skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1871 in date [X]
804 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From J. V. Carus   20 November 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Horns of castrated merino rams remain almost undeveloped.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 88: 117–118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8077

From R. O. Jones   20 November 1871

thumbnail

Summary

The horns of castrated male lambs compared with horns of ewes. [See Descent, 2d ed., p. 506.]

Author:  Robert Owen Jones
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 88: 119–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8078

From S. R. S. Norton   20 November [1871]

Summary

Sends CD a German pamphlet, "War Goethe ein Darwinianer?"

Author:  Susan Ridley Sedgwick Norton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Nov [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 172: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8079

From Francis Galton   21 November 1871

Summary

Asks that the rabbits CD has kept be sent to him; will continue [transfusion] experiments on rats, but using larger [surgical] connection.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 105: A35–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8080

From W. E. Darwin   22 November 1871

Summary

Sends back proofs. Praises CD for calm treatment of Mivart. Looks at duck’s mouth. Asks whether CD has seen Snow’s article in the Spectator.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Nov 1871
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8080F

From David Forbes   22 November [1871]

Summary

Effect of turf covering on the disintegration of rocks. Weathering of rock; relative importance of different agents with different rocks.

Author:  David Forbes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Nov [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8081

To Federico Delpino   22 November 1871

Summary

Will send FD’s work [Studi sopra un lignaggio anemofilo delle composte (1871)] to Nature for review.

CD’s health has been poor all summer – he doubts that he will ever "have the strength to publish on Variability under a state of Nature".

Hopes to publish on cross- and self-fertilisation next summer.

Encloses his photo and asks for FD’s.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Federico Delpino
Date:  22 Nov 1871
Classmark:  Anna Barone (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8082

To S. R. S. Norton   23 November [1871]

Summary

Reports how his sons enjoyed their trip to America.

Is glad SRSN is settled in Dresden.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Ridley Sedgwick Norton
Date:  23 Nov [1871]
Classmark:  Houghton Library Harvard University (Charles Eliot Norton Papers, MS Am 1088.14: 1594)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8083

From George Busk   24 November 1871

Summary

Thanks for information on platycnemic tibiae found in America. Believes the condition is of two kinds as exemplified by Gibraltar and Cro-Magnon tibiae on one side and the Welsh form on the other. Would like to know which of the two forms the American bones are; their proportions suggest they are very like the Welsh tibiae.

Author:  George Busk
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 385
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8084

From Francis Galton   24 November 1871

Summary

Going to Down to see the "most curious" results.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 105: 37–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8085

From E. S. Foster   25 November 1871

Summary

Offers to provide information on the habits of the animals of northern New York and Canada.

Author:  E. Sowden Foster
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 164: 161
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8086

To Henry Lee   26 November 1871

Summary

Thanks HL for his kind note, the interesting notice, & the photograph.

He has made a mistake about the Lepas. It is the L. australis that is confined to the S. Hemisphere. L. hillii is found all over the world. Refers HL to Living Cirripedia [1851].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Lee
Date:  26 Nov 1871
Classmark:  Kenneth W. Rendell (dealer) (1990)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8086A

To J. D. Hooker   28 November [1871]

thumbnail

Summary

CD is considering repeating experiments on melastomads in which different pollen sizes produced differing seedling sizes.

Responds to JDH’s query on differences in pollen within the same species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  28 Nov [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 95: 445–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8087

From K. T. E. von Siebold   29 November 1871

Summary

Thanks CD for copies of the Origin and Cirripedia;

sends his latest publication in return [Beiträge zur Parthenogenesis der Arthropoden (1871)]. Discusses his work on parthenogenesis which, he believes, is a case of atavism.

Author:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Nov 1871
Classmark:  DAR 177: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8088

From Francis Galton   2 December 1871

Summary

The rabbits arrived safely.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 105: A39
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8090

To E. S. Morse   3 December 1871

Summary

Obliged for ESM’s article ["On adaptive coloration of the Mollusca", Proc. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. 14 (1870–1): 141–5]. Glad to have error corrected about protective colouring of shells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Sylvester Morse
Date:  3 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Peabody Essex Museum: Phillips Library (E. S. Morse Papers, E 2, Box 3, Folder 11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8092

To G. A. Eisen   3 December 1871

Summary

Thanks GAE for memoir on earthworms [Bidrag till Skandinaviens Oligochaetfauna (1871)]. CD by chance is just now observing "one little point in their habits". Will be happy to learn something about the places frequented by the various species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gustavus Augustus Eisen
Date:  3 Dec 1871
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. Manuscripts and Archives Division. (Miscellaneous papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8093

From Ulrich Kirchenpauer   4 December 1871

Summary

Wishes to have CD’s autograph.

Author:  Ulrich Kirchenpauer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 201: 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8094

To K. T. E. von Siebold   4 December 1871

Summary

Thanks for the letter, photograph, and kind words about CD’s scientific work. [See 8088.]

CTEvS’s view of pseudova is new to CD;

he has not yet received the recent work on parthenogenesis

though he did receive the memoir on Polistes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Date:  4 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Museo Nacional de Etnología, Madrid (FD4472)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8094A

To J. J. Moulinié   5 December 1871

Summary

Sends corrections for new French edition of Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66 ff. 24–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8095
Document type
letter (804)
Date
1871
01 (57)
02 (66)
03 (135)
04 (97)
05 (59)
06 (53)
07 (53)
08 (36)
09 (63)
10 (64)
11 (67)
12 (54)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter