skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1868 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
790 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Edward Blyth   4 October 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Replies to CD’s questions on sexual differences in birds.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 100–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6409

From J. D. Hooker   3 October 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Encloses copy of H. Barkly’s answer to JDH’s inquiry on the Seychelles Island crocodile.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 238–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6410

From Joseph Plimsoll   5 October 1868

Summary

A sermon.

Author:  Joseph Plimsoll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6411

To A. R. Wallace   6 October [1868]

Summary

Sexual selection, protection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  6 Oct [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 162–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6412

To John Tyndall   7 October 1868

Summary

Asks JT to distribute some circulars about the work of Gustavus Hinrichs of Iowa, whom CD wishes to help.

Admires JT’s Norwich address [to Mathematics and Physics Section, BAAS meeting, Rep. BAAS 38: 1–6] and his Fortnightly Review paper on scientific discovery [7 (1867): 645–60].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Tyndall
Date:  7 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 261.8: 5 (EH: 88205943)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6413

From John Tyndall   9 October 1868

Summary

Gustavus Hinrichs is also a [not highly regarded] correspondent of JT’s; he will put GH’s papers on the table at Royal Institution to ease CD’s conscience.

Dined with the Asa Grays at Hooker’s. Told Mrs Gray that CD’s ill health was a benefit because it caused him to ponder a great deal.

Author:  John Tyndall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 106: C1–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6414

To Hermann Müller   9 October 1868

Summary

Pleased HM says good words for Pangenesis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Date:  9 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 146: 431
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6415

From Adam Sedgwick   11 October 1868

Summary

Congratulates CD on election of his son [George] as a Fellow of Trinity College.

Describes his ill health.

Invites CD to visit Cambridge.

[Letter dated November in error.]

Author:  Adam Sedgwick
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6416

From W. S. Dallas   12 October 1868

Summary

Will finish translation of Für Darwin in a week.

Asks CD to use his influence to get him appointed Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society [London].

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6417

To Adam Sedgwick   13 October 1868

Summary

Thanks AS for congratulations on George Darwin’s Trinity fellowship.

Reminiscence of his geological tour of North Wales with AS and the encouraging messages received during the Beagle voyage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adam Sedgwick
Date:  13 Oct 1868
Classmark:  Mrs Romney Sedgwick (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6418

From Edward Wilson   14 October 1868

Summary

Encloses further replies from Australia to CD’s queries on expression. Wilson’s letter to CD enclosed the letter from Smyth with its enclosures (see S6314).

Author:  Edward Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 125, DAR 186: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6419

From G. H. K. Thwaites   16 October 1868

Summary

On local black-boned fowls,

CD’s new book [Variation], and Pangenesis.

Author:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 178: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6420

From J. J. Weir   [before 17] October 1868

Summary

Both sexes of Crossoptilon auritum (eared pheasant) obtained the red cheeks the first year.

Coloration of the linnet.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 17] Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 86: A36, 53; DAR 84.1: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6421

To J. J. Weir   17 October 1868

Summary

Enjoyed JJW’s visit.

Interested in changes in plumage of pheasants.

Still at work on sexual selection in birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  17 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 148: 320
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6422

From W. S. Dallas   19 October 1868

Summary

Thanks CD for his promise of support and his flattering opinion of his qualifications for the position of Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6423

To John Tyndall   20 October 1868

Summary

Invites JT to come to Down with the Asa Grays and Hookers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Tyndall
Date:  20 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 261.8: 6 (EH: 88205944)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6424

From Karl von Scherzer   20 October 1868

Summary

Describes departure of expedition to China, Japan, and South America.

Copy of CD’s queries provided to expedition.

Invites CD to make suggestions for scientific work to be carried out.

Author:  Karl von Scherzer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6425

To W. D. Fox   21 October [1868]

Summary

Reminds WDF to write about the "great magpie marriage". Sexual selection an "everlasting subject".

News of his children.

Asks for information on instances of sexual preference in animals and data on numbers of males and females born in various domesticated species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  21 Oct [1868]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 149); DAR 266
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6426

To August Weismann   22 October 1868

Summary

Fears copy of AW’s publication [Über die Berechtigung der Darwin’schen Theorie (1868)] lost in mail. Asks for another.

Glad AW approves of his work

and objects to Nägeli’s law of perfection.

Thinks Moritz Wagner overrates necessity for emigration and isolation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leopold Friedrich August (August) Weismann
Date:  22 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 148: 341
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6427

From J. P. M. Weale   23 October 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Describes Lappago aleina, a species of South African grass,

and reports his observations on locusts and their feeding habits.

Author:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 46.1: 93a–94a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6428
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1868
01 (67)
02 (139)
03 (120)
04 (80)
05 (74)
06 (47)
07 (38)
08 (42)
09 (65)
10 (41)
11 (43)
12 (34)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter