skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1871::07 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
53 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   1 July 1871

Summary

Regrets ill health will prevent his attending the BAAS meeting at Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1 July 1871
Classmark:  Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7844

To Nature   1 July [1871]

Summary

Refers H. H. Howorth, the writer of "A new view of Darwinism" [Nature 4 (1871): 161–2], to Variation for a discussion of fertility and sterility of organisms in relation to increased food and other factors.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Nature, 6 July 1871, pp. 180–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7846

From G. H. Darwin   [c. 17 July 1871]

Summary

Gives CD some information on wills.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 17 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6765

From W. B. Tegetmeier   17 [July] 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Sends Field with an account of the cat show; examples of cats with three extra toes.

Sexual preference of a blue turbit.

CD did not return skull of the horned cock figured in Variation [1: 265].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 [July] 1871
Classmark:  DAR 88: 173–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7822

From G. H. Darwin   [17 July 1871]

Summary

Discusses legal matters; CD’s will and setting up trusts for Henrietta Darwin’s forthcoming marriage.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7841

To Edward Bartlett   1 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks for ducks’ skins, for which he encloses postal order.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Bartlett
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7843

To A. G. Butler   1 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks AGB for "various notes".

Would like to hear his views about the Brahmaea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arthur Gardiner Butler
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR 68)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7845

To C. V. Riley   1 July [1871]

Summary

Would be delighted to see CVR at Down, but is in precarious health and cannot talk to anyone for more than an hour.

Wrote to CVR a few weeks ago to thank him for his book [see 7794].

Will expect CVR on Thursday unless he hears otherwise.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Valentine Riley
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Profiles in History (Fall 1996 catalogue)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7846F

From J. D. Hooker   3 July 1871

thumbnail

Summary

Plans to write an account of his trip to Morocco and, with John Ball, the botanical geography, for Linnean Society.

Results mainly negative; the Atlas exhibits "the dying out of European flora".

Only two or three beetles above 8000ft.

Disappointed that Canary Island species are absent from Atlas mountains; but an ocean current along Moroccan coast should help migration of Spanish, Portuguese, and Moroccan seeds to Canaries and Madeira.

Describes Lyell’s poor physical condition. Asks CD for his observations of symptoms.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 103: 69–70, DAR 205.2 (Letters): 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7848

To W. R. Grove   4 July [1871]

Summary

Has never before noticed with care the markings on finger-ends. Compares them to the complex whirl-pool patterns of human foetal lanugo.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Robert Grove
Date:  4 July [1871]
Classmark:  Royal Institution of Great Britain (Grove)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7849

To J. D. Hooker   5 July [1871]

Summary

Lady Lyell’s anxiety over Lyell’s health.

Preparing new edition of Origin.

Asks whether anything was observed [in Morocco] on expressions.

Did JDH notice whether pollen-masses in Ophrys apifera in N. Africa fall on the stigma, as in England?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  5 July [1871]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 197–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7850

From J. D. Hooker   6 July 1871

thumbnail

Summary

He did observe that Ophrys apifera fertilised itself as CD described and O. lutea as well.

Moroccans are too civilised, taciturn, and unfriendly to make anything of them for expressions of emotions.

Moraines and negative results on Atlas alpine flora are the only points of the journey worth much.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 103: 71–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7851

To C. F. Bergstedt?   6 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks author of an anonymous Swedish review of CD’s works [in Samtiden, Vecksckrift för politik och litteratur, ed. C. F. Bergstedt, nos. 23–5 (1871): 358–64, 374–81, 390–7]. CD is surprised to learn the Origin has appeared in Swedish [1869].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Fredrik Bergstedt
Date:  6 July [1871]
Classmark:  Kungliga biblioteket, National Library of Sweden
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7852

From J. J. Moulinié   7 July 1871

Summary

JJM’s Origin translation is being held up so that it can conform to the 6th English edition.

Author:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 171: 276
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7853

From W. R. Grove   [5–8 July 1871]

thumbnail

Summary

Mammae in human males.

The role of natural selection in the development of beards and manes of animals.

Hereditary pointing in setters.

Author:  William Robert Grove
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [5–8 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 87: 190–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7854

To C. V. Riley   8 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks for letter of introduction for his sons visiting America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Valentine Riley
Date:  8 July [1871]
Classmark:  Kenneth W. Rendell (dealer) (15 January 2010)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7854F

To A. R. Wallace   9 July [1871]

Summary

Requests advice about Chauncey Wright’s article on Mivart’s Genesis of species [North Am. Rev. 113 (1871): 64–103]. CD thinks of publishing it as a pamphlet to counter impact of Mivart’s criticism of natural selection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  9 July [1871]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7855

To W. R. Grove   9 July [1871]

Summary

Does not think WRG’s theory [about ridges of skin on palm and finger-ends?] will hold.

Does not believe the beard in monkeys and goats could be protective like the lion’s mane.

Thanks him for fact about setters.

Is perplexed about the reported milk secretion in pubescent boys.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Robert Grove
Date:  9 July [1871]
Classmark:  Royal Institution of Great Britain (Grove)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7856

From R. H. Blair   11 July 1871

Summary

Reports observations on expression in the blind; facial contortions and blushing.

Author:  Robert Hugh Blair
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 196
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7857

To A. R. Wallace   12 July [1871]

Summary

CD is allowing his family to decide whether Chauncey Wright’s paper on Mivart is dull.

Health and despondency.

Doubts his ability to answer Mivart successfully [in 6th ed. of Origin].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  12 July [1871]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7858
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1871
07
01 (6)
03 (1)
04 (2)
05 (2)
06 (2)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (2)
11 (1)
12 (5)
13 (3)
15 (1)
16 (3)
17 (5)
18 (3)
19 (1)
20 (1)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (2)
24 (1)
26 (3)
27 (1)
28 (1)
29 (2)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2 3  Next
letter