skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1871::12 in date [X]
54 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

From Francis Galton   2 December 1871

Summary

The rabbits arrived safely.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 105: A39
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8090

To E. S. Morse   3 December 1871

Summary

Obliged for ESM’s article ["On adaptive coloration of the Mollusca", Proc. Boston Soc. Nat. Hist. 14 (1870–1): 141–5]. Glad to have error corrected about protective colouring of shells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Sylvester Morse
Date:  3 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Peabody Essex Museum: Phillips Library (E. S. Morse Papers, E 2, Box 3, Folder 11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8092

To G. A. Eisen   3 December 1871

Summary

Thanks GAE for memoir on earthworms [Bidrag till Skandinaviens Oligochaetfauna (1871)]. CD by chance is just now observing "one little point in their habits". Will be happy to learn something about the places frequented by the various species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gustavus Augustus Eisen
Date:  3 Dec 1871
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. Manuscripts and Archives Division. (Miscellaneous papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8093

From Ulrich Kirchenpauer   4 December 1871

Summary

Wishes to have CD’s autograph.

Author:  Ulrich Kirchenpauer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 201: 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8094

To K. T. E. von Siebold   4 December 1871

Summary

Thanks for the letter, photograph, and kind words about CD’s scientific work. [See 8088.]

CTEvS’s view of pseudova is new to CD;

he has not yet received the recent work on parthenogenesis

though he did receive the memoir on Polistes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Theodor Ernst von Siebold
Date:  4 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Museo Nacional de Etnología, Madrid (FD4472)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8094A

To J. J. Moulinié   5 December 1871

Summary

Sends corrections for new French edition of Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66 ff. 24–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8095

To J. V. Carus   5 December 1871

Summary

Sends sheets [of the 6th ed. of Origin].

Thanks JVC for his letter about the sheep.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 82–83)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8096

From George Henslow   5 December 1871

Summary

Has frequently defended evolution and natural selection among his clergy brethren.

Now elicits CD’s views on chance.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 166: 172
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8097

From Federico Delpino   5 December 1871

Summary

Praise of CD. Acknowledges his indebtedness to CD for defining the subject of plant fecundation.

Expecting CD’s work on the effects of cross-fertilisation.

CD has put him in touch with George Bentham.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 162: 149
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8098

To Nevil Story-Maskelyne   6 December 1871

Summary

Sends a copy of Orchids for his wife, T. M. Story-Maskelyne, and a few other items she may wish to have.

Climbing Plants may be purchased at Williams and Norgate; he has no clean copies.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mervyn Herbert Nevil (Nevil) Story-Maskelyne
Date:  6 Dec 1871
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 88953/4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8098F

To George Henslow   7 December [1871]

Summary

Refers GH to vol. 2, p. 431 of Variation for the "perplexed conclusion" at which CD has arrived on variation and design. Has nothing to add to this statement.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henslow
Date:  7 Dec [1871]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (C.452)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8099

From Nevil Maskelyne   8 December 1871

Summary

Thanks CD for papers he sent his wife. They will help her pass her time as an invalid.

Author:  Mervyn Herbert Nevil (Nevil) Story-Maskelyne
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 177: 261
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8100

From Hubert Airy   9 December 1871

Summary

Reply to CD’s letter of 5 Apr 1871 [7659], in which he asked HA for further details on when and how platysma myoides contracts.

Replies to CD’s questions about sources on leaf arrangement.

Gives news of speech and paper about CD.

Author:  Hubert Airy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 159: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8101

To Paul Broca   [after 9 December 1871]

Summary

Requests that PB express his thanks to the Société d’Anthropologie de Paris for the honour conferred upon him [see 8102].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Pierre Paul (Paul) Broca
Date:  [after 9 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 111
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8103

From F. W. C. Simmons   10 December 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Maoris of New Zealand admire beards, contrary to statement in Descent [2: 349].

Author:  Frank Walter Churchill Simmons
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 89: 185–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8104

From Hubert Airy   12 December 1871

Summary

Thanks for letter and reference to Nägeli’s observations on leaf arrangement in the bud.

Author:  Hubert Airy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 159: 14b (fragile, damaged)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8105

To J. D. Hooker   15 [December 1871]

Summary

Will be in London until 21st. Would rejoice if JDH could come to lunch during their stay.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 213
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8106

To Horace Darwin   [15 December 1871]

thumbnail

Summary

Congratulates Horace on passing his "Little Go".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Darwin
Date:  [15 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8107

From Louis Bouton   15 December 1871

Summary

Pleased to hear from CD. Sends more facts about the life and habits of the inhabitants of the Seychelles.

Author:  Louis Sulpice (Louis) Bouton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Dec 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 260
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8107A

From J. D. Hooker   [17 December 1871]

thumbnail

Summary

Cannot come to lunch to meet Sir Henry Holland. Holland may have seen Robert Lowe [Lord Sherbrooke] already. Will CD let him know his views?

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 Dec 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8108
Document type
letter (54)
Date
1871
12
01 (1)
02 (4)
03 (2)
04 (2)
05 (5)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (3)
10 (2)
12 (1)
15 (3)
16 (1)
17 (2)
18 (3)
19 (2)
20 (2)
21 (3)
22 (3)
23 (2)
24 (1)
25 (1)
27 (3)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter