skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1871 in date [X]
804 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To W. B. Tegetmeier   4 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks for gift of WBT’s book [Pheasants for coverts and aviaries (1873)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  4 July [1871]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8963

From M. C. Stanley   [16 November 1871]

Summary

W. Crookes’s article ["Enquiry into phenomena called spiritual", Q. J. Sci. n.s. 4 (1874): 77–97] "staggers" her. Would like to know CD’s opinion.

Author:  Mary Catherine Stanley, countess of Derby
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [16 Nov 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9208

To M. C. Stanley   [18 November 1871]

Summary

Much perplexed by W. Crookes’s article. He can neither disbelieve nor believe. Article has removed some of his difficulty in that the supposed power is not an anomaly. Hopes men such as G. G. Stokes will be induced to witness Crookes’s experiments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Catherine Stanley, countess of Derby
Date:  [18 Nov 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 384
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9209

To John Murray   [1 March 1871]

Summary

Discusses new edition of Descent.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  [1 Mar 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 437
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9237

To [W. W. Baxter?]   [early July 1871]

Summary

Orders nitrate of ammonia for experiment on plants.

Are measuring glasses accurate?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter
Date:  [early July 1871]
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9524

To Paul Broca   [after 9 December 1871]

Summary

Requests that PB express his thanks to the Société d’Anthropologie de Paris for the honour conferred upon him [see 8102].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Pierre Paul (Paul) Broca
Date:  [after 9 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 111
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8103

From F. W. C. Simmons   10 December 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Maoris of New Zealand admire beards, contrary to statement in Descent [2: 349].

Author:  Frank Walter Churchill Simmons
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 89: 185–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8104

From Hubert Airy   12 December 1871

Summary

Thanks for letter and reference to Nägeli’s observations on leaf arrangement in the bud.

Author:  Hubert Airy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 159: 14b (fragile, damaged)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8105

To J. D. Hooker   15 [December 1871]

Summary

Will be in London until 21st. Would rejoice if JDH could come to lunch during their stay.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 213
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8106

To Horace Darwin   [15 December 1871]

thumbnail

Summary

Congratulates Horace on passing his "Little Go".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Darwin
Date:  [15 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8107

From Louis Bouton   15 December 1871

Summary

Pleased to hear from CD. Sends more facts about the life and habits of the inhabitants of the Seychelles.

Author:  Louis Sulpice (Louis) Bouton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 260
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8107A

From J. D. Hooker   [17 December 1871]

thumbnail

Summary

Cannot come to lunch to meet Sir Henry Holland. Holland may have seen Robert Lowe [Lord Sherbrooke] already. Will CD let him know his views?

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8108

To Henry Lee   17 December [1871]

Summary

Apologises for expressing himself stupidly [see 8086a]. He did not mean to give an opinion on what the species was, but merely referred to the range of L. australis. CD will look at specimens, but "the subject has gone much out of my mind; & my health is so weak, & I am so overwhelmed with proof-sheets & other work" that he hopes to be excused if he does not investigate the specimens closely.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Lee
Date:  17 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  Walter R. Benjamin, May 1988
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8108A

To J. D. Hooker   [18 December 1871]

Summary

H. Holland keeps strongly to the opinion that Kew be under the Treasury, and will recommend this to Lowe.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [18 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 214–15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8109

To F. E. E. Wedgwood   19 December [1871]

Summary

Asks FW to thank F. P. Cobbe for her liberal offer, but the differences [between Descent and Cobbe’s review "Darwinism in morals", Theol. Rev. 33 (1871): 167–92] are too fundamental to be reconciled.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frances Emma Elizabeth (Fanny) Wedgwood
Date:  19 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (CB 387)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8110

To A. D. Bartlett   19 December [1871]

Summary

Can ADB allow T. W. Wood to sketch one of his dogs in hostile and friendly positions?

Do elephants in the Zoological Gardens carry tails aloft when excited?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Abraham Dee Bartlett
Date:  19 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8111

To Archibald Geikie   20 December [1871]

Summary

Asks to borrow AG’s paper on denudation of flat or nearly flat surfaces ["On modern denudation", Trans. Geol. Soc. of Glasgow 3: 153-90]. CD has recently been making some observations he thinks throw a little light on the subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Archibald Geikie
Date:  20 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Gen.1425/71)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8112

From Mary Treat   20 December 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Describes fly-catching activity of Drosera longifolia.

Experiments on Papilio asterias; sex of adult determined by length of larval feeding time.

Author:  Mary Lua Adelia (Mary) Treat
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 58.1: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8113

From Ernst Haeckel   21 December 1871

Summary

Comments on Die Kalkschwämme [1872].

A Franciscan prior, Padre Buona-Grazia, agrees with human descent.

His trip to Dalmatia.

German reception of Descent.

Mentions current work.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 166: 56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8114

To William Ogle   21 December [1871]

Summary

Thanks WO for a paper and for information about platysma. Has asked several persons to observe the muscle during a shivering fit, but all have failed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Ogle
Date:  21 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 261.5: 12 (EH 88205910)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8115
Document type
letter (804)
Date
1871
01 (57)
02 (66)
03 (135)
04 (97)
05 (59)
06 (53)
07 (53)
08 (36)
09 (63)
10 (64)
11 (67)
12 (54)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter