

Summary

Suggests hopping lizards may show the connection between reptiles and birds as proposed by Huxley.

Author:  Johann Louis Gerard (Gerard) Krefft
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 169: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8895

From T. H. Farrer   3 May 1873

Summary

Hopes affairs will enable him to get back to flowers.

Huxley’s letter [about the fund raised for him] was noble. Would like to have seen CD’s to him.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 164: 74
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8896

From K. E. von Baer   5 May 1873

Summary

Has been told CD wants photo of him; sends one. Requests a portrait photo of CD for his album. KEvB apologises for his English and his shaky hand; he is 88 years old.

Author:  Karl Ernst von Baer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8900

From W. F. Barrett   6 May 1873

Summary

Because of current interest in hereditary instinct, relates incident about a baby alligator, just emerged from its shell, attempting to bite a human.

Author:  William Fletcher Barrett
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 46
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8902

From A. W. Bennett   8 May 1873

Summary

Thanks for reference to Hermann Müller on fertilisation [Die Befruchtung der Blumen (1873)].

Publication plans.

Author:  Alfred William Bennett
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 160: 140
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8905

From Hermann Müller   19 May 1873

Summary

Praises Expression.

Reports on Fritz Müller’s observations of cross- and self-fertilisation. HM will cultivate the two forms [i.e., mainly self-fertilised and mainly cross-fertilised] in the way CD has described.

He continues his observation of wild flowers. Encloses drawing of Viola tricolor with notes on its self-fertility.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 76: B181–2, DAR 77: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8907

From S. J. Pozzi   11 May 1873

Summary

French translation of Expression [1874].

Author:  Samuel Jean Pozzi
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 174: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8908

From Hermann Müller   12 May 1873

Summary

Thanks for CD’s praise of his book [see 8901].

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 300
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8909

From Ludwik Masłowski   14 May 1873

Summary

Requests permission to translate Descent into Polish.

Author:  Ludwik Masłowski
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 171: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8910

From C.-F. Reinwald   14 May 1873

Summary

Samuel Pozzi’s translation of Expression progressing slowly.

J. J. Moulinié’s translation of Descent is stylistically poor, which may account for low sales.

Difficult to find European naturalists to translate CD’s works. They would rather write books on "Darwinisme" under their own names.

Author:  Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 176: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8911

From W. W. Reade   14 May 1873

Summary

Has completed his book [The African sketch-book (1873)].

Author:  William Winwood Reade
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 176: 67
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8912

From V. O. Kovalevsky   17 May 1873

Summary

Wishes to dedicate his memoir ["Monographie der Gattung Anthracotherium", Paleontographica 22 (1876): 131–347] to CD as founder of evolutionary theory.

Author:  Vladimir Onufrievich Kovalevsky (Владимир Онуфриевич Ковалевский)
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 169: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8914

From Arthur Russell   19 May 1873

Summary

In Variation CD claims there are no distinct races of carp, but AR says that in Germany a peculiar and constant variety of carp has been bred.

Author:  Arthur John Edward (Arthur) Russell, Lord Arthur Russell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 176: 226
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8915

From Arthur Mostyn-Owen   21 May 1873

Summary

Offers to exchange a water-colour portrait of CD, done, he believes, by Fanny Biddulph, for a copy of Descent.

There has been a decrease of game-birds in the area.

Author:  Arthur Mostyn Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 173: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8917

From Friedrich Hildebrand   23 May 1873

thumbnail

Summary

Sends results of his observations of cross- and self-fertilisation of Hypecoum grandiflorum and Eschscholzia californica [see Cross and self-fertilisation, pp. 331–2].

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 May 1873
Classmark:  DAR 76: B179–80
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8920
Document type
letter (27)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1873
05
01 (1)
03 (2)
05 (2)
06 (2)
08 (2)
11 (1)
12 (1)
14 (3)
17 (1)
19 (2)
21 (1)
23 (1)
25 (2)
27 (1)
28 (3)
29 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter