skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1868 in date [X]
790 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To B. D. Walsh   21 September 1868

Summary

Thanks BDW for pamphlets [by S. H. Scudder and J. D. Caton].

His information about Cicada is of extraordinary interest. Discusses stridulation organs which certainly sometimes differ in the sexes. CD would be curious to know if "dumb" Cicada can breed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  21 Sept 1868
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 14)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6382

From Edward Blyth   21 September 1868

Summary

Discusses the top-knot turkey and the occasional appearance of the top-knot in a breed of cream-coloured turkeys.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 222
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6383

From John Murray   22 September [1868]

Summary

Lost copy of Variation sent to B. D. Walsh has been traced as far as New York.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Sept [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 361
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6385

To A. R. Wallace   23 September [1868]

Summary

On their differences concerning sexual selection and protection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  23 Sept [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 153–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6386

From Charles William Nunn   23 September 1868

Summary

Sends an ear of wheat that has an oat kernel growing on it.

Author:  Charles W Nunn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 172: 79
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6387

From James Croll   23 September 1868

Summary

Sends two papers; glad CD appreciates two he has already sent. Cannot send two others on glaciers (Philosophical Magazine, 1866 and 1867).

Author:  James Croll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 261
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6388

To T. H. Farrer   24 September [1868]

Summary

Informs THF that Annals and Magazine of Natural History will publish his paper [see 6384].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Date:  24 Sept [1868]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6389

To Gaston de Saporta   24 September 1868

Summary

Discusses GdeS’s studies on fossil plants;

response to Origin in France.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Louis Charles Joseph Gaston (Gaston) de Saporta, comte de Saporta
Date:  24 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 147: 419
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6390

From T. H. Farrer   24 September 1868

Summary

Wonderful how every flower one looks at is explained by, and throws light on, the fertilising process.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 164: 46
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6391

To C. W. Nunn   25 September [1868]

Summary

Thanks CWN for specimen. CD has sent it to Hooker for examination.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles W Nunn
Date:  25 Sept [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.355)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6392

To J. D. Hooker   25 September 1868

Summary

Sends an ear of wheat with two florets of oats growing out of it. Expects it will all turn out a humbug.

Berkeley’s address in Gardeners’ Chronicle [(1868): 920, also Rep. BAAS 38 (1868): 83–7] praises CD tremendously.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 94: 93–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6393

To G. H. K. Thwaites   28 September [1868]

Summary

Asks him to thank E. L. Layard for trouble taken.

Says Zoological Society "very foolishly" wants no specimens of domestic varieties [from Ceylon].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Date:  28 Sept [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.343)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6395

From J. D. Hooker   [28 September 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

The wheat and oat specimen has been examined "in congress" by Oliver, Bentham, Asa Gray, and JDH. No organic connection of any kind.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Sept 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 235
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6396

From J. B. Innes   28 September 1868

Summary

The election of 1868.

Remarkable deflection of the plummet observed east of Forres.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 167: 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6397

From Tristram Charles Sawyer Speedy   29 September 1868

Summary

Sends some answers to CD’s queries on expression, based on his observations of Abyssinians.

Author:  Tristram Charles Sawyer Speedy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 224
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6398

From H. W. Bates   29 September 1868

Summary

Informs CD of K. G. Semper’s desire to meet him and to discuss new information on volcanic phenomena, geographical distribution, etc.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 86
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6399

From George Rolleston   30 September 1868

Summary

CD’s doctrines apply to man’s mental organisation, but the soul is a different matter. Cites Dean Henry Alford, M. J. Berkeley, and Prof. [J. F.?] Ferrier.

Author:  George Rolleston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Sept 1868
Classmark:  DAR 176: 208
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6401

To Henry Michael Jenkins   [after 1 October 1868]

Summary

Feels there is little he could say as a testimonial for HMJ.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Michael Jenkins
Date:  [after 1 Oct 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6402

From George Bentham   [after 29 September 1868]

Summary

Asks CD to sign enclosed certificate first, as he does not know T. H. Farrer personally. [On top part of first two pages of a letter to Hooker from H. C. Rothery about Farrer’s nomination for Linnean Society]

Author:  George Bentham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 29 Sept 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 237
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6405

From Edward Blyth   1 October 1868

Summary

Gives CD a reference to one of his papers ["Remarks on the modes of variation of nearly affined species or races of birds", J. Asiat. Soc. Bengal 19 (1850): 221–9]

and discusses moulting in birds.

Quotes instance of an action by an elephant that apparently displays considerable intelligence.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6406
Document type
letter (790)
Date
1868
01 (67)
02 (139)
03 (120)
04 (80)
05 (74)
06 (47)
07 (38)
08 (42)
09 (65)
10 (41)
11 (43)
12 (34)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter