skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1871::07::01 in date [X]
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To ?   1 July 1871

Summary

Regrets ill health will prevent his attending the BAAS meeting at Edinburgh.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1 July 1871
Classmark:  Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7844

To Nature   1 July [1871]

Summary

Refers H. H. Howorth, the writer of "A new view of Darwinism" [Nature 4 (1871): 161–2], to Variation for a discussion of fertility and sterility of organisms in relation to increased food and other factors.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Nature, 6 July 1871, pp. 180–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7846

To A. G. Butler   1 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks AGB for "various notes".

Would like to hear his views about the Brahmaea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arthur Gardiner Butler
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR 68)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7845

To C. V. Riley   1 July [1871]

Summary

Would be delighted to see CVR at Down, but is in precarious health and cannot talk to anyone for more than an hour.

Wrote to CVR a few weeks ago to thank him for his book [see 7794].

Will expect CVR on Thursday unless he hears otherwise.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Valentine Riley
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Profiles in History (Fall 1996 catalogue)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7846F

To [W. W. Baxter?]   [early July 1871]

Summary

Orders nitrate of ammonia for experiment on plants.

Are measuring glasses accurate?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter
Date:  [early July 1871]
Classmark:  The New York Public Library. Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9524

To Edward Bartlett   1 July [1871]

Summary

Thanks for ducks’ skins, for which he encloses postal order.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Bartlett
Date:  1 July [1871]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7843
Document type
letter (6)
Author
Date
letter