skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1868 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
467 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  ...  6 7 8 9 10   ...  Next

From Joseph Plimsoll   5 October 1868

Summary

A sermon.

Author:  Joseph Plimsoll
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6411

From John Tyndall   9 October 1868

Summary

Gustavus Hinrichs is also a [not highly regarded] correspondent of JT’s; he will put GH’s papers on the table at Royal Institution to ease CD’s conscience.

Dined with the Asa Grays at Hooker’s. Told Mrs Gray that CD’s ill health was a benefit because it caused him to ponder a great deal.

Author:  John Tyndall
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 106: C1–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6414

From Adam Sedgwick   11 October 1868

Summary

Congratulates CD on election of his son [George] as a Fellow of Trinity College.

Describes his ill health.

Invites CD to visit Cambridge.

[Letter dated November in error.]

Author:  Adam Sedgwick
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 129
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6416

From W. S. Dallas   12 October 1868

Summary

Will finish translation of Für Darwin in a week.

Asks CD to use his influence to get him appointed Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society [London].

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6417

From Edward Wilson   14 October 1868

Summary

Encloses further replies from Australia to CD’s queries on expression. Wilson’s letter to CD enclosed the letter from Smyth with its enclosures (see S6314).

Author:  Edward Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 125, DAR 186: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6419

From G. H. K. Thwaites   16 October 1868

Summary

On local black-boned fowls,

CD’s new book [Variation], and Pangenesis.

Author:  George Henry Kendrick Thwaites
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 178: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6420

From J. J. Weir   [before 17] October 1868

Summary

Both sexes of Crossoptilon auritum (eared pheasant) obtained the red cheeks the first year.

Coloration of the linnet.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 17] Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 86: A36, 53; DAR 84.1: 139
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6421

From W. S. Dallas   19 October 1868

Summary

Thanks CD for his promise of support and his flattering opinion of his qualifications for the position of Assistant Secretary of the Geological Society.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6423

From Karl von Scherzer   20 October 1868

Summary

Describes departure of expedition to China, Japan, and South America.

Copy of CD’s queries provided to expedition.

Invites CD to make suggestions for scientific work to be carried out.

Author:  Karl von Scherzer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6425

From J. P. M. Weale   23 October 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Describes Lappago aleina, a species of South African grass,

and reports his observations on locusts and their feeding habits.

Author:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 46.1: 93a–94a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6428

From T. H. Farrer   26 October 1868

Summary

Delighted with mechanisms of Salvia and Viola. How can anyone who compares structure of Viola cornuta and common violet still suppose them to be separate creations?

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 164: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6432

From John Price   28 October 1868

Summary

Congratulates CD on success at Cambridge [of George Darwin].

Would like CD to study the anomalous Cardamine pratensis.

Author:  John Price
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6434

From W. D. Fox   29 October [1868]

Summary

Thanks CD for a recent letter.

Reports on his health, which has been bad for 12 months.

Sends extracts of works on domestication.

Discusses the pairing of various birds; comments on the pugnacity of partridges, pheasants, male guinea-fowl, and peacocks.

Gives proportions of sexes in pheasants.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Oct [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 189; DAR 193: 112; DAR 83: 187, DAR 84.1: 128–30, DAR 86: A87–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6436

From Fritz Müller   31 October 1868

Summary

Writes on various observations and discoveries on dimorphic and trimorphic plants.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Oct 1868
Classmark:  DAR 142: 98, 103
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6439

From John Lubbock   2 November [1868]

Summary

Would like to borrow CD’s carriage on polling day.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 65
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6443

From M. T. Masters   2 November 1868

Summary

After examining a basket of piebald potatoes he does believe them to be a graft-hybrid as Friedrich Hildebrand might suggest.

Author:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov 1868
Classmark:  DAR 171: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6444

From T. H. Farrer   2 November 1868

Summary

The conversion of Asa Gray must be a pleasure.

CD’s doctrine accounts for and gives a vera causa of structures.

Discusses F. Hildebrand’s book.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov 1868
Classmark:  DAR 164: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6445

From Friedrich Hildebrand   4 November 1868

Summary

Potato graft-hybrid fails to give potatoes.

August Weismann requests Wallace’s address to find out about experiments on butterflies hinted at in Variation.

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Nov 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 210
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6448

From John Lubbock   6 November [1868]

Summary

Arrangements for polling.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Nov [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6449

From W. S. Dallas   7 November 1868

Summary

The position at Geological Society is now vacant, and he is working for it in earnest. Asks CD for a testimonial.

Continues his work on Für Darwin.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Nov 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 25
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6451
Document type
letter (467)
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1868
01 (42)
02 (79)
03 (66)
04 (55)
05 (44)
06 (23)
07 (24)
08 (24)
09 (37)
10 (27)
11 (25)
12 (21)
Page: Prev  ...  6 7 8 9 10   ...  Next
letter